Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jefferson Elementary School 4

Posted June 04, 2012
- a parent
In the last 2 years Jefferson Elementary has changed dramatically due to the replacement of a new principal. The school has an close community feel. Goals are set at the beginning of the year & assemblies throughout the year help motivate & keep the energy rolling. Yes there is a little bulling despite the efforts of a "stomp out bullying" attitude, but I hear that about many school in this town as well as surrounding towns. The teachers for the most part are amazing & really do their best with what they are provided. They do depend alot of the help of aids especially in Kindergarten & 1st grade. In the 3 yrs my child has attended there they are testing all year for the IRI's but really focus & fine tune in the 2nd half of the school. As far as parent involvement, thats an issue. If it comes to supporting their child in a field trip, math night, a music assembly, or bagels & books...the support is there. BUT trying to get help from parents in the PTO is a continuing struggle. It takes alot of effort & planning into putting together these fun activities together that unfortunately a majority of the parents ignore. Overally its a a school Im proud to say my son attends!

Jefferson Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2011
- a community member
Jefferson Elementary principal, teachers, and staff do whatever it takes to ensure that students learn the academic and social skills they need to be successful. Each day begins with a Morning Meeting that sets children up for a great day. This school is staffed by a group of dedicated professionals.


Jefferson Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2011
- a parent
Jefferson Principal and teachers are excellent. All students are supported and their extended kindergarten program helped my student get on track for success in first grade.

Jefferson Elementary School 5

Posted May 03, 2011
- a community member
The staff, teachers, and principal at Jefferson are excellent. The sense of community is really powerful. All students set learning goals and students are recognized during assemblies for reaching their goals.

Jefferson Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Jefferson Elementary School 5

Posted August 08, 2007
- a parent
The administration and teachers are very good to work with and have gone out of their way to make my three children feel welcome and accepted despite hardship in our family. KLP

Jefferson Elementary School 2

Posted July 25, 2007
- a parent
Jefferson elementary has a very poor attitude about teaching kids. I have found their teachers to be somewhat lazy, relying heavily on their assistants, and often failing to 'go the extra mile'. They are lacksadaisaical about teaching anything until right before the IRI's, then frenetically try to catch up with what they should have been doing all year. Discipline swings wildly from almost neglectful to severe. Not a good school. We are selling our house to try to get away from it.

Jefferson Elementary School 2

Posted June 20, 2007
- a parent
Bad Principle to judgmental of kids. Is not easy to work with at all. Doesn't listen. Transfered my children but teachers are pretty good.


Jefferson Elementary School 3

Posted May 23, 2007
- a parent
This school has one of the best principals I've ever met and the teachers are good too. But there is a lot of bullying in this school. Some very rough kids.

Jefferson Elementary School 1

Posted March 13, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jefferson Elementary School
1455 Gwen Dr, Pocatello, ID  83204
(208) 232-2914
Last modified Jefferson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jefferson Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top