Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Riverstone International School

Private | PK-12 | 325 students

RIS is known for academic strength, outdoor education, and community.
 
 

 
 

Living in Boise

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $200,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $920.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, September 18, 2014

Riverstone was a great environment for our son who really thrived in the small classroom setting, with a rigorous academic curriculum and with teachers who were truly mentors throughout his 8 years there. Riverstone is the best educational opportunity presented to students in Idaho and beyond. I have taught in public and private schools and so, as a former teacher and as a parent, I can say that Riverstone has its vision, mission and act together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Riverstone International School provided an outstanding academic, international and community-service-oriented education for both our daughters. Warm, caring, competent teachers, small class size, and a truly international student body gave them an education relevant for our international, connected world. The school offers scholarships to about 25% of the students, including refugees from places like Sudan, so the student body is diverse. The school also encourages community service learning and character development. One daughter is about to graduate with a Microbiology; the other is studying Computer Science, and I feel they graduated from RIS well-prepared to succeed in college and life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2014

Riverstone is a small school that places great emphasis on both academic and personal development. Academically, my son thrived after moving to Riverstone because of the classroom discussions, creative and interesting assignments applying what he learned, and teachers who knew him personally and could encourage him to stretch himself. The Diploma Program in Gr 11& 12 requires that every student takes math/science/english/language/arts/history but also requires 150 hrs of service/creativity/action and a 4000 word essay of independent research. In addition to classmates from the Treasure Valley, his classmates included kids from around the world. He did not have any experience with camping prior to Riverstone but after backpacking through Hells Canyon, Grand Gulch, Sheep Creek, and the Sawtooth Mtns, he learned a great deal about teamwork with classmates and teachers, his own resilience in challenging situations, and that Idaho is an amazingly beautiful state. Thanks to Riverstone, my son was more than prepared for college academically, but also prepared to deal with new situations, advocate for himself, and be confident in who he is as an individual.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

This school is a poor excuse for an institution of learning. While the curriculum is very diverse and more advanced than public schools, they do not support anything OTHER than the academics. They completely lack the knowledge, staffing and resources to support the kids in other ways. The culture there is very much "elitist" and the school WILL pull whatever strings necessary for the wealthiest familes while throwing the scholarship kids under the bus. By this I mean, if a wealthy kid doesn't like your "less wealthy" kid, be prepared for your child to be in the director's office with disciplinary actions. I witnessed this on many occasions while my child attended and it is rampant. I really loved the "idea" of this school, but found it was a very damaging environment for my child. You'd be FAR better off going to one of the schools in the North End or Highlands area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2010

It has prepared our son for life and taught him to think rather than just memorize facts. He can take information, process it and come up with conclusions due to the cognitive skills he learned at RIS. He also has a great sense of service to community and to our world. He has learned acceptance of diverse cultures and is now bilingual adult which will serve him well in his adult life. I know he is more than ready for college and beyond thanks to what he has learned at Riverstone International School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

Riverstone International School is for the student that wants to not only become intellectually smart, but open their mind to the world. While just starting my 10th grade year and having only been here for one year, I have matured in so many ways. The smaller class sizes allow you to bond with other students in ways that you wouldn't be able to do in any other school than a IB school. And the teachers... The teachers are what makes this school the amazing place where students actually WANT to go to school everyday. They will help you anywhere anytime with any subject. By the end of the school year, they're more of a respected friend, than just a teacher. Finally, the academics that we are taught are at a level that few schools teach at, while the curriculum is taught in a free thinking way. Riverstone is open to all.


Posted September 16, 2009

I love riverstone! You are in a small class and that makes it easyer to interact with teachers and your classmates are like a second family! The accidemics are splendid and i have learned high school subjects. Im always excited to get up in the morning! Riverstone is a hands on school and I have always been impressed by the organization and accidemics of the school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2009

I have been going to Riverstone for seven years and I have loved every single day! My classmates and I are so close like we are family. I also have had the best teachers in the world at Riverstone! If i ever need hep I always feel I can go to my teachers for help. riverstone is the most amazing school ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2008

Fantastic school. i couldn't be happier with the small class size and integrated outdoor program. The teachers are all wonderful, and the school overall has a great atmosphere that really promotes the learning environment. Our studies are hands-on, and my peers truly enjoy them. Overall, RiverStone is an amazing school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2006

Riverstone is a K-12 Private school and my son has attendended K-2nd grades. We have been very happy with the quality of Teachers and the challenging curriculum. He loves school, and the small class sizes have been great. The art, and spanish has been wonderful . Overall we have been really happy with the community at Riverstone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2005

I have been extremely impressed with RiverStone. We had looked at a number of schools for our daughter and RiverStone surpassed the rest by far. The tution is expensive which is a drawback, but the curriculum is worth every penny. My daughter is excelling in the kindergarten. The faculty have a great relationship with parents and students. My daughter is excited to go to school every morning. The art, music and Spanish programs are great. There is also a wonderful physical education program. I have been very impressed and look forward to a number of happy years at RiverStone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 78%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
Black 3% 1%
Hispanic 2% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Ivy League
Private schools
Large state schools
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Drama club

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Dual language preschool
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Bob Carignan
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (208) 424-0033

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Dual language preschool
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Academic Decathlon
  • Amnesty international
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Girls on the run
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • MS & HS Science Bowl
  • Model UN
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Riverstone is Idaho's first International Baccalaureate World School and authorized to provide the Primary Years Programme, Middle Years Programme, and Diploma Programme. Every student engages in all aspects of our school's Five Pillars (academic excellence, community and service, international understanding, leadership by example, and outdoor education). These Five Pillars form the foundation of our educational philosophy.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Malone Family Scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Ivy League
Private schools
Large state schools
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5521 Warm Springs Ave
Boise, ID 83716
Website: Click here
Phone: (208) 424-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT