Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ponderosa Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2014

The teachers and staff are very nice and always helpful when I have questions. They are very focus on encouraging kids to be more active, and receive rewards for exercising during recess. My kids have learned well what s in the curriculum for Idaho, but I think there is space for more academic activities in the school. The science fair is the only after class activity during the year that involves academics, and it s very underwhelming. I think the PTA and the staff do the best they can with the little help they get from parents and the state. Overall, is a nice environment, they are very pro-active on preventing bullying, and my kids are very happy in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2014

This school has been very helpful. I have had my grandkids going there for 5 years now..they work with each kid as a individual Not as a group..I think that's great.. Andi think that is great..


Posted April 25, 2014

Ponderosa Elementary puts emphasis not only on the academics of children but also the health of children. The school is known for its ever popular Pacer Program. Children have the option to spend their recess time running on the pacer track. Children are given pacer sticks after every lap which they turn in to get marked off on their 25 mile pacer card. Incentives are awarded after every 25 miles. As an example, my son has earned three necklace charms representing each of his 25 miles this year. For running 75 miles total, he has the opportunity to attend a special Summer Wind Skippers assembly. As a result, he loves school and has a positive self esteem due to his achievement. I have also experienced excellent teachers and an engaged principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

We have 2nd, 3rd and 5th grade students at Ponderosa and absolutely love the school and staff. They are very aware of each and every student and he/she's personal needs. This extends past the classroom, playground, and into our home. If our kids have a problem related to academics or social issues, the staff at Ponderosa goes above and beyond to make sure the issues get handled. It is nice to see a school in this day and age that really cares what kind of people they are turning out when the kids move on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

I have a K and a 2nd grader here at Ponderosa. It is our first year here and so far it has been wonderful! Our teachers are amazing, I LOVE this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

I have had 4 children enrolled over the last few years. The teachers, the staff have all been excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2009

Ponderosa school administration told me that my son definitely needed additional help in reading but the districts qualifacations for tutoring wouldn't allow him the help he needs and that I should consider he attend a Boise school thru open enrollment when I live in this elementary school area. I work in Boise so I will make the sacrafice but i would advise other parents to be aware of the lack of support. This district cares more about the bottom line.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

Excellent and caring teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2006

I was dissapointed in the principle and put my child in a different elementary school. She didn't seem concerned enough about my childs safety when his safety was threatened by another student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2004

My son, has had so must help from the ponderosa elementary school staff that I can't Thank them enough. The looping of teacher and student program was Great. Looping is where K-teacher looped with student to 1st grade. So when my son started 1st grade he already new his teacher and teaching style. In return his teacher new what his good and bad points, what needed to be work on and what he was taught in kindergarden. It really work out great for my son. The only bad side was or is the bond that was made with teacher-student, can't go to the next grade with him and my son already misses his teacher, The Greatest teacher ever. I'm here to tell you next year we will still be at Ponderosa, with there great staff of professional's who I can't thank enough. They all went the extra mile for my son, installing great learning habits for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 73% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 90% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 83% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 90% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 80% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 72% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students72%
Female73%
Male71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
American Indiann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students88%
Female86%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
American Indiann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students85%
Female84%
Male85%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
American Indiann/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students83%
Female91%
Male76%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Special education36%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students84%
Female87%
Male81%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Special education46%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Female96%
Male91%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indiann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Special education36%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students83%
Female85%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Special education36%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students78%
Female75%
Male81%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Special education18%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female87%
Male87%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Special education36%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students75%
Female71%
Male79%
African Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Special education46%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 78%
Hispanic 8% 16%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Black 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2950 North Naomi
Meridian, ID 83642
Phone: (208) 855-4040

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT