Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


North Junior High School 5

Posted June 02, 2016
- a student
7th grade was way better than i thought it would be and the teachers were amazing.

North Junior High School 4

Posted March 04, 2016
- a student
This school is honestly great. The teachers are fantastic (at least, the ones I've had, examples being Joel Westrick and Alina Jensen), and the student body is very accepting of most, if not all people. As well, being a constant and somewhat-great violinist, I can declare that the orchestra program is the best in the district (for a junior high). However, my only complaint involves the cleanliness of the institution. It's somewhat dirty, but that's what you'd expect of a public school with teenagers. Signed, a three year member of NJHS.


North Junior High School 3

Posted May 31, 2014
- a community member
I go to North currently, and for the most part I love it. Currently in 8th grade, the etchers are great. Go Blue Wave! The school is okay when it comes to bullying, and the clubs are not so good. For me, bullying has been a big issue. There are only a few people at this school who aren't stuck-up rich kids with a love of hurting people. There is a problem with cliques, and like I said before, in FCA (fellowship of christian athletes) all the populars come and steal the free pizza. I am a strong christian and i don't go anymore because there is no longer a safe spot in that club. I have only a few friends, but the teachers are amazing. I have to say that inappropriate behavior and drugs are a large number in this school, and that it is hard to avoid people involved in them.

North Junior High School 5

Posted May 19, 2014
- a community member
I love this school. I went here all 3 years and it was the best junior high in the valley, no doubt. You don't want your kids going to east. That area is either very wealthy or extremely poor. This creates a lot of chaos and separation. North is welcoming and there's a group for everyone. I highly recommend it.

North Junior High School 2

Posted May 10, 2014
- a community member
This school is really good when it comes academically you could be below or above and still have really good grades. However some teachers are not like this and tend not to help out at all and then you fail there class or quizzes that everyone else did fail. As well this school is the most dysfunctional school the dress code and cell phone law are outrages. The principle and assistant principle don't do anything about people breaking dress code or cell phone laws . The drug problem got really extremely bad this year and I'm thinking about moving schools probably to east a better functional school.


North Junior High School 2

Posted January 26, 2014
- a parent
My youth enjoyed the crowd of kids at North. The only complaint we have is the amount of negative talk between teachers about students. This school is set up in teams. In my experience the teachers got together sharing information about a student . The gossip about students by the teachers are about equal to the gossip by students about students. About half of the teachers are great teachers. Two im particular who are fantastic teachers are Mrs.Williams and Mr. Rowe. Fun people, who clearly enjoy their jobs! The P.E. Teachers are fantastic as well. If you can afford to enroll your child in a private or art school, I highly recommend that you do so. My child's least favorite subjects were due to the "teacher's tone and sarcasm". Specifically Mrs. Goddard. Be careful if you are trusting your youth to get to school on their own. Although it is a school zone, many drivers are in such a hurry to get downtown or to Boise High School, I have seen MANY scarey situations. Little attention for traffic control, including chaos of dropping off kids on three sides of the school. There is no enforcement or organization for drop off.

North Junior High School 1

Posted November 20, 2013
- a parent
North JHS used to be a great school before the era of Dr. Thaemert and Steve Novotny. The school went from a 4 star rating to a 3 star this past year and will probably drop again. The students now run the school not the admin or teachers. Custodians have found alcohol containers in the bathrooms after break, students are trapping teachers with cell phone recordings, Novotny flirts with the reading and French teachers rather than do his job, discipline is at an all time low, there have been multiple teacher scandals. The one positive thing is that if you ask the administration to move your kid if they don't like a teacher they will do it for you no problem. This is key because some of the teachers will give out EOC study guides that resemble the test or are the exact test. This is an advantage when it comes to your child's over all grade point average. After all they are all competing for scholarships. If you can get a permission to attend, go to East! North is falling apart!

North Junior High School 2

Posted November 20, 2013
- a parent
I used to go to NJHS back in the day. I have been away for a couple years and I have moved back to the area. It is a shame that North has gone down hill. It used to be a great school. Thanks for the previous comment, I will look into East for my kids.


North Junior High School 4

Posted April 15, 2012
- a parent
My child transferred to North from a small school and easily adapted. Each grade is divided into two teams with one set of teachers assigned to that team. It's like having six small schools. For kids who wish to accelerate, they can still take full advantage of TVMSc and upper grade classes. I completely agree with the other parents re: children with learning disabilities. They are decades behind the research and the law in dealing with special needs kids. Boise School District in general prefers to deny services rather than comply.

North Junior High School 4

Posted February 20, 2012
- a parent
My 7th Grade Student is having a lot of fun at North Jr. High. He has some challenging classes, and some that are giving him social benefits. I really love the school's orchestra! (I also enrolled him at TVMSC, which is much more challenging)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Junior High School
1105 North 13th St, Boise, ID  83702
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (208) 854-5740
Last modified North Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top