Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

River Valley Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 531 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Monday, April 21, 2014

We have been at RVE for two years (2-3rd grades for my oldest and 1-2nd grades for my second) and it has by far exceeded our expectations of public schools in the area. The teachers we've had are interested in helping them excel in subjects that interest them and succeed well in subjects that may not be their favorite. The principal is phenomenal and gets to know each student. They have a lot of fun along with learning, which is one of many reasons my kids absolutely love it! Having multiple classes with "team teaching" (two teachers that split the day/week) can be a benefit, but it can be confusing at times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2012

My little girl has attended RVE for k-1st grade. She absolutely loves it. She is always excited to go to school and tell me about what she has done during the day. The staff is amazing everyone I have come into contact with is great. The principal is very involved and the kids like him very much. Every time event is planned PTA is easy to work with. The teachers always put on a good event. Whether its a musical in the gym or a party on the play ground always a good time. Thank you to everyone at RVE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2009

My girls have attended this school since K and 1st grade. I have loved every teacher they have had. They are involved and truly care about the students. Not something I experienced in other schools in Boise. The office staff is really friendly, a definite plus that I don't have to go through who I am and who my kids are every time I call...and I didn't call very often! I feel lucky to be able to be involved and that my kids enjoy going to school each day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2009

This is an okay school. I have had three children attend rve. I would say that the quality of teachers is hit and miss. Just this last year my kids both had teachers who were below par. One was very lazy and never in the classroom and the other was very controling and demeaning to the children. This teacher didn't seem to like teaching any more and my child said that she hardly even smiled. Also, the principal doesn't keep information private. Not the best school my children have attended, that's for sure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

My daughter was of the original/first 'graduating' class at RVE, starting K the year they opened. My son is currently a 4th grader there. The most incredible teachers and staff in the world. Refuse to move until my boy is out of grade school. Bravo to you all at RVE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

I think that River Valley is an excellent elementary school. I had a kindergartner there last year and I was so impressed with the things they did. I had heard from parents at other schools that they thought Kindergarten was a waste of time because it was too easy but I thought my son's teacher did a good job of challenging them. He had a fifth grade reading buddy that he read to, he was writing in a journal and he was doing first grade math. They also did a lot of science. The overall atmosphere of the school is very positive. I have been very pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2003

My grand daughter and grand son went to River Valley for 2 years until they moved to California. I was very involved in their school and went to every field trip they had. The teachers really go above and beyond. They genuinely care about these children. I found that the teachers really showed respect to the children by listening to them and treating each child as an individual. The activities they had during shchool taught the children to have respect for one another and themselves. When my grandchildren moved away, it wasn't just the teachers that were heartbroken, but the office staff as well. I was impressed that the office staff even seemed to know all the kids names and genuinely care about each one of them. My grandson was already way ahead of his 1st grade class when he entered the California school system where they moved to.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 73% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 83% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 90% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 80% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students79%
Female80%
Male78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
American Indiann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Special education27%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students91%
Female88%
Male95%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
American Indiann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Special education46%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students92%
Female90%
Male95%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
American Indiann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Special education55%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students87%
Female86%
Male87%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students90%
Female84%
Male94%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female95%
Male92%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students76%
Female79%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students78%
Female73%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female88%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students75%
Female73%
Male77%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 78%
Hispanic 8% 16%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian 2% 1%
Black 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A45%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2900 East River Valley St
Meridian, ID 83646
Phone: (208) 884-1741

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT