Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Maranatha Christian School

Private | K-5 | 57 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Boise

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $134,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 18, 2009

Ms Robyn is the best. My daughter is treated with respect and not like any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2008

Okay so no student had reviewed this school yet! Im a former student and all i have to say is that this school is amazing! I went to Maranatha for 7 years and the only reason i left was because i was too old. I wish i had the same opprotunity to be in a school like Maranatha again. There is no way i can just say how great of a school this is. The teachers are outstanding! They will go out of your way to make sure your kid is doing well and the small classroom size is what lets them do that! This school had a huge impact in my life and i will never forget it. There is no way i can repay what they gave me, but i hope that this helps in any way to help you know how much of a blessing it was to
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2008

We just moved our 4th grader from Boise public school to Maranatha. What an incredible difference in his commitment and behavior we've seen in such a very short time. He tells me his teacher is 'really mean' but I don't notice any unwillingness on his part to get up and go every morning so I interpret 'mean' as 'in control, disciplined and organized'. Classroom size is another big plus, one of 16 students. This is exactly what my child needs. Knowing my child is being taught in a Christian environment give me SUCH a feeling of security. I am so grateful to My Lord and Savior, and Central Assembly of God for this excellent bargain in Christian education in Boise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2006

My son attended kindergarten and part of first grade at a public school near our subdivision before we decided to enroll him at Maranatha. I was so happy to see his reading and math take off once he got settled at MCS. Before, he got lost in the shuffle (in public school). But now he has such great concentration and attention. It is so worth the money and the quality of the building is unimportant to us. My son is so well cared for and gets to have a family environment at school. It is hands-down far better than public school, plus it's affordable. And did I mention his wonderful behavior? His first week there he opened my car door for me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2006

Maranatha Christian School has a very caring staff, up to date materials, a wonderful preschool program. The school is accredited with the State of Idaho and ACSI (Association of Christian Schools International). One fourth of the facility was remodeled last year and a number of smaller projects have been completed this year. Since the beginning of last year four new electives have been offered to students and four sets of new texts have been purchased. The school has internet access in all classrooms and all teachers put lesson plans on the web. New English texts are being ordered at present. The staff have worked diligently to strengthen the academic program. Three of Maranatha's teachers have master's degrees. Maranatha has gained 28 new students so far this year since June. Maranatha is a safe place to send your children, and has a strong academic program.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted August 25, 2006

My children no longer attend MCS. The school's enrollment is shrinking so much that very little is offered anymore. Curriculum is outdated and the building is quite old. Many of the teachers are dedicated and have worked hard to save the school. The before and after care program is wonderful and a huge bonus for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2005

Wonderful school.Teachers are kind.Good Christian education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 80%
Hispanic 7% 15%
Black 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 3%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Assembly of god
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12000 West Fairview Avenue
Boise, ID 83713
Phone: (208) 376-7490

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT