Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bishop Kelly High School

Private | 9-12 & ungraded | 700 students

College Prep, Service Learning, Catholic tradition

 
 

Living in Boise

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $137,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 27, 2014

Both my children currently attend Bishop Kelly, but before that they had been in public schools their entire lives. This is a GREAT school. The school emphasizes academics, sports, and community service, and is a faith-based school that educates the entire student--body, mind, and spirit. The kids are nice here. The parents are involved. There are high expectations at Bishop Kelly, from parents, teachers and faculty, and though my kids occasionally complain about the dress code and closed campus, they have both thrived at this school, both academically and socially. Great college prep school, great builder of character.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

Bishop Kelly is a learning environment where the whole child can be embraced. Teachers, staff, and administrators are able to meet the needs of students academically, socially, emotionally, and most import...spiritually. Collaboration between home and school is strong which creates a community where everyone works together to meet the needs of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

Our children have all attended public school until they attended BK as freshmen. My children have thrived at BK. There are numerous activities for the students and parents to become involved. The school has a strong strategic plan and is striving to work towards their goals. My children have also participated in the school work study program which has provided them with valuable job skills. I recommend BK to any parent looking for a school that exudes pride, academics, spirituality, community service and personal growth for their student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

Bishop Kelly provides a high quality faith based education. They constantly seek to improve on an already excellent education system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2013

Bishop Kelly High School is the best high school in the Treasure Valley and one of the best in the Northwest. Our child loves school, her friends, and the faculty and staff. If you want your teen to feel like part of a real community with great values and opportunities, send them to Bishop Kelly. Great academics, wonderful, caring teachers and administrators, and fantastic parents. Worth every penny (and then some) of your investment of time and money. This is a place where your child will build relationships that will benefit them for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2010

I am a public school teacher, but chose Bishop Kelly for my daughter. She thrived!! BK stresses academics as well as activities, sports and public service. She learned great study skills that served her well in college. If you are looking for a nurtering school with hight expectations, Bishop Kelly is for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Why do you love Bishop Kelly High School? I love the strength of the faculty and their caring attitude towards the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 18, 2009

My daughter is a senior, and has had a great experience at BK, as did my older child. They are very different, yet each found their own niche, and loved it. The school is large enough to have a wide variety of activities, but small enough so that each student can participate in something. For example, we have an awesome drama program; two of the lead performers were freshmen. Same with several other activities...XCountry, swim, debate, music, etc. My eldest is in college, and was much better prepared than most of the others in her program. You get out of BK what you put into it, and if you want great college prep, it is here. Great family feeling for those who take the time to get even minimally involved, and emphasis on service spirituality for those who find that important, as we did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

My senior son has had a wonderful experience at BK. He came from a public school and is quite quiet, so we were concerned that he would not make friends. He made some friends the first semester, and has steadily added to the core. His ability to think and extrapolate from textbook learning is exceptional. He was accepted to a top engineering school, and of his peers from the public school, also 4.0+, none has fared as well. The teachers work to ensure that in-depth learning occurs, not just rote learning. Highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

BK is the best kept secret in ID. Acedemics, leadership, extra-c, service, college-prep. Parents get involved, not hard, and you'll pay for college. private, at that. Learn the system, e-mail online site, conferences etc. We' ve managed, I'm disabled, and my second is at BK, first on a full ride at highly rated private Univ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

I started my oldest son at Bishop Kelly for his freshmen year. Although he made 2 or 3 close friends, the student environment was often unwelcoming and closed. He was enrolled in all the general subjects that were required for a freshmen student but the teachers were not as focused as I would have liked and he often came home telling me that his teachers werent really doing anything in his classes. When I called and a few of his teachers trying to figure out what was going on, my calls were never returned and my emails never replied to. I pulled my son out after his freshman year and he spent the rest of his high schools years at Timerline where he has done much better
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 78%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 1%
Hispanic 5% 16%
Black 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 4% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 95% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Marching band
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: French and Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
Clubs
  • Debate
  • Forensics club
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kelly Shockey
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (208) 375-3626

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Hybrid
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Computer programming

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Foreign language club: French and Spanish
  • Forensics club
  • History Club
  • Key Club
  • Marching band
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 4%
4 year college - 95%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7009 Franklin Rd
Boise, ID 83709
Website: Click here
Phone: (208) 375-6010

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT