Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 66 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Harry D Jacobs High School 5

Posted July 07, 2016
- a student
So much support from the staff and teachers. The amount of offerings my daughter had was endless from the sports and arts to music and extracurricular. So happy my daughter enjoys it at HDJ.

Harry D Jacobs High School 5

Posted June 27, 2016
- a student
The school offers many extracurricular activities. D300 also newly introduced to pathways program which are courses students can take that earns them college credit.


Harry D Jacobs High School 1

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
I had to pull my child out and pay for a private school. Class sizes are to large and the teachers don't care about the kids. Sad!

Harry D Jacobs High School 2

Posted March 24, 2015
- a student
So I went to this School so I could learn at my own pase. But instead I went to classes with bullies and people who can not keep their hands to themselves. This School does not place people in the classes they need. The teachers are great and I liked all of my teachers. The problem was the other students. The students that needed extra help like myself had to go to class with trouble makers and people who did not want to learn. I just do not like the way some of the programs at this school were ran.

Harry D Jacobs High School 1

Posted February 07, 2015
- a student
The main problem with this school is some of the counselors and the administration itself. During my senior year, my counselor refused to change my schedule two weeks before the school year began, because the year before the particular AP class I wanted to enroll in was only offered once. The next year it was offered twice, so I could have Senior release with that. Counselor refused, then I contacted the head counselor, and he assured me that my counselor was wrong. At the end of the school year, my GPA was at about a 3.4. I wanted to know from my counselor that if I got all A's, then my GPA would boost to 3.5 or higher. For some stupid reason of wanting to feel accomplished in something, I really put a lot of effort to get the Honors medal. Counselor said that he would not check, and that its not a big deal. I asked if he could just check, refused and told me that he would not respond to more messages from me. I graduate and get all A's and a 3.5 GPA. No medal, and he even gave me a mean dirty look at the graduation ceremony. Nice standards on counselors Jacobs. My mother contacted the administration, and they either did not respond or said that they did not care.


Harry D Jacobs High School 3

Posted August 25, 2014
- a parent
Wow, the great schools rating makes me wonder about the site as a whole. I have two kids who attended here. It is a large school with all the problems that come with its size. The teachers are lackluster and inflexible and dealing with the administrators is impossible. They are always right...just ask them. The consulors do not return e-mails to parents or students. The sports are also fairly poor and the facilities are a joke, except for the new $5 mil admin building for the district. Our last child is headed to private school rather than Jacobs.

Harry D Jacobs High School 3

Posted May 09, 2014
- a student
To start off, the teachers are average overall. Some teachers are absolutely great but if you get a bad one, watch out. The bad teachers are absolutely horrible and practically unbearable. At my particular time, the athletics were not the best. I think it is because our former athletic director only went to football, basketball, baseball, and major rival games. The administrators are a joke. They take things way too seriously and pretty much treat us like first graders. Do not even get me started on the signs hanging up saying things like "avoid a feud, do not throw food" or "Do not be rude throw away food" or "with pride walk on the right side" It is just ridiculous to treat us that way. Some classes you will learn while others you will sleep. It all varies based on the teacher of the class.

Harry D Jacobs High School 1

Posted December 19, 2013
- a student
Jacobs High School has been an experience I wouldn't wish upon anyone. I strongly believe the school could be better run by the students than it is by the overpaid "administration". The counselors have been less than helpful and it sometimes requires 4 to 5 emails for them to acknowledge you or write you back. To make an appointment with your counselor is a whole different story. You must fill out a piece of paper stating your reasons for the appointment and 9 times out of 10 they will look at you and say "we can't help you with that" or "that's not our problem". The teachers for the most part have been great. They help and care about you. It's the big whigs who have just run the place into the ground.


Harry D Jacobs High School 2

Posted February 24, 2013
- a parent
There are some good teachers here, but not enough of them to outweigh the rest of the problems. The school lacks communication to parents and students. The rules and expectations change at the drop of a hat without warning. And if the student doesn't fit their mold, they do not want to deal with them. All in all, frustrating to interact with most administration as they don't want to hear that the school lacking in any way. If your child thinks outside the box, or has any special needs, or needs an organized environment with clear communication and expectations, look elsewhere.

Harry D Jacobs High School 1

Posted January 26, 2012
- a parent
Terrible if you love your child enroll else were this school is so bad tired of unprofessial teachers who do not teach...day after day pulling children out of class to be searched and by the way they can do that for no reason and they do..... they are all out of line there is more then just bad teachers and staff the employee's which out tax dollars pay there salary I would not hire to walk my dog............let alne intrust with my child/teen

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harry D Jacobs High School
2601 Bunker Hill Dr, Algonquin, IL  60102
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 66 reviews. (847) 532-6100
Last modified Harry D Jacobs High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top