Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Owyhee Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 298 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 9, 2014

This school is antiquated in its approach to classroom control and behavioral management. It methodizes control beyond what is healthy for children--especially in the arena of early childhood education. The Harbor method does not effectively teach problem solving and community mindedness. Instead, if a child is struggling with big emotions or frustration, the child is shamed and punished. This is our first and last year here. My child has never felt less safe in a learning environment than she does here. And she is a gifted, high achieving student. I had a child in kindergarten, 1st, and 3rd grade. I quickly removed my kindergartner and 1st grader upon learning some of the methodology used in the classroom. My kids often reported that their teachers were angry or looked angry or spoke mean to the class. I was hoping my 3rd grader would be okay while I looked for another option for her. My waiting has resulted in a lot of pain and sadness on the part of my student. Yes, she is spunky and will push the line. However, shaming her will never produce a happy result. Ever. If you have another choice in schools, take it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2013

Owyhee Elementary (Harbor School) was originally not our first choice for schools for my kindergartner, for we were put on a waiting list for a different school and didn't get in. However, now we are SO GLAD we ended up at Owyhee. The curriculum is outstanding and the school-teacher-parent communication has been excellent. My kindergartner is thriving and loves Owyhee, and so do I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2011

My daughter went to Calvary Chapel Boise for kindergarten and loved it, but could not afford their tuition with a new addition to our family. My child gets frustrated easily, and at Calvary, they were able to deal with her easily and they were able to work through her frustrations (acting out by ignoring the teacher). This school seems very intolerant of my child's "choosing to not participate". They state they don't have time to deal with her. The principal has already threatened to pull my daughter out of the school because she had to spend a whole hour with my kid yesterday. She has been in school now for 4 weeks. My child does not like this school. I have offered to come in whenever they want my daughter acts up, but they have only called me one day. Everyday I receive communication about my child's behavior from my teacher, and I see improvement to more positive behavior, but the principal is completely intolerant of any misbehavior. As a parent, I have participated in a meeting, am observing in the classroom, have grounded my child to her room, taken away 2 toys all night when she is bad, have offered to come in, but they don't care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

I have a fourth grader attending this Owyhee-Harbor and it is a great school. All students learn at an accelerated level, especially in math. Their curriculum is excellent and the teachers love teaching. They arrange students by ability groupings so that every child is challenged. It's amazing what the kids learn and they love school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

Let me start by saying, last year this school's kindergarten IRI scores ranked #1 in the Boise school district, and state. If you are looking for a great education for your child, I highly recommend checking out Owyhee Harbor. This is a Harbor method school. My child has never come home complaining about another child's behavior or his teachers rules. A harbor school has school wide expectations for all of the childrens behavior. The goal is to create a safe harbor for high academics. I love not having to worry about my child while he is gone. Around 60% of the children are open enrollment because their parents choose to drive them here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2007

We are imports to the Owyhee Harbor School! I don't think we could have made a better choice for our daughter as a start to her education. Not only is the learning outstanding at this school but she is known and cared for by the entire staff. She is safe and is learning values of caring and kindness by treating others well and accepting all of their differences. Their is structure and discipline consistent in the entire school which makes this school a safe learning environment for our children. We get all of this and it is a public school with great test scores! You can't get any better than that! We will continue to drive out of our school zone to take our daughter to this fabulous school. The students have many academic and sport programs at their hands as well. Can't say enough good about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2006

Owyhee is a Harbor school meaning the basis of the school is a 'safe harbor' for children to learn. My children have now attended this school for both years it has been a Harbor School and we couldn't be more pleased. The school is very structured, and class times are very disciplined, so children are not distracted by disruptive or disrespectful behavior. Expected behaviors are outlined from the beginning of the year and are held to throughout the school year. The principal and teachers work together with parents and students to set high, but achievable goals. My daughter began Kindergarten last year, and we have worked through their reading program with her. Now, in first grade, she is reading the fourth book in the Harry Potter series! Our son in fifth grade has continued to improve academically due to the excellent teachers and challenges he has had placed before him.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 73% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 83% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 90% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 80% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 73% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students84%
Female93%
Male67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students86%
Female93%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female100%
Male80%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students98%
Female100%
Male97%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students96%
Female100%
Male93%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students98%
Female100%
Male97%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students84%
Female80%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students90%
Female93%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students97%
Female93%
Male100%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students81%
Female80%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students78%
Female82%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students78%
Female82%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female94%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 78%
Hispanic 8% 16%
Asian 5% 1%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3434 Pasadena Dr
Boise, ID 83705
Phone: (208) 854-5850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT