Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public charter
Coeur d'Alene, ID
Students enrolled: 626
Before care: No
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 39 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


43 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Coeur D'Alene Charter Academy 3

Posted July 25, 2014
- a parent
I had 2 children attend this school for 6th and 7th grade. They did fine academically but something is certainly lacking in the social growth of students especially in the junior high. The feeling is that they are trying to "weed" kids out in Junior High. There is more to school than academics. I was hoping for much more. I've heard the exact same thing from other parents. This school can be tough on girls in junior high. Sometimes I think putting all the "smart" kids in one school is not the best thing.

Coeur D'Alene Charter Academy 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a teacher
All around excellence is what makes this school so unique. The school makes it possible for students who accept the challenge to thrive.


Coeur D'Alene Charter Academy 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a teacher
Our school is like sand in an oyster shell, rubbing, chaffing, grinding, growing, developing pearls. If learning was easy, it would be practicing, not learning. Our school provides the best learning environment, highly qualified teachers, great students willing to give us their all and wonderfully supportive parents. Only the educated are free. Go Charter!

Coeur D'Alene Charter Academy 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a teacher
Professionally drive. Academically top notch. Fantastic students. If you're looking for a no-nonsense education, Charter is the place. Yes, we have fun, too!

Coeur D'Alene Charter Academy 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
I have two children currently attending this school. One in the 6th grade and one in the 11th. Both boys started off in private christian schools that touted "college preparatory"... Unfortunately, as my oldest hit the 7th grade, it became apparent that the educational standards were definitely sub-par. We entered the Charter Academy with some hesitation, but have been very happy over the past two years. The curriculum is tough - but they both love it and they have said that they have learned more at Charter in the past two years than all other years combined!


Coeur D'Alene Charter Academy 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a teacher
My school is attempting to counter some of the educational trends that have been generated by a discredited teacher training university system.
1 person found this helpful

Coeur D'Alene Charter Academy 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a teacher
As a teacher, Coeur d'Alene Charter Academy provides me a magical combination of intellectually curious students, supportive parents, freedom to teach a rigorous French curriculum, and fun in our community garden.

Coeur D'Alene Charter Academy 5

Posted March 09, 2014
- a parent
This is an amazing school! My kids are thoroughly challenged on a daily basis. Teachers are very professional and conscientious and caring. The administration is amazing. They deliver exactly what they promise, which can be tough with so many helicopter moms constantly demanding that the school compromise its programs for the sake of poorly-performing kids. I have never seen a principal who relates as well to kids and parents, and who just totally "gets it." Totally professional, amazingly approachable. Don't enroll a lazy student and expect them to lower the bar for you, but if your student is struggling and is wiling to work, the staff will work diligently to help them be successful.


Coeur D'Alene Charter Academy 3

Posted January 21, 2014
- a parent
My child attends Charter and although we ve thoroughly enjoyed most of the staff and have appreciated the structure and discipline, I am not impressed with the Principal. Their focus is to prepare your child for college and nothing more. There is not an emphasis on athletics or arts. Parents were recently asked to complete a survey and the response from the principal was very defensive. Unfortunately, his response indicated he is not interested in what the parents truly feel would be beneficial additions to the school/curriculum. MANY parents volunteer and would be more than willing to come up with creative solutions to the strong feedback, but he had no interest in making any changes. Sad.
1 person found this helpful

Coeur D'Alene Charter Academy 5

Posted March 20, 2013
- a community member
truly the best school in the north-west It is very academic focused and friendly - if all schools were like it, America's educational system would be perfect

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Coeur D'Alene Charter Academy
4904 North Duncan Dr, Coeur d'Alene, ID  83815
(208) 676-1667
Last modified Coeur D'Alene Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Coeur D'Alene Charter Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. Top