Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,218 students|Pocatello District
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Century High School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted February 18, 2016
- a community member
Have not been aware of any of the teachers being particularly motivational or inspiring (yet).

Century High School 4

Posted February 18, 2016
- a community member
This school bills itself as academic and college-prep oriented, but we feel that's a bit of an exaggeration. Our daughter has completed two trimesters of 9th grade (including six honors classes). So far the teachers are fine, but very few provide a syllabus and even fewer stick to one. There is a place in the district's online grading system to define/describe each assignment, but we've only found one teacher who fills those fields in.


Century High School 1

Posted May 26, 2015
- a community member
Great building. Great math teacher. Terrible principal. Terrible head tennis coach. Go to highland, the building maybe older, but they have better administrative staff and better athletics.

Century High School 1

Posted April 03, 2012
- a parent
Very disappointed! My child was enrolled at Century and following a sporting event I read some facebook posts made by some students at CHS. The students at this school were vile and ranted and raved about things that nobody should every be proud of. Needless to say, my child transferred days later.

Century High School 4

Posted February 11, 2012
- a community member
Pretty good school. Nice facility and great teachers. My only problem is that the school is built on a hill like a prison complex near the freeway. No way out! All joking aside though. It's a great school.


Century High School 5

Posted October 23, 2011
- a student
Century is overall the best school in Pocatello and lots of room to keep growing. We have the best academics, as compared to Highland and Poky. Our sports aren't that great though.

Century High School 5

Posted February 27, 2011
- a student
Basically this place has the best building in the world. There are nice teachers, programs, and students. Everyone is involved. Plus their band is one of the best in the state!

Century High School 5

Posted May 16, 2005
- a parent
We have had children or grandchildren attend all three High Schools, all of the Middle Schools and several of the elementary schools in Pocatello as well as we have lived in several other states over the years. Century High School is far and above the finest school we have been associated with. Leadership is excellent, sports is no different here than anywhere else as far as the politics go. One area I think needs improvement is parent support, Diamondbackers booster club participation is terrible, we need to do better for the sake of the exceptional students that attend CHS. Main area of concern is the school budget, it is sad to have such a fine school and not have it fully staffed and funded! Go Diamondbacks!


Century High School 4

Posted April 25, 2005
- a parent
Century High School offers a generally adequate level of teachers. Most seem to be there for the benefit of the children as opposed to the paycheck. Sports programs are questionable, with coaching staffs that are degrading and intimidating, not only to the athletes but also to the parents. Promises are made and never kept. Good athletes are driven away from sports they excel in by coaching staffs interested only in the win as opposed to the enhancement of the skills. Questions from parents result in the athlete being threatened as to remaining on the team.

Century High School 5

Posted September 24, 2004
- a parent
Cetury High has been one of the best high school in south east Idaho, but sadly it is slowy starting to change. My son went there for the past three years, and enjoyed it. He said that the admistration there was superior to the other high school in town, because they made you fell like they care. They made me believe it too. But hopefully the school will stop changing and the students start making a difrence and stop the cliques, lead the freshmen to respect the school and save it. The administation can [not] do it by themselves.

Nearby schools

Century High School
7801 Diamondback Dr, Pocatello, ID  83204
(208) 478-6863
Last modified Century High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top