Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Coeur D Alene, ID
Students enrolled: 353
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sorensen Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 28, 2015
- a community member
The teachers are what makes this school great! They are an amazing team which is able to find ways to keep the Arts and Humanities in this school in spite of the archaic principal dragging them down.

Sorensen Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 28, 2015
- a community member
The teachers respect the students as individuals therefore instilling and receiving respect from the students in return.


Sorensen Elementary School 5

Posted May 28, 2015
- a community member
The teachers are amazing!! Every educator in this school is fantastic and loves the students as they help them grow and achieve year after year. LOVE the dynamic & highly successful style of that 4th grade teacher! Rock that Success!! However, the 3 year 'new' principal is completely out of place at this magnet school for the Arts and Humanities. She has taken the "Art" and "Humanities" out and replaced it with ignorance and out-of-touch ineptitude. This was a bad fit from the beginning and the school would be highly served if a new principal were located who understood the true concept of a Magnet School for the Arts and Humanities. Still, the teacher's are what make this school. They continue to soldier on in spite of the boat anchor of a principal.

Sorensen Elementary School 4

Posted January 31, 2015
- a parent
My daughters attended this school one in 3rd and 4th grade. In 3rd grade she had Mrs. DuCoeur the best teacher ever! She is so understanding and truly loves the kids helping them to be the best they can be everyday! In 4th grade it was horrible, her teacher threw pencils across the room, books across the room she was constantly yelling at the kids and discipline was extreme, needless to say I removed my daughter. The principal at this school has brought a "new light" and I personally feel a worse one, she is not friendly, unkind and rude. She has removed much of the home feeling from the school. My other daughter had Mrs. Edmonds another absolutely wonderful teacher!!! She was the best and loves each child as her own, her smile is always present and her joy over flows. We loved her!! We love the programs at the school, many extra curricular activities are available!! The parent community is cliquish and hard to become a part of if you don't have the right status or amount of money.

Sorensen Elementary School 5

Posted February 27, 2014
- a community member
The teachers at Sorensen are dynamic, caring, talented, highly qualified and absolutely top notch!. They make this a 'go to' school! The fact that the previous principal moved on is lamentable as the current replacement is not entirely capable nor compatible with an Arts and Humanities format such as exists in this school. This should be addressed asap. Thankfully, in spite of this obstacle, the teachers themselves have persevered to keep the students in this newly re-modeled school singing, dancing, creating and achieving top scores across the board! Keep up the fantastic work!


Sorensen Elementary School 5

Posted August 05, 2013
- a parent
Sorensen School continues to be a wonderful school for my daughter. She is starting her third year there and is happy about it! She loves the advanced learning program, the great and committed teachers and all the creative arts and humantiies offerings: juggling; Canto de Sorensen; chess; marimbas; theater...We both love the sense of community created at this school. Very satisfied and happy with this high-quality school. It will also be wonderful to have a remodeled school building and playground. This is icing on the cake!

Sorensen Elementary School 5

Posted July 17, 2013
- a parent
Learning is fun again. My children love this school because of the sense of community it evokes. All children are taught to abide by the motto "safe, responsible and polite".. On top of that all students are encouraged to participate in performing arts....sounds scary to a timid first grader, but the the benefits have been clearly seen. Confidence gained via the arts in incredible. Test scores are proven to be on top of the district. Uniforms are in place but fun and fresh...any color of embroidered polo shirt paired with khaki or black bottoms. LOVE, LOVE Sorensen. Excited to see what the current remodel will look like and what the school is able to offer because of it.

Sorensen Elementary School 5

Posted May 08, 2013
- a parent
Sorensen is the best elementary school in the district, bar none. My son is treated as an individual and the entire staff has worked with him to ensure his success this year. He lost his father suddenly during this past school year and I have been so grateful that he was attending Sorensen when this tragedy occurred. All the adults surrounded him with love and support and made a very difficult situation so much easier for both him and I. He used to hate school, now he talks about going to see his school "family" and everyday I hear about how Sorensen is "AWESOME!" His grades have gone up and he is doing so well. I cannot say enough good things about Sorensen.


Sorensen Elementary School 5

Posted October 17, 2009
- a parent
Exellent art & humanities programs. Love all the extras that are offered. Offers a comprehensive, well-rounded curriculum. Staff is wonderful and very personable. Definitely worth losing the transportation factor and having to drive them to/from.

Sorensen Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
I love the incorporation of the arts--how they infuse the core subject areas and allow for a well-rounded and holistic education that proves its success in high performance in SAT scores and student satisfaction as well as motivation and a love of learning. Sorensen is the best!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sorensen Elementary School
311 North 9th St, Coeur D Alene, ID  83814
(208) 664-2822
Last modified Sorensen Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sorensen Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top