Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Longfellow Elementary School 5

Posted December 03, 2014
- a parent
Longfellow is an International Focus school, which means they learn political and cultural geography and a foreign language in addition to normal curriculum. The teachers and principal are great, and there are several resource teachers in addition to the classroom teachers. There is a vegetarian option (although not Vegan) at every meal. Although Boise Independent has an open enrollment policy, in reality you have to live in the neighborhood because the school is always full.

Longfellow Elementary School 2

Posted September 20, 2013
- a parent
I had heard nothing but great things about Longfellow Elementary and was so excited when we moved in this area and my son fell into the district, now I have to say though I am so disappointed and regret the decision. My son is in 4th grade and is working on 2nd grade items, the teacher will not differentiate curriculum, the principle seems to not care and my sons education has taken a huge step back from what he was getting at his previous school. I now see why Idaho children are falling behind and we are rank one of the worst for education, because truly it is.


Longfellow Elementary School 2

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
Experience was great with the teachers...kind, caring and willing to work with my child. International curriculum, strong focus on academics. The problem is the administration, the former principle was very bad in follow-up. The secretary has given incorrect information on at least two occasions, she needs to be trained on procedure information. They need to get their story straight and check on enrolling kids that don't live in the school zone at every grade level. They say they are doing that, but not on a consistent basis. Hopefully the new principle will turn things around.

Longfellow Elementary School 5

Posted January 10, 2013
- a parent
I feel very fortunate that my children go to Longfellow. It is a wonderful school and community.

Longfellow Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 28, 2009
- a parent
International focus, excellent teachers, small size, sense of community


Longfellow Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 24, 2009
- a parent
Longfellow Elementary is a great neighborhood, public school. Committed parents, dedicated teachers and principal, as well as the international curriculum make this school a wonderful place to learn.

Longfellow Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 23, 2009
- a parent
Longfellow Elementary teaches all the core classes while giving my son knowledge about different countries, geography, global issues, and the sense that we are not alone on this planet. The teachers are dedicated, first-rate, interested in what they teach, and not at all entrenched. The parents are active and involved. The kids are interested in being at school and enjoy themselves.

Longfellow Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
Longfellow Elementary captures the power of local, public education combined with high-caliber dedicated staff that employs engaging and creative techniques. The result is a tight and committed community of parents, children and educators to deliver a world class education where children are thriving in a rich environment.


Longfellow Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
Longfellow Elementary School in Boise, ID Fantastic staff, parents and curriculum! New International program is outstanding for the kids to learn about other cultures. Well-diversified student body including race and income.

Longfellow Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 20, 2009
- a parent
All concern dissipates as I walk from the Longfellow front entrance knowing my children are in such good hands...this feeling is validated at the end of the day when my kids tell me of the days adventures, things they are studying and the friends that they have made...what great little people they are becoming...products of their environment is what comes to mind and leaves me with no doubt that Longfellow Elementary is a very special place, thanks Longfellow!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Longfellow Elementary School
1511 North 9th St, Boise, ID  83702
(208) 854-5450
Last modified Longfellow Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Longfellow Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top