Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Heritage Community Charter School

Charter | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Caldwell

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $80,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $600.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2014

Heritage Community Charter School has been such a great school for my children. We LOVE the teachers, the principal, and the environment and beliefs of the school. I'm a Christian, and appreciate the higher ground this school presses towards: Excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2014

My kid attended this school for 3 years. The first year he had a good year. The next two years were horrible. It seems after the whole accreditation issues, things just seemed to go down hill and more disruptive children were being accepted. If your child is not subjected to bullying then you wouldn't ever experience the other side of how things are handled at this school. Continuing to allow children that are hostile with other students to be present in class isn't conducive to the learning environment. You have students that are great until they are intimidated by bullies. Then things just become nonsense. Like I said earlier, if your kid is not being bullied, then you have no problems and the school is great. But if your kid is unfortunate to fall prey to a bully, then things are more difficult and you witness the craziness of how things are truly handled. Not happy. We transferred our kid to a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

We love Heritage. We love the overall attitude of the school. There is a different core characteristic the kids are taught about each month and encouraged to work on. We like the curriculum and feel like our children are getting a wonderful education. The lunch has a lot of healthy options. We hope the fundraisers this year to complete the library will be a success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

HCCS is by far an excellent school. My daughter was forgeting Her spanish and now she reads and will help translate at times. I am so impressed at how well she can read both in spanish And english. The teachers definitely work with you to help Your child when she's having trouble with school work. I definitely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

A great school that emphasis classical education using the core knowledge sequence with an emphasis in dual language spanish immersion to increase fluency in a second language. The teachers truly care about each individual student and strive to provide a great classical education. The teachers often volunteer their time after school to work with students who are struggling and to volunteer to support a sports program that middle school students can participate in. My student absolutely loves the Latin and logic programs in the middle school grades. I also love that it is a safe environment for my child to blossom with no tolerance for bullying. They also have a wonderful core characteristics program that focus on many of the values of society that are lost in todays public education such as integrity, perseverance and friendship. This is a great school of choice option for students K-8. I only wish that it was available K-12th grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2014

I am so impressed with what my two children have been able to learn in this school. I absolutely love to hear my kindergartner read to me in Spanish, her accent is incredible. My children have only attended this school so I don't have others to compare it to but I have been very impressed with the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

I choose to send my kids there because of their commitment to excellence in a dual language setting. My daughters speak Spanish at home to one another and enjoy attending school on a daily basis. My son has been immersed in Latin and has shown vast improvement in his reading comprehension, which I attribute to his Latin studies. The principal is an effective leader and the teachers are trained in dual instruction and have superior knowledge of the implementation of the Common Core State Standards. The support staff is friendly and considerate and most are bilingual and support the dual language environment. The school has room for improvement, as all do, however there is a mission and vision for the school and they have SMART short and long term goals for the school and its' families. The Parent Teacher Student Organization is active in the support of all students within the school. This group of volunteers is critical to the structure of all the "extras" a school needs to be successful: fundraising, classroom support, uniform support, family nights and the general and acceptance of all families at HCCS. I would recommend this school to families who are looking for GREATNESS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

Heritage Community Charter School is such an excellent school! My daughter graduated from there last year and is now attending a regular public high school. She has commented that she was very well prepared for high school and often feels ahead of other students. The Latin classes she took at Heritage have helped her linguistically to better understand English as a language. My youngest son is in kindergarten and has enjoyed learning Spanish this year along with reading, writing geography etc. What a huge blessing a second language will be in his life! The teachers are very caring and seem to be teaching because they love it! The school environment is friendly and inviting; and I was going to say especially the office staff and Principal, but everyone I've interacted with there has been helpful and nice. I love my kids learning at this school! Best one ever! The school struggled its first year but has made huge leaps and bounds under the new principal and is definitely on the right track and ahead of the game! I think that the only thing that would improve the school is more parent involvement, but I think that will come with time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2013

HCCS is a truly remarkable school. The conversations I have with my child astound me. My kindergartner is able to discuss historical events with detail, explain various parts of grammar and share his newly forming Spanish vocabulary, just to name a few. He is also learning what it means to be a person of character through the monthly CORE characteristic lessons. His older cousins have made enormous progress since enrolling at HCCS. The teachers truly care about each child and strive to help them succeed. The office staff and administration have always been helpful, friendly and reliable. I am thankful for this amazing educational opportunity for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2013

I have two children at HCCS. They are both in the dual language immersion program, and they both love the exciting and stimulating work they are able to do in the classroom. I love that they are challenged in math and reading, learning to think about the world around them and their important role in it, and learning to be responsible and compassionate citizens. We left another school due to our dissatisfaction with the low academic and behavior expectations; we found what we were looking for at HCCS. Although the first year presented many challenges with opening a new school, my children always feel safe, confident and respected. My daughter has had two small challenges with classmates; by the time I heard about the issues after school they had already been addressed and my child felt safe and happy. I think the school's emphasis on integrity, empathy and mutual respect have helped both of my children interact with and appreciate their peers. The icing on the cake is the strong connection to history and classical literature! I love that they discuss Mesopotamia, Julius Caesar, the Constitution, the greeks, and world geography. I love that my children love what they are learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2013

This is my kids' second year at Heritage. We LOVE it! I really like how concerned the teachers are with helping my students grow academically. My son is a little forgetful and his teacher and I have been emailing back and forth all year working together to figure out the best ways for him to stay on task and remember what he needs to do. I love that my older son is learning Latin and practicing the violin. I also like that the main subjects are really emphasized. My daughter was really struggling with math when we were in the public school. She went from barely passing the state math test to exceeding! Plus, for the younger grades its a dual language immersion so the kids are learning Spanish! What a great life skill besides all of the cognitive benefits. As a side note, the school has a zero tolerance for bullying policy so I'm not sure what the other parent was talking about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2013

HCCS has been an amazing school for my children. They've learned so much in their classrooms. Their teacher's are nurturing and do a great job communicating with me. The administration is very welcoming, know students by name, and always contact me should an issue ever arise. The best thing aside from the high academic standards are the school's work against bullying. My child loves HCCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2013

My children have been there since the first year. They are 6th, 3rd and K this year. Love the school, love the staff, and my oldest has had great improvement over his prior school. I would HIGHLY recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

My son isn't without his own personal struggles, but I feel this school does very little to address bullying, and at least with my son, has a history of ignoring it. As another parent has cautioned with their child's experience, I would caution parents as well. I don't feel this school does not do enough to address bullying, or it's teacher's and administrators turn a blind eye to it. Very disappointed with this school, and I am working to move my son into another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2013

HCCS was a horrible experience for my family. I caution anyone considering enrolling their child. I thought my son would have a great opportunity at HCCS. He was doing well in Public School when HCCS contacted me a said there was an opening. I invested money for embroidered uniforms & purchased supplies for the class. My son attended for 3 weeks. Every day he had physical bruises, torn clothing, scratches, one day a swollen eye & another a swollen lip. I was concerned about this, how my son was doing in school, his interactions with classmates & homework assignments. I asked his teachers to contact me multiple times. I understand people have very busy lives. I asked his teachers to contact me for a week. After 4 days 1 of his 2 teachers called me. I unfortunately missed her call. She left a message saying she would call back & never did. I cut my losses and put my son back in public school. His public school teacher says my son is helpful in class & she contacts me or my husband if there are any questions or problems. My son no longer comes home with bruises, scratches or torn clothing. I feel horrible I put my son through this & wanted other parents to know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

Heritage Community Charter School is a wonderful school. I am a staff member as well as a parent. My children love the environment. Students are held to high standards of academic performance and social conduct. At Heritage my children are learning to be good people as well as good students. The staff members are friendly, supportive, and encourage students to do and be their best. I would love to see Spanish offered as an elective in middle school since the elementary school is a dual language immersion program.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 73% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 83% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 90% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 80% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 73% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 75% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 88% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 75% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 94% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students81%
Female82%
Male79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
American Indiann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students97%
Female96%
Male97%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
American Indiann/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
American Indiann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students83%
Female83%
Male83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
American Indiann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students90%
Female90%
Male90%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indiann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female90%
Male83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
American Indiann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students81%
Female79%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students79%
Female75%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female88%
Male85%
African Americann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students65%
Female63%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students71%
Female71%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students61%
Female60%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female90%
Male75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students60%
Female59%
Male62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students68%
Female70%
Male65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female74%
Male69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students23%
Female7%
Male38%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic5%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged6%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students72%
Female65%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students71%
Female71%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female88%
Male91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 78%
Hispanic 29% 16%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Black 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A48%
Female 51%N/A49%
Male 49%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:55 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Javier Castaneda
Fax number
  • (208) 453-8073
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1803 E Ustick Road
Caldwell, ID 83605
Website: Click here
Phone: (208) 453-8070

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT