Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sorensen Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 27, 2014

The teachers at Sorensen are dynamic, caring, talented, highly qualified and absolutely top notch!. They make this a 'go to' school! The fact that the previous principal moved on is lamentable as the current replacement is not entirely capable nor compatible with an Arts and Humanities format such as exists in this school. This should be addressed asap. Thankfully, in spite of this obstacle, the teachers themselves have persevered to keep the students in this newly re-modeled school singing, dancing, creating and achieving top scores across the board! Keep up the fantastic work!


Posted August 5, 2013

Sorensen School continues to be a wonderful school for my daughter. She is starting her third year there and is happy about it! She loves the advanced learning program, the great and committed teachers and all the creative arts and humantiies offerings: juggling; Canto de Sorensen; chess; marimbas; theater...We both love the sense of community created at this school. Very satisfied and happy with this high-quality school. It will also be wonderful to have a remodeled school building and playground. This is icing on the cake!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2013

Learning is fun again. My children love this school because of the sense of community it evokes. All children are taught to abide by the motto "safe, responsible and polite".. On top of that all students are encouraged to participate in performing arts....sounds scary to a timid first grader, but the the benefits have been clearly seen. Confidence gained via the arts in incredible. Test scores are proven to be on top of the district. Uniforms are in place but fun and fresh...any color of embroidered polo shirt paired with khaki or black bottoms. LOVE, LOVE Sorensen. Excited to see what the current remodel will look like and what the school is able to offer because of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

Sorensen is the best elementary school in the district, bar none. My son is treated as an individual and the entire staff has worked with him to ensure his success this year. He lost his father suddenly during this past school year and I have been so grateful that he was attending Sorensen when this tragedy occurred. All the adults surrounded him with love and support and made a very difficult situation so much easier for both him and I. He used to hate school, now he talks about going to see his school "family" and everyday I hear about how Sorensen is "AWESOME!" His grades have gone up and he is doing so well. I cannot say enough good things about Sorensen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

Exellent art & humanities programs. Love all the extras that are offered. Offers a comprehensive, well-rounded curriculum. Staff is wonderful and very personable. Definitely worth losing the transportation factor and having to drive them to/from.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I love the incorporation of the arts--how they infuse the core subject areas and allow for a well-rounded and holistic education that proves its success in high performance in SAT scores and student satisfaction as well as motivation and a love of learning. Sorensen is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2009

My kids have blossomed so much since the began attending Sorensen a year and a half ago. The teachers are incredible, the extracurricular activities are amazing, and the kids just LOVE going to school. Being a magnet school, there are so many activities that simlpy aren't available at other schools, such as the 'artist in residence' program, juggling, marimbas, and African drumming. Last year even my then kindergartener was exposed to learning the violin. it is definately worth checking out to see if there is an open spot for your child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

Sorensen has been a great school for our family. My oldest has been there K- 5 and has had some great opportunities for learning and for fun! He is very comfortable and safe and enjoys going to school. Most of his teachers have been AWESOME and the two we were displeased with have left. One of the other reviews would not reccommend K, but they have a new teacher and she is perfect! Our youngest has learned so much and loves her and school. She is patient, kind, experienced, and knowledgeable. Parents are welcomed to help and be involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

All five of my sons loved Sorensen as they finished through and went onto Jr. High. I felt the teachers are very dedicated, and gave 100%. I was always in touch with my children's teachers and volunteered for many hours. My older children have gone to school in AZ and Ca. and these schools never gave my children the desire to learn so much, and explore the world, as Sorensen has. The music program alone was creative and enabled our children to express them- selves, even if they felt shy or inhibited. To this day.....as my children have become adults, they have exceeded my expecta- tions and are great, caring, and hard- working.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2005

I didn't care for this school at all! I felt shoved aside while my child was allowed to fail. I went through a series of meetings with teachers, the principal, psychologists, counselors, etc, but no action was ever taken! Students are not allowed to bring home their books to study for tests, or finish homework. I also got little response from the Coeur d'Alene school district as a whole, I went into the office on several occasions while I was trying to advocate for my son, I was treated very kindly, but I got no action from them. My overall opinion is that this district just doesn't have enough money to be effective! I will add that students that DON'T need extra help seem to thrive there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2004

My kids love Sorenson!! As a parent I have to say that if we moved into another schools are I would definately file a boundary waiver! I don't recommend it for Kindergardeners but the small class size and teachers are great! If you have family security issues (ie...problems with an ex-spouse) I wouldn't recommend Sorenson. The level of security with these type of issues is horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 73% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 83% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 90% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 80% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 73% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students93%
Female94%
Male92%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students97%
Female100%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students96%
Female100%
Male92%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students97%
Female94%
Male100%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students98%
Female98%
Male100%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students94%
Female98%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students82%
Female86%
Male79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students75%
Female71%
Male79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 78%
Hispanic 4% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Black 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 35%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

311 North 9th St
Coeur D Alene, ID 83814
Phone: (208) 664-2822

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bryan Elementary School
Coeur D Alene, ID


Fernan Elementary School
Coeur D'alene, ID



Lake City Jr Academy
Coeur d'Alene, ID


Winton Elementary School
Coeur D Alene, ID


Borah Elementary School
Coeur D Alene, ID


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT