Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Addison Trail High School

Public | 9-12 | 1933 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 7, 2014

Addison Trail is an amazing school. For six consecutive years it has been rated as one of the Top Schools in America by news publications like the Washington Post, Newsweek and U.S. News and World Report. 90 percent of the senior class was accepted to a 2- or 4-year college last year. The classrooms and facilities are second to none. The staff is caring, hardworking and dedicated to making sure all students succeed. The students are outstanding and the community support is tremendous. Go Blazers!


Posted August 7, 2014

Addison Trail High School has so many great opportunities for students to become college and career ready - including multiple AP courses, activities, sports, and a variety of student support services to ensure student success in any field they choose.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 6, 2014

Addison Trail High School has a caring staff and the students do a great job. 90% of the students go on to a two or four year college or university upon graduation. The school has been ranked by Newsweek, The Washington Post and the USNews and World Report as one of the top schools in America for 7 years in a row The facilities are incredible


Posted June 20, 2014

This school had a 192 million dollar remodel and over the last ten years has ranked as one of the best in the nation. Amazing facilities throughout. This high school is second to none.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2014

AT has undergone a complete renovation, and is a modern and technologically up-to-date high school, with superb athletic facilities. Both of my daughters went there prior to the renovation. Both of them beat my ACT score, and went to better colleges than I did (both top 100 schools). My oldest daughter also attended a top 100 law school. I would recommend the school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 25, 2013

All of the reviews posted before this one were all written when the school was under construction, or before the school was considering re modeling. Now that the school is finished, I have to say that it is the most modern high school I have ever been in. The school turned out beautifully, and it seems like that the teachers attitude changed too. I always thought that the teacher were great, but apparently, they were not always as amazing as they are today.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 11, 2009

I would lean closer to the negative reviews on this site. I'm a parent, but I also worked at AT for a few years. The older teachers are great, but they're getting burnt out and they're retiring - the kids are getting too rough. The younger teachers leave once they get a few years of experience. It's not exaclty a war zone, but you do need street smarts to get by here. The administration can only do so much to keep things under control. It's true that they are spending some money to upgrade the building, but a facelift won't get rid of all of the problem students who make this a dreary place to be. I suppose if my kids didn't graduate from AT I'd give it zero stars, but sentiment makes me give it one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2009

How dare you say that about my school. Unfortunately, you had to see the school undergoing construction, which is why our school looks old and dingy. It will be repaired soon. In fact, Addison Trail offers more AP courses than most schools in the state ( i know because i work for a testing company). Many of the students and teachers at Addison Trail are good, hardworking, and dedicated people! And it does give a good education if the student chooses to take advantage of that, I in fact have been accepted to University of Illinois and many of my classmates have been excepted to such places such as University of Chicago, Northwestern, and Harvard. Don't say crap about a school unless you actually have the facts!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2009

I'm shocked at how old and dingy this school is. Obviously lack due to lack of funding lab classes are rarely held and there is not much in the way of equipment. Some of the teachers were excellent and others were not. Many of the students exhibited poor behavior, this is an issue that starts at home, so shame on the parents. This school could use some help and resources.


Posted November 15, 2008

Addison Trail high school Standards have dropped to a all time low! They offer very lttle in AP courses and offer every course in minority programs that produce below average results! - If you want to graduate from High School with absolutely no education! This is your dream come true! - What a sad state of affairs for a once proud High School that would scream A.T power! ...in the hallways!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2008

I was very disappointed in the education my children received. They often felt scared to go to school. I sent my last child to a private school so he wouldn't have to put up with the other kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

There are only a few teachers that actually care and try to teach their students...the new security system they just made is horrible...This school is not a great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2006

Everything was great. The academic programs were rigorous and the availability of after-school programs was excellent. My parents, as well as the parents of my firends were all very involved.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students47%
Female45%
Male48%
Black0%
Asian83%
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Low income36%
Not low income60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)2%
Students without disabilities53%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students51%
Female56%
Male46%
Black30%
Asian70%
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White66%
Low income40%
Not low income63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities57%
English language learners7%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students43%
Female40%
Male46%
Black0%
Asian70%
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White61%
Low income30%
Not low income57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)2%
Students without disabilities48%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

20

Graduation rate

88%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 52% 24%
White 38% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Black 3% 18%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Adam Cibulka

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

213 North Lombard Road
Addison, IL 60101
Phone: (630) 628-3302

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Marklund Day School
Bloomingdale, IL



Fenton High School
Bensenville, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT