Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Harry D Jacobs High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2014

Wow, the great schools rating makes me wonder about the site as a whole. I have two kids who attended here. It is a large school with all the problems that come with its size. The teachers are lackluster and inflexible and dealing with the administrators is impossible. They are always right...just ask them. The consulors do not return e-mails to parents or students. The sports are also fairly poor and the facilities are a joke, except for the new $5 mil admin building for the district. Our last child is headed to private school rather than Jacobs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2014

To start off, the teachers are average overall. Some teachers are absolutely great but if you get a bad one, watch out. The bad teachers are absolutely horrible and practically unbearable. At my particular time, the athletics were not the best. I think it is because our former athletic director only went to football, basketball, baseball, and major rival games. The administrators are a joke. They take things way too seriously and pretty much treat us like first graders. Do not even get me started on the signs hanging up saying things like "avoid a feud, do not throw food" or "Do not be rude throw away food" or "with pride walk on the right side" It is just ridiculous to treat us that way. Some classes you will learn while others you will sleep. It all varies based on the teacher of the class.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 19, 2013

Jacobs High School has been an experience I wouldn't wish upon anyone. I strongly believe the school could be better run by the students than it is by the overpaid "administration". The counselors have been less than helpful and it sometimes requires 4 to 5 emails for them to acknowledge you or write you back. To make an appointment with your counselor is a whole different story. You must fill out a piece of paper stating your reasons for the appointment and 9 times out of 10 they will look at you and say "we can't help you with that" or "that's not our problem". The teachers for the most part have been great. They help and care about you. It's the big whigs who have just run the place into the ground.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2013

There are some good teachers here, but not enough of them to outweigh the rest of the problems. The school lacks communication to parents and students. The rules and expectations change at the drop of a hat without warning. And if the student doesn't fit their mold, they do not want to deal with them. All in all, frustrating to interact with most administration as they don't want to hear that the school lacking in any way. If your child thinks outside the box, or has any special needs, or needs an organized environment with clear communication and expectations, look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

Terrible if you love your child enroll else were this school is so bad tired of unprofessial teachers who do not teach...day after day pulling children out of class to be searched and by the way they can do that for no reason and they do..... they are all out of line there is more then just bad teachers and staff the employee's which out tax dollars pay there salary I would not hire to walk my dog............let alne intrust with my child/teen
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2011

I have a daughter that graduated from Jacobs and is now a sophmorein college. She took honors and AP classes and because of those competitive classes she got A's in those classes in college. The teachers do prepare the studentsl well for college and don't hand out easy As. My second child is now a junior and taking the same challenging schedule along with actively participating in sports and band. I know that she will be well prepare for whatever college she decides to attend. At Jacobs, even if you are not college boung, they have options to prepare you for anothe type of career that doesn't involve a four year degree. Enjoy those choices while you can, because with the Illinois budget cuts, those class choices will not be available in the future. The coaches are not the greatest as far as sports go, but I rather my child get an academic scholarship like my daughter did than a sports scholarship.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2011

Teachers are terrible, district is terrible, there is nothing good at all about this school. Academically, they are extremely far behind. They have no control over the kids. I definitely recommend that you need to rethink sending your kid off to Jacobs; and move or send him/her to another school outside of D300! Stay as far away from that district as possible!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 6, 2011

This school has one of the worst sports programs available. The coaches constantly change and none of them have a passion for the sport they are coaching. They are only doing it for the extra $$. What ever happened to the days when children looked up to their coaches as a role model? Not at this school. They do not coach them or encourage them. We barely have enough kids try out for most of the teams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Teache quality is poor at best. Jacobs goal is to be average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

I graduated from the 'excellent' class of 2006. One thing I can say about Jacobs is if you're an honors student, it's very competitive. However, I went to college expecting to be completely overwhelmed and instead it was a 'this is it?' type feeling...I was prepared amazingly well. I participated in sports and extracurriculars and made great relationships with the teachers. Algonquin can be a bit snobby but overall I had a great experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 16, 2009

Jacobs is a great school! I graduated in 2006 along side a superior senior class. A few of us were accepted into top ten universities including Harvard, Northwestern, and Berkeley. I went to Berkeley and will be graduating this May! Thanks Jacobs!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2008

My son graduated from Jacobs and now my daughter is a freshman there. I love the school and teachers. Some teachers are very strict but with them you learn most. My kids have only good things to say about the school and all teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2008

I go to jacobs and love it! teachers are excellent and always happy to help. There are many extra-curricular activities, and very nice people. I would hate to go to any other high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2008

Jacobs is a great school, to be in it has great sports and the teachers there are the nicest people. Its one of the best schools around!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2008

What can be said about Jacobs? Unless you are in a sport or in everyone one of the clubs you are pretty much overlooked. Your best bet is to find a teacher and really impress them with your attitude, otherwise nnobody will know your name. the principal is great, he takes pride in his job and really tried to improve and help the students, the teachers on the other hand... are sometimes lacking. It's what you would expect from a public school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2008

Jacobs high school is a terrible school! Unless you're in honors courses, every other child is overlooked. Even in the two honors classes I am in, comparing it to other students' courses who are in 'regular' classes, it really is all the same. Honors in Jacobs does not mean anything. You're way better off sending your child to another school. Especially when it comes to college; Jacobs prepares nothing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2007

Its very over crowded. Its very hard to get where you need to be on time. The teachers are very nice and helpful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 6, 2007

If you aren't in honors classes, most teachers write you off. This includes most advance classes. This school did not help me prepare for college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2007

Jacobs is a joke, they cater to the top 10 percent otherwise they just push your child through the system. If you have a 'challenged' child run as fast as you can the other way, clear to another district. The sport program is a joke, again, just like the learning program, it's great if you are a favorite of the coach or your parents are on the booster club. I have know idea how Jacobs received the rating it has so far. Believe me, I'm being nice with this review.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

Wonderful School With Terrific Staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female61%
Male69%
Black58%
Asian80%
Hispanic41%
Multiracial60%
Native Americann/a
White68%
Low income42%
Not low income69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)23%
Students without disabilities68%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female68%
Male65%
Black50%
Asian83%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial80%
Native Americann/a
White69%
Low income58%
Not low income69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)27%
Students without disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students65%
Female61%
Male69%
Black42%
Asian87%
Hispanic40%
Multiracial70%
Native Americann/a
White69%
Low income46%
Not low income69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)25%
Students without disabilities69%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

22

Graduation rate

93.2%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 51%
Hispanic 16% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Black 3% 18%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2601 Bunker Hill Drive
Algonquin, IL 60102
Website: Click here
Phone: (847) 532-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Dundee-Crown High School
Carpentersville, IL



Oak Ridge School
Carpentersville, IL


Oak Ridge Rssp
Carpentersville, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT