Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Meridian, ID
Students enrolled: 505
Before care: No
After care: No

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Ambrose School 1

Posted July 03, 2014
- a parent
Do ur do-diligence 1st..They brag about what they have to offer, but it's all talk. Website is a lie, they do not offer courses such as science etc in upper grades if they dont have staff. they have minimal resources. some teachrs have free reign to teach whatever they want (off curriculum) if they are favored by admin. No college support. students do not go on to any great colleges yet they brag about how elite and rigorous the school is. and there is by far WAY too much inapporpriate student/teacher socialization and social media interaction outside school. Certain families/kids are favored over others.. the better-to-do big donors, or the highly (over-involved) parent. cliquey is an understatement ( not just the kids). one postve is that there are many great, genuinly loving teachrs that care. but unfortun there is a high turnover of teachers every year due to various reasons..one of which being unappreaciation by higherup staff. but they do let the few unexperienced, overeager teachrs pretty much in on setting curriclm and it has gone rapidly downhill. it's quite sad, used to be a great school. they also do not inform when there is infectious disease going around.

The Ambrose School 5

Posted July 30, 2013
- a parent
The Ambrose School provides an unparalleled opportunity for children to obtain knowledge and perspectives that will serve them throughout their lives. Unburdened by much of the nonsense of the public school experience, Ambrose students are able to exercise their innate curiosity about the deeper significance of our world. The Christian world view underscores the student experience, providing a context and relevancy to all of the areas of study. In this way, Ambrose seeks not only to encourage the students to do well in their studies, but also to do good in their lives.


The Ambrose School 5

Posted February 07, 2013
- a parent
This isn't just a "Christian School" where "Bible" is 7th period. Its a whole different way of learning, the classical method, but with a Biblical World View. The Founding Fathers and Mothers were taught this way - and they created the greatest system of government on earth...and a society to match based on Judeo-Christian values. Today we have reduced most public education to job training that is dumbed down to a low common level. Not here. The academic rigor, core values and special nature of each child's relationship with God, each other and the community set the school apart. In an age of moral relativism, this is an island of truth, beauty and justice where right and wrong, good and evil aren't in the eye of the beholder. It can be intense, and boredom is unknown. Be prepared as a parent to learn all over again alongside your kids. The kids (11 and 13) love the school, their friends and their teachers, and have the same life most kids do, with perhaps more homework. Almost every student is involved in sports, an important aspect of learning. If I could change anything it would be to extend the school day to 7 hours and add a cafeteria, but that is coming.

The Ambrose School 5

Posted August 30, 2012
- a parent
moved from another state. To be honest I hate it here and would love to go back. But the only thing keeping us here is the Ambrose School. It is the most incredible blessing to our children!!!! Public school isn't even in the same relm as this school. We have a grammar and upper school kids. The teachers are wonderful. The academic rigor is what my kids needed. They were bored in public school. Ambrose is a beautiful growing school. We could never have afforded Classical Christian education where we moved from. Ambrose is very reasonable compared. AMBROSE IS AMAZING!!! Truly a christian school.....not the fake kind.

The Ambrose School 5

Posted April 06, 2011
- a parent
We discovered Ambrose when our son was in middle school. Despite the challenges of a rigorous curriculum he has never been happier. The faculty interacts with the students throughout the day. Teachers make it a point to know the names of students in all grade levels. Their presence has a very positive impact. Students are challenged to think and express ideas. The entire environment has changed the way he sees himself. His confidence has grown and he is seeing the world through different eyes. The Classical Christian education is superior. We love the conversations that arise from books they are reading, topics they are discussing and normal life lessons taught from a Biblical perspective. We often wish we had discovered Classical Christian Education earlier, but then we wouldn't appreciate how wonderful Ambrose really is.


The Ambrose School 3

Posted April 08, 2010
- a community member
The 'Foundations' have been lost with the growth of the school. Money is a huge issue, always asking for more. The kids are not the focus of the school anymore. Getting more people in so the money will flow is the main objective. Some teachers are very caring, others do not like children and the kids know it. By the time the kids hit junior high and high school age they are burned out and have lost interest. Public school has never been our first choice but we will be pulling our children out for next year, to give them a break and to give them an opportunity to be involved in a better variety of classes as at Ambrose the learning is very repetative and narrow. We have spent a fortune (college tuition) for a disappointing failure.

The Ambrose School 0
no rating

Posted January 22, 2009
- a parent
Foundations Academy is a wonderful place for children. The teachers are passionate and loving. The decidedly Christ-centered worldview is wonderful. Moving across the country for our children to enroll here was the one of the best decisions we have made. Thank you Foundations Academy!

The Ambrose School 3

Posted January 21, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


The Ambrose School 5

Posted January 21, 2009
- a parent
Rigerous academic standards, great teachers, involved parents, and great leadership make Foundations Academy a '5-star' school. Before sending my kids here, I visited a Kindergarten classroom, arriving just as they were starting 'art' class. But instead of pulling out paper and crayons, the teacher was holding up prints of paintings by the masters and the kids would name the painting, the artist, and then describe elements that made up the paining (color, shadow, perspective, etc.) and how the artist had combined them to make the beautiful painting. Awesome. This school also teaches from a Christian worldview, so my kids can learn to appreciate the world around them as their creator intended, and to base their knowledge in the fundamental belief that God created all things, and as we learn his design is revealed to us.

The Ambrose School 4

Posted January 30, 2007
- a parent
Our family of 5 children is in its 10th year at Foundations Academy, our eldest having graduated in the first senior class last spring ('06). What a blessing this school has been to our family: Foundations has provided a quality education with a Christian worldview, committed and nurturing teachers, and a strong vision to move forward with building and adding extra-curricular programs as finances allow. Actually, Foundations is very family-like, as parents are welcomed into the environment, believing that school is only an extension of a parents' desire to teach and grow their children. Uniforms are one of our highlights! Every school provides a set of options that include positives and negatives. We choose Foundations, with all its pros and cons--for its commitment to a superior and unique education within a Christian environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Ambrose School
6100 North Locust Grove Road, Meridian, ID  83646
(208) 323-3888
Last modified The Ambrose School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
The Ambrose School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top