Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Paramount Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 1, 2014

In second grade my child didn't have spelling words when other 2nd grade classes did. In 3rd grade, she had a great teacher but I don't know why my neighbor's daughter had more challenging work in math and different spelling lists, and she was in a standard 3rd grade-not the magnet program. Oh, yes and the social part of Paramount is slightly changing. Not sure if it's okay now to not be Mormon It seems it's becoming a little more diverse. I can see why a previous review mentioned it! Meridian and Eagle, in general, are great places to raise your kids in ONLY if YOU ARE MORMON. There still maybe some bias when choosing the awards at the school:(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

We love Paramount! Our son has some special needs and has thrived at this school. We just wish it was K-12.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2013

We are getting ready to move to another state and we sad to be leaving Paramount. The teachers have been very good and you can tell the principal, Mr. Brigham, enjoys his job and the children. Parent involvement is very high. The office staff are friendly and very helpful. We hope to find our new school as nice as this one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2013

Paramount is an exceptional school. I have two children attending at this time and we have had outstanding teachers. The school has a wonderful community feel. It is the most populated elementary school in Idaho, but yet it runs so smoothly that you wouldn't know it is filled to maximum capacity...until school event and assembly days! If you are reading these parent comments, I would advise you to disregard the comments that suggest this school is preferential to mormons. There is only one teacher I am aware of who is a member of the mormon church, and the principal is not. Sometimes when you look for the negative you can find it, even when it is created by you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2012

Paramount has a great principal, great staff, great parent involvement, and great students! The idea that Mormons are held in higher regard at this school is absurd. My daughter received a character award and we are not Mormon. I have never had an issue that I needed to bring to the principal's attention, but I found him to be very warm and kind. This is one of the better elementary school choices in the school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2011

I love this school! The principal is Awesome and Mrs. A is absolutely the best teacher ever. The teachers are loving and kind and the kids love school. There is so much parent involvement that the children get lots of 1 on 1 help. We recently moved to the South and I have to tell you we sooooo miss Paramount. We knew we loved Paramount, but we had no idea how really great it was there. There are a lot of mormons, but they do so much work and volunteer so much of their time. The new school we are at is ranked very high. It had 10 stars, but there is no parent involvement, and there is not much fun for the kids. Love, Love, Love this school. Seriously the principle is awesome and always willing to work with you. When I was there I had a problem with one of the teachers. She was not a good fit for my child and he was willing to work with me and moved my child into a new class! I would give this school 10 stars if I could.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

This school is extremely against Non-Mormons. All the Character Awards are the Mormon families, same family names, year after year. They don't want anyone rocking the boat, oh no....Don't move to Idaho unless you are a Mormon....glad we are moving!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2011

Most of the teachers are wonderful! The principal on the other hand -will not accept responsiblity and will push you off to someone else if you have an issue (of ANY kind). Maybe you have to be part of the correct 'church group'. My oldest son for the most part was unhappy at Paramount. He absolutely loved 6th and now 7th grade at Sawtooth (getting good grades and HAPPY). Too many rules and agressive teachings at Paramount that are being pushed onto ELEMENTARY kids (and RUSHED through). I do not believe this is any fault of the teachers at all but certainly a reflection of the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2011

I currently have 4 children attending Paramount Elementary and we love it! The teachers are excellent, the Principal has a great personality and he truly cares about the children and they love for it. There is great parent involvement as well. It really is one of the top schools in the area!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2011

We are so thankful for this school! From the principal and support staff to the teachers, they all work hard to advance our children. Teachers like Mrs. Aguiar, help these kids to be confident readers as well as giving them a love for education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

My son is a Kindergarten student at Paramount Elementary and loves it there! His teacher, Mrs. Stred has been awesome and the academics are great! He has really been learning and having fun!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 73% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 83% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 90% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 80% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students78%
Female84%
Male72%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
American Indiann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students93%
Female91%
Male94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
American Indiann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
American Indiann/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students92%
Female88%
Male96%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indiann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Special education60%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students89%
Female86%
Male92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indiann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Special education70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students96%
Female95%
Male98%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indiann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Special education70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students88%
Female89%
Male86%
African Americann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students91%
Female89%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
African Americann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students88%
Female86%
Male89%
African Americann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 78%
Hispanic 7% 16%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

550 West Producer Dr
Meridian, ID 83646
Phone: (208) 350-4120

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




The Ambrose School
Meridian, ID




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT