Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Viator High School

Private | 9-12 | 237 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Arlington...

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $254,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2014

I don't agree with the above comments of bullying. I also must say that kids who struggle academically get FAR better one on one than ANY public school. This is mainly because the student teacher ratio is far better than any public school. I don't think there's a school in America that has zero bullying. My son saw first hand how bad it was in the public schools, and he has said since being at Viator he's seen next to no bullying. All in all, with Viator, I believe my kids are getting a better education and the school reinforces the faith based morals and values we have for our children. That's one thing you will never see happen at public schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2014

Education is adequate, however not worth the tuition. I also agree that there is a lot of bullying going on here. Administration ignores it mostly, especially if the students parents are big donors. We took our kids out of here, because we realized that if we have to spend this much money on tuition for average education, they might as well be in public school. I am happy to report that they are on honor roll, just as they were in Viator ' s , but without the bullying. My advice: save your money for a good university.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2013

Good school academically, but you'll get a good education at public school as well since private school isn't necessary in the Chicago suburbs as it would be in the inner city. Agree with the comment below about this being a good school for your young adult if they're of average or above average intelligence, but not so much if they have special needs. Public schools do have better services for a student who struggles in some areas. Mostly good teachers, and some good kids, but unfortunately there is a lot of bullying. There are plenty of nasty, spoiled, and mean students who are unkind to other students and do not respect teachers. I'm sure this happens at other schools, but I feel it is far worse at St. Viator. The school relies on donations from parents, so many times, a blind eye is turned. There is a strong sense of entitlement amongst students that they can do whatever they want and get away with it. That is my only complaint about this school is that some of the students and their awful behavior really take away from the overall fine quality of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

I, along with many family members, attended this school in the 90s and can attest to it having been a comparatively excellent college prep high school. If we measure a school not only by its test scores, but on the pupils' long-term achievement, we must say that it's a fine school. The vast majority of my former classmates are successful professionals who have begun the next chapter of adult life, many with families, some, like myself, without. Viator's AP track of studies was oftentimes as or more difficult than courses taken as a college undergrad, yet I can't speak to the teachers for the average track.yes, the religion focus went against logical thought , but hey, as an adult i 'm agnostic and haven't felt the need to enroll myself in therapy as a result of my high school teachers or admin. I'd say my experience was overall positive.


Posted April 14, 2011

St. Viator is an excellent school whose first priority is alignment with Christian values. The added value at St. Viator is an academic curriclum and committed teachers that prepare students well for success in college and beyond. If you believe your teen should learn to be a faithful Christian who is respectful, responsible, accountable and willing to serve St. Viator is a good choice. If such qualities are not a priority your student truly is probably better in one of the public schools where high tax dollars provide the means to learn everything but Christianity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2011

The students at this school are nasty and mean. For a catholic school the kids are mean. They bully other students by humiliation, teasing and threats. The students are not held accountable for their actions. I do not recommend this school. The faculty and staff ignore the bullying and cyber-bullying because it is a private school who relies on donations from the parents and alumni. Thus, kids are not held accountable for their actions. Also, the teachers are not good. You are better off going to a public school where the teachers are paid well and the education is much better. There are better classes, more AP and honors classes at the public school. Also, the teachers are better. Save your money. This school is full of a bunch of spoiled children who treat each other terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2009

My children have received an excellent education at St. Viator High School. They have received a lot of individual attention because the school is a quarter of the size of the public high schools. The teachers really care about the students. The school also emphasizes the formation of each students' Christian faith and moral values, both of which cannot occur in a public school. The Christian ethics course they take during senior year is an outstanding course that includes debate over 2 dozen controversial issues of importance to all of us. Students are free to share their opinions at this point in their faith journey, but the church's position is clearly stated. My last child graduates in May 2010 and I believe that each of my children has been well prepared for college and life at St. Viator High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

St. Viator High School is an excellent school. I have had 4 children attend this high school and I highly recommend it to all parents who desire to send their children to a school where their children will be known, have opportunities to participate in a variety of experiences, and be taught by caring teachers with caring (though strict, which I consider a good quality) administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2009

This school drains the very creativity and individuality that a school should be promoting. The highest form of learning is from life experience. Saint Viator High School robs its students of these experiences by trying to make tough choices for them. Though this may seem like a postive quality that relieves stress on the student, it fails to properly preparing the student for the real world, post-Saint Viator. I don't mean to be cynical, and i don't mean to be mean. But as a realistic, i do mean to say 'don't' send your child to this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 28, 2007

The school's administration is accessible and caring, and seems to genuinely want ALL the students to succeed. There is good communication, and many opportunities for students and parents to get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2007

This school is excellent! It has a great staff that respects their students and has a good disciplinary program. Students have fun and the sports are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Hispanic 4% 24%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 2% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Eileen Manno
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1213 East Oakton Street
Arlington Heights, IL 60004
Phone: (847) 392-4050

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. James Junior High School
Arlington Heights, IL


St James School
Arlington Heights, IL


Thomas Middle School
Arlington Heights, IL


Miner School
Arlington Heights, IL


St Peter Lutheran School
Arlington Heights, IL


Christian Liberty Academy
Arlington Heights, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT