Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
167 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Pauls Catholic School 1

Posted October 08, 2014
- a parent
Prior to coming to St. Paul's, our family had excellent experiences with both Catholic and public schools. Assuming that a private Catholic school would be focused on academics and whole child support, in alignment with this school's mission statement, we met with the principal and were told about the school's adherence to the new educational standards and about the school's commitment to excellence. We then asked around to members of the community we trusted, and they warned us to stay far away. However, we had previously had such a positive and rich experience with our last Catholic school, we went ahead and enrolled him. Then I started looking at the 'work' coming home with my child, which was at a lower level than he had done two years prior. No math, no reading, no writing, but lots of coloring. He also reported being bored at school, which he had never done before, and came home telling me about the Veggie Tales movies he watched in class. The last straw was when I found out the discipline 'plan' was to sit kids in a corner, facing the wall -all that was missing was the dunce cap. If you want your student to go to school in 1952, this is the place for you. Otherwise run.

St Pauls Catholic School 5

Posted April 22, 2012
- a parent
EXCELLENT is what I have to say about St.Paul's! I have a child attending St. Paul's since preschool, except for one year he attended public school. Attending public school was a good experience because my husband and I were able to see more of a comparison. Private/Parochial Schools we found much more challenging. Just the one year our son attended public school he was behind when he went back to St.Pauls. I also feel uniforms are a must these days and should be in all schools. Another thing I cannot emphasize enough on....and that is....getting a Catholic education is definitely a better choice than going to public school,I know from experience. Any school can teach about reading, math, science but schools should be more than just that. In this world of much social injustice and personal immorality, I can't help but feel St. Paul's or any Catholic education, gives students the strength to make right choices and gives them the conscience that they need. In a nutshell,I strongly believe that St.Paul's has so far helped shape and educate my child's thinking, his feelings, beliefs, his goals,aspirations and values in life. It is a precious gift, a Catholic education.


St Pauls Catholic School 5

Posted February 13, 2012
- a parent
A wonderful learning environment for all children. The teachers are great with the kids and each child is recognized for their abilities. As long as a parent is willing to become involved with their child's education, the rewards of attending this school are immeasurable and truly an investment in your child's future. In my ten years of involvement, I have never known of a child who did not benefit from the small community environment where everyone knows each other. A great start to any child's education.

St Pauls Catholic School 1

Posted December 10, 2011
- a parent
This school does not welcome disabled or special needs Children. The principle does not appreciate questions directed to him and is aggressive and rude to parents who question anything about the school. They have staff that humiliates kids who struggle. Its all about Money and test scores. They receive title 1 money but do not use it for special needs kids except for a cursory tutoring program that you have to go to a paid school service to even attend and then your kids are randomly selected. Kids who really need it are not allowed in some cases. If you are expecting to be treated with compassion and decency in this school and your child is less than perfect, think again.

St Pauls Catholic School 5

Posted June 03, 2010
- a parent
St. Paul's is a lovely school! The teachers are truly dedicated and go the extra mile to make sure each child is successful. It has a wonderful family atmosphere and I wouldn't think of sending my three children elsewhere. I moved my children from public school two years ago and can't believe the difference in their attitudes about school. They feel loved and nurtured at St. Paul's, like part of a big family.


St Pauls Catholic School 5

Posted January 06, 2010
- a parent
Both my children have attended this school and have excelled. It is always interesting to hear from parents who have left and report that their children are at the top of their class in their new public school. No surprise after St. Paul's provided them with the tools to excel. Another item is that the St. Paul's graduates overall do fabulously at Bishop Kelly high school. Overall, the teachers are top notch and the curriculum is outstanding. Well worth the time, money and extra effort it takes to give your children a worthwhile headstart.

St Pauls Catholic School 2

Posted July 17, 2009
- a parent
My child attended St. Paul's from K-2nd grade. Unfortuantely, I felt 2nd grade curriculum was not on target to prepare 2nd graders for 3rd grade. My opinion overall of St. Paul's school (1st-2nd grade) is marginal. I would recommend parents go visit the school and ask a lot of questions, meet the teachers, principal, sit in on teaching, etc. prior to making a decision. Having my child attend this school left me wondering if private schools truly have stronger academic programs, smaller class sizes, parent support, more structure and all those other rumors you hear about them. My child is now attending a public school where the class size is much smaller, teachers are younger, more enthuastic about teacher, fresh and creative ideas which stimulate the childs thought process and creativty. I and my child are much happier in the public school system. Just a thought...

St Pauls Catholic School 5

Posted May 02, 2007
- a parent
Quality of academic programs is excellent. teachers work hard to provide the best curriculum possible. Our kids constantly try to better themselves through their academics, and are throughly supported by the school staff, and parents alike.


St Pauls Catholic School 5

Posted February 04, 2004
- a parent
St. Pauls is made up of caring individuals who challenge students to go beyond their own expectations and always stive for the best in themselves and encourage them to serve others.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Pauls Catholic School
1515 8th Street South, Nampa, ID  83651
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (208) 467-3601
Last modified St Pauls Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top