Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
1-5
Public district
Post Falls, ID
Students enrolled: 554
 

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ponderosa Elementary School 1

Posted January 12, 2014
- a parent
I was not at all impressed with this school. I believe the class sizes has a lot to do with the quality of interaction teachers can provide. My child was in a class with 27 students. This school regularly takes away children's recess time to cram more academic learning time into their day instead of allowing children to be outside, run,play and make friends. My child's teacher sometimes would call me and say only negative things about my child. One day my child had to be picked up from school early- they had never met or seen the person who picked her up yet they failed to ask for identification-SCARY!! My child's teacher also said extremely rude and negative things about my child to her grandmother when she came to a holiday event at the school. My child was miserable at this school she did not want to go often pretending to be sick to avoid going. My child was being bullied by children in her classroom and the teacher seemed to do nothing and even blamed my child for the way orher children treated her. The teacher obviously did not like my child nor have any extra time to give my child proper attention. I'm so glad my child no longer goes there!
1 person found this helpful

Ponderosa Elementary School 4

Posted October 08, 2013
- a community member
Ponderosa Elementary -- I felt like attention is paid to the safety of my grand-daughter. I like how there is a barricade at the office so you have to sign in and talk to an adult before you can get into the main area. I like how the secretaries wer attentive to the adults and the kids. It was nice to read information on the wall about the accomplishments of children and encouragement to be kind to each other.


Ponderosa Elementary School 5

Posted May 27, 2011
- a parent
Ponderosa has been fantastic for our son. Ms. Gilbert was an amazing 1st grade teacher and helped him grow beyond our expectations. The fact that in 2nd grade he cannot wait for what is in store for 3rd grade shows me that Miss Keane has pushed him to excel and he is so proud everyday. I've had the privilege to speak with Mrs. Baker and she has been kind and supportive of students and I'm grateful she is our principle.

Ponderosa Elementary School 1

Posted March 18, 2011
- a parent
My children attended this school and there was nothing but problems from faculity in the higher athority positions. Disapline matters never consistant. I have heard the same complaint from many parents. Would not recommend this school to anybody, which is sad because I also attended this school when i was young. It use to be a great school.
1 person found this helpful

Ponderosa Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2010
- a parent
Excellent school, great teachers, a principal that is outstanding. Best thing I have done for my son was to move into the Ponderosa area


Ponderosa Elementary School 3

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
Teachers are excellent, although lack of supplies inhibits their true ability. The principle, although well meaning, lacks polished delivery when dealing with parents. Academic programs are at grade level and not terribly challenging.

Ponderosa Elementary School 5

Posted April 11, 2010
- a parent
I would disagee. As a parent who has been around I would say that the principal cares immensely and works hard to keep the kids safe. She does not tolerate bullying- by kids or parents. I volunteer every week for two hours and I can tell you that the principal can't walk down the hallway without getting hugs from kids. As far as getting in the newspaper- the only thing I read in the paper are budget cuts to schools.

Ponderosa Elementary School 2

Posted April 10, 2010
- a parent
Principal is too militaristic but most teachers are pleasant. Ms Gilbert was a great teacher for our daughter. Principal does scare me. No warmth in her. Overcrowded and too much focus on beating other schools and getting in the newspaper at this school.
1 person found this helpful


Ponderosa Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ponderosa Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted March 31, 2009
- a parent
Excellent school. Wonderful staff and great teachers. Class sizes to high in some grades is hurtful, but they make the best of it. My kids love this school! I'm very happy with it too.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ponderosa Elementary School
3483 East Ponderosa Blvd, Post Falls, ID  83877
(208) 773-1508
Last modified Ponderosa Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 1-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ponderosa Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top