Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
740 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 60 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cole Valley Christian Schools
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 22, 2016
- a parent
Cole Valley cultivates respect several ways. One great example is the yearly Veteran's Day chapel where students are introduced to many who have served their country and sacrificed greatly to keep us safe and free. This creates respect for military service. Most students value respect so they discourage their friends from coarse joking and being rude to each other or to their teachers.

Cole Valley Christian Schools 5

Posted August 21, 2016
- a parent
We started each of our kids in 7th grade & have been a part of the Cole Valley family for 4 years. Our kids immediately thrived at CVCS! They LOVE our kids and although academics are important, it is a school after all, we feel that every teacher and every staff/support person, all the way up to the principal and superintendent, makes an intentional effort to get to know EVERY student and pour out their love for Jesus into each and every one! Small class sizes allow them to actually get to KNOW each student. Cole Valley definitely offers a rigorous schedule for those who need a challenge academically. My oldest, on his current track, should graduate from high school with enough concurrent credit and AP classes to equal nearly two semesters in college. God keeps paying back our investment several times over, in the spiritual, personal and academic development of our kids! Cole Valley families definitely comprise a larger "Cole Valley family" and are always there for each other. We are so blessed to be a part of it!


Cole Valley Christian Schools
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 21, 2016
- a parent
Cole Valley Christian students are taught about social justice from a young age so that they know the hardships in both America and other countries. They are encouraged to do community service through their church and non-profit organizations to give back to the community. They are encouraged to care for one another and pray for one another inside and outside the classroom.

Cole Valley Christian Schools
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 21, 2016
- a parent
The positive peer pressure to live right is felt by the students. Thus, they often do not walk into situations where they would need to lie. There is an atmosphere of grace among the staff knowing that kids will sometimes make mistakes. They would rather have them be honest about a mistake and give them the opportunity to make it right than to punish them for the wrong. They know that people make mistakes and need to be prepared to handle them after graduating, so they keep that in mind when deciding the consequences for choices made.

Cole Valley Christian Schools 5

Posted August 21, 2016
- a parent
I am grateful for the partnership between staff and parents. It is a gift to have many other adults who love God and care for your student strategizing together to help your kids come out of school prepared not only academically but also relationally, spiritually, and socially. Sometimes another perspective and Godly wisdom can benefit our student more than parental decisions alone because we are so close to our kids rhat we are sometimes clouded by emotions. I am grateful that I have many good people prayerfully guiding my children through their teen years. My kids have told me many times how thankful they are for their teachers and how they feel encouraged by them.


Cole Valley Christian Schools
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 31, 2016
- a parent
There are a few very good teachers at Cole Valley in grades 7-12. Overall, without exception the entire teaching staff and administration are not qualified teachers. Because of the poor pay, limited resources and support, and very bad rumors about Cole Valley circling around the teaching community, it makes sense why they cannot get any skilled educators. There is such a high turnover rate from one year to the next, that should tell you something. Continuous changes, high turnover, no curriculum is not a help to educate our kids.

Cole Valley Christian Schools
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted July 31, 2016
- a parent
It is not the amount of homework, its the quality and the purpose that is lacking truly throughout all grades K-12. There is absolutely no consistent curriculum from one year to the next. The curriculum varies, there is nothing cohesive about it. We really have proved this with our child being tested and the results showing significant gaps in fundamental educational concepts in 5th, 6th, and 7th grades. Cole Valley talks so much about how much more advanced in education they are....they are not. They do not compare equally. Their MAP testing is not scored like the rest of Idaho's schools. Cole Valley tests kids as individuals and does not report their testing as a school, so you will never see truly how your child is measuring up. Cole Valley also tests with only MAP testing, which does not give you a clear picture of growth from year to year without using another form of testing.

Cole Valley Christian Schools
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 31, 2016
- a parent
No. Cole Valley using public humiliation develops fear in its students. The lack of qualified teachers and curriculum develops disrespect for the teachers and mockery by some of the students and families. But, most families just live in it and accept it because they are afraid of what might happen in public school. This fear is further supported each school year by the superintendents address to the families quoting end times bible verses and how scary the world outside of Cole Valley is.


Cole Valley Christian Schools
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 31, 2016
- a parent
Because the school is so small, each student becomes labeled. Smart kids, good kids, bad kids, and the like. Because the staff is really unqualified to handle the adolescent or teen as a professional, they handle situations and problems from a parental standpoint, not an educator standpoint. When this administration and staff handle things with their limited skill, quick and emotional decisions with lack of thought are made and as a result the outcomes are extremely inconsistent. These labels are carried over from grade to grade, teacher to teacher and to actually shed this label is virtually impossible.

Cole Valley Christian Schools
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 31, 2016
- a parent
Cole Valley uses public humiliation as a form of discipline. This is supported by the superintendent and enforced by the VP and bible teacher. To publically humiliate adolescents in this vulnerable time of life in front of their peers is sickening. My child was so upset having seen this done to some boys in her bible class over a mistake a group of them made. To know that it is supported and accepted and that no one is doing anything about it is the sad part because it will continue to occur.

Nearby schools

Cole Valley Christian Schools
200 East Carlton Avenue, Meridian, ID  83642
(208) 898-9003
Last modified Cole Valley Christian Schools is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top