Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Skyview High School

Public | 9-12 | 1264 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 16, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my four years at Skyview. I was one of a few students who was involved in AP classes, drama, band, and sports. While I understand the argument that sports get most of the money, I think it's a false perception. The funding for the sports is mostly earned through admissions to their events and concessions. Band and drama need to charge and have concessions if they want that kind of funding. Academically, I felt that the teachers did the best they could with the resources they had. It's unfortunate that there aren't more opportunities, but even if there were students and parents would complain. I had great experiences with most of my teachers and staff. There were no clique or bullying problems when I was in school there. I think the A/B days and different lunch schedules really help with that. I wouldn't hesitate to have my kids go to Skyview.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2013

The school administration needs to do a better job preventing bullying and creating a more nurturing and challenging environment for students. This school seems to fall right in line with the overarching problems that face the entire NSD district. If you are thinking of moving to Nampa and have children be warned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2013

I'm a student that atttended all 3 years at East Valley Middle School in Nampa and was set up and very involved in Columbia's programs (both athletic and academic) and had developed a great relationship with all of my "future coaches" there. When my 8th grade year came around, I had qualified to take two classes at Columbia High School and had one of the worst school experiences that drug out the entire year. It became very evident that there was much more drug dealing present at Columbia than other high schools I knew much about. Starting on the first day, it became apparent that it was very much a preppy school with horrible teacher's who's only goal seemed to be to hand out a lesson and make it through the day to keep the students busy. Also, after years of continous failure in their football and basketball programs, the athletic director still refuses to replace the coaching staff. Unfortunately, the lack of coaching drags down all the way to the Middle School level where we had amazing potential and still didnt manage to win a single game in football or basketball all 3 years. When I finally began to realize this, I transfered to Skyview and have had the best experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2012

I believe Skyview High School in Nampa Idaho, out of the three high school's in Nampa, it is one of the best. I know lots of people impressed with this school, such as students, parents, and teachers. I reccomend this school for students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2010

this school is great and has a helping staff ready to work with your children


Posted September 11, 2009

One of the best school in the state. Great teachers and amazing sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

Our youngest son is thriving at Skyview. We observe a high level of professionalism, and there is good communication. The power school website is great for following academic progress. The longer class periods allow students to complete most of their 'homework' in class. The only drawback to this is that unless students take a lot of difficult AP classes, they won't be prepared for the amount of independent studying required when they get to college, especially if they choose a difficult science or math major. As parents of university students, our advice to our youngest son is to take as many AP classes as possible. We appreciate that Skyview offers plenty of choices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

I'm a 2007 graduate who went to Skyview for three years. While the school does offer a rather impressive array of classes I found that many of the teachers weren't -aloud- to run them as they should be. Administration put far to many rules on the teachers that completely made them helpless when it came to their students. Not only that, but Administration seemed far more worried about trivial things going on in other schools rather than focusing on their own. Also, the Academy system is one of the worst systems. All it does is limits a student's potential by severely narrowing the class options. The best thing to do is avoid getting stuck (yes, -stuck- they make it horribly difficult to change or get out of them) in the Academies. Also, taking AP courses is the best bet. The professionals that teach the AP courses are the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2008

I have had several children go through Skyview & have seen the school evolve over the last 5 years. The 1 thing that has not changed is the over funding of athletics & less funding for the academics & arts. Until we as parents make a big deal out of that, it will not change. The teachers that i have spoken with in the building feel the same, but have their hands tied as employees. We as parents in this community need to make the choice on what to support. I choose academics & the arts. What about you?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2008

I graduated in 2007, my personal experience at Skyview definitely had its ups and downs. In my opinion Skyview only has a handful of teachers that are willing to teach and challenge us. Yes the others do their job, but they let us slack off. If you get in to the higher AP and CP Classes, you usually get the good teachers. If you re looking for a place with a lot of social aspects, Skyview should be your first choice. I do wish that I got better preparation skills for going to college. Especially, my lovely procrastination skills that I learned, Now yes I do understand that it is partly the person, but when you re not challenged enough, or you feel like you re being dumb down one will start to slack off. If you want your children to be challenged move to Caldwell and have them attend Vallivue High School.


Posted January 8, 2008

as an overall experience, the standards at skyview high are very low. there isn't enough challenge for students. there is very little community involvement.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2007

this is absolutly the best school ever people, teachers, staff....everything is just awesome
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 20, 2007

We are just starting our sons freshman year... and so far... not impressed! No interaction with the new parents.. from day one! If i need to find out about my son and his classes. i would not know where to start. But this will change!! I will get involved. My son will not be a jock that connot read a 5th Grade book as a Senior because he could play football.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2006

Skyview is not the greatest school, but it is the lesser of two evils. It's true that athletics gets a lot of attetion, but the students enjoy that. What doesn't get enough attention is the school rules. Not very many students here really care about the school dress code or attendance policy. The administrators say they are going to crack down on it every year, but so far I haven't seen anything strictly enfourced. The greatest thing about Skyview is definately the teachers. -Vanessa Glover
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2006

I am a current student at Skyview High School. Let me just say that it isn't the greatest school out there, but it is the best one in Nampa. Yes, football gets all of the attention, and Jocks rule the school program, overall it is satisfactory. There are only about a handful of teachers and 2 counsolers that are really good. The others are just not as great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2005

Im a current student at Skyveiw and i hav liked the spirit toward their sports, this school shows that it has lotz of heart for it! Even tho band gets cutt out of funds.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2005

Of the four years that I went to Skyview I also saw most of the money poured into sports. When band and choir were using pre used uniforms and robes, football always had brand new uniforms. Its been five years from my graduation and I think they just recieved new uniforms and only because the parents and students raised the money for them. As far as the teachers go, all the teachers I had were great. Considering my father works there, I know for a fact that they are NOT IN IT FOR THE MONEY, nor for the three month vacation. Also for those of you who think they don't care for your future.... you must have had your head in the clouds for four years. I haven't met a teacher yet who isin't in it for the kids.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 1, 2005

Athletics definitely receives much of the funding, far more than the music programs. Education is totally lacking, and most teachers and faculty don't care about the students. When you find an exception, however, they are very noteworthy--there are three SHS teachers I make a point to stay in contact with after graduating 2 years ago, and will remain in contact with for years to come. I took advantage of AP classes to challenge myself, and took some courses at Nampa High, so I received the best that both schools had to offer, and none of the worst. This made my HS experience better than most students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 25, 2005

I am a student of Skyview. I refuse to put the school on a rating system because I do not know of other schools. I can say that much of the money is spent in athletics. 'Education' does not seem to be of too serious a subject for many of the teachers, however, there are many good teachers who would have the student body exceed if it were not the poor focus on education in the town of Nampa. I shun the town rather than the school. I attempt to grasp the many oppurtunities this school provides in hope of escaping to higher standards. I do not know how to compare the school, really. I suppose there are worse schools around, at least this one is growing in it's attempts to provide support for an education after high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 25, 2004

I currently go to skyview and i enjoy it for the most part. the social aspect of skyview is great but the school part it sad, the teachers dont care enough about the students, they are just there for the money. All skyview is really about is the sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 62% in 2013.

347 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2013.

332 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 72% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 89% in 2013.

279 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 24% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 25% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
9%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 38% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

The state average for Language Usage was 19% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
18%
Math

The state average for Math was 19% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
13%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 29% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students55%
Female59%
Male52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Special education13%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students60%
Female56%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Special education0%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female79%
Male79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Special education22%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students76%
Female80%
Male73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Special education21%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students81%
Female83%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Special education7%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female90%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Special education33%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students77%
Female76%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indiann/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Special education14%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students23%
Female44%
Male0%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
White29%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Special education0%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students32%
Female32%
Male31%
Hispanic39%
White32%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Special education8%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students56%
Female63%
Male46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
White64%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Special education30%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Language Usage

All Students15%
Female9%
Malen/a
Hispanic0%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged14%
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students19%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a

Reading

All Students27%
Female36%
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Idaho used the Idaho Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 10 in reading, math and language usage, and in grades 5, 7 and 10 in science. Students may also take the ISAT in grades 11 or 12 if they were not able to do so in grade 10. The scores from the spring administration are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The grade 10 ISAT is a high school graduation requirement. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering the specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Idaho. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Idaho Department of Education. If there are fewer than 11 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Idaho State Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 78%
Hispanic 23% 16%
Black 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1303 East Greenhurst
Nampa, ID 83686
Phone: (208) 498-0561

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT