Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eagle Elementary School Of Arts

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 7, 2014

I started at Star Elementary and communication was missing. I made the tough decision to move my child to EESA and have never been so happy. I am thankful that there is such an amazing school in our area. Thank you Eagle Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2014

Eagle Elementary staff is not friendly nor helpful. Some of the teachers are great. Those that aren't can really be bad...my daughter's second grade teacher always sat behind the desk - was rough (speaking) with kids, would not let them go to the bathroom except at her appointed times which resulted in a little boy wetting his pants one day - his mother was furious - hadn't happened since she potty trained him 5 years previously! She did not feel like the staff was helpful at all, neither did I in my situation. The music, art, and theater are good but they are super remedial in math and science.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

I've had 2 students at Eagle Elem. -both advanced in math and it took the administration/teachers 4 months to figure out where/how to place them. Still, their adjustments weren't adequate and I eventually took them out. The teachers seem to either be really good or really not, though I know one of those we were unhappy with a few years ago is now retired. There is a lot of parent involvement and some great art, music, and theater programs. Our biggest complaint is the administration. Today, the website is STILL not current and I'm pretty sure it never has been, at least in the 5 years we have been affiliated with them. One of the 5th grade teachers who was excellent doesn't even teach there anymore but is still listed on their site. We have not had good relations with the secretary - after 5 years of dealing with her, I feel she is power hungry, argumentative, and really slow or just unaware. I had multiple times when she did not send my messages to the principal or evaded my questions or gave me misinformation. If you can handle the administration, and are super involved as an advocate for your child, I would recommend this school. We loved the music & art teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2014

I have observed teachers and parents and I have grown to love them all. They are interested in the growth of all students. No need to fight for a 504. If you need to help a kid succeed then you can get it done here. They are open to helping kids if they have a way to do it and if not they try really hard to find other ways.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2013

This school is the best in the area. I have had kids at Star and Galileo and I have been so impressed by this school and their teachers. I am particularly impressed by Ms. Bunn who set the stage for my daughter's success in middle school. Her math class was so strong that every child in her class (100%) tested as advanced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

Awesome! We are a recognized 5-Star school within the school district which is a huge accomplishment. I love the arts twist on things too! My girls are getting to experience so many great things that they wouldn't get to at our assigned school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2010

I am so pleased with this school. I moved my youngest child from Eagle Hills in the latter part of last school year, and he is excelling! He jumped a grade level in reading in only 1 month, and achieved higher grades overall. He was challenged & excited about his schoolwork. I am very impressed with the Principal's caring & approachable manner towards the students & parents, and his firm leadership. My son's teacher was also WONDERFUL. My son has struggled with his speech, and his teacher made sure to get him tested and start speech classes for him, even though there was only a month left in the school year; the other school did nothing to help him. She was also very caring & took an interest in my son; she really made my son feel welcomed and accepted. We are so thankful to be a part of this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2010

We are somewhat picky and have had children in 2 other elementary schools in Eagle. This is by far the best school our children have attended. The principal is outstanding and the teachers are first rate. The math is stronger than at the math school and the children love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2008

Our daughter moved this year to Eagle Elementary School of the Arts from Eagle Hills and we could not be happier! We love this school. She is very happy here and is progressing at an amazing rate. We adore her teacher who takes a very personal interest in her students and ALL aspects of their growth at school. A great big thank you to Eagle Elementary School of the Arts!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2008

LOVE IT! Mrs. Miller (2), Mrs. Bunn, both outstanding! Have had great teachers for the last three years (all still with the school - Florence & Roban). Physical Education (Hill) has passion, always has activities going, works hard to get the kids more (climbing wall, etc) and all of the kids love him. Parent support is great! New Principal (Kohlmeier) is fantastic and takes care of issues with a strong hand but is compasionate and caring. We feel very fortunate to have landed at such a great place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2008

LOVE IT! Mrs. Miller (2), Mrs. Bunn, both outstanding! Have had great teachers for the last three years (all still with the school - Florence & Roban). Physical Education (Hill) has passion, always has activities going, works hard to get the kids more (climbing wall, etc) and all of the kids love him. Parent support is great! New Principal (Kohlmeier) is fantastic and takes care of issues with a strong hand but is compasionate and caring. We feel very fortunate to have landed at such a great place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2007

We have been to several schools in the valley and Eagle has been the best by far. None of the other schools had even opened my sons file to find out his needs. He has ADHD and is a little behind. The teacher this year was very proactive and called me the first week of school and said she interested in getting my son caught up. Not one teacher has ever even noticed. His teacher is wonderful, she is very compassionate and is tuned in to each student and there individual needs. She knows my son as well as I do. Everything a parent wishes in a teacher. I cannot recommend the school enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2005

This has been our first year in Eagle Elementary and I have been dissapointed with the overall teacher/principal issues that we have had to deal with. No support from Principal Clark and no good dealings with the teacher. Overall parent help and support is excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2005

The teachers and programs are great. I am a little disappointed in the Principal Clark's passive dealings with parents and their concerns with safety for their kids. She will be leaving next year, and we hope the new Principal will add new life to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 73% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 83% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 90% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 80% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students82%
Female87%
Male75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students94%
Female93%
Male94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students94%
Female96%
Male91%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students95%
Female98%
Male90%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students95%
Female95%
Male95%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students95%
Female96%
Male92%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students93%
Female96%
Male91%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students91%
Female89%
Male93%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students97%
Female98%
Male95%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students92%
Female92%
Male93%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 78%
Hispanic 4% 16%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Black 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

475 North Eagle Rd
Eagle, ID 83616
Phone: (208) 855-4365

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT