Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
6-8
Public
Arlington Heights, IL
Students enrolled: 857

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


South Middle School 5

Posted October 26, 2014
- a parent
South is a tremendous middle school. The outstanding dedicated teachers, wonderful principal and administrative leaders, friendly office staff, and positive environment are an asset to the AH community. The academics at South are superb. This school truly embraces innovation and its role in today's classroom and curriculum. We love that South is always looking to improve upon what we think is already a fabulous place for kids to learn and grow. Bravo Cardinals!

South Middle School 3

Posted April 22, 2014
- a community member
My school is South Middle School. The school may be doing a good job academically, but it's staff has been doing a poor job of demonstrating how to be a good neighbor and a good citizen. A few examples. When the school s parking lot is plowed, rather than using its two block square open field, the snow is pilled high on adjacent the public sidewalk, making it impassible. Aggregate scraped from the asphalt during plowing is deposited on the walkway and not cleared after the snow melts. Bike riding students don t observe basic traffic laws on streets or when using the walkways. Each day I see them ignoring stop signs, and/or approaching pedestrians from behind without sounding an alert Supervisors of outdoor track activities start races with starter pistols, disturbing the peaceful enjoyment of the surrounding properties with sounds of gunshots. The school is posted banning dogs, but doesn't enforce district policy unless it interferes with a class. Off-leash dogs are frequently exercised on this property, due to lack of enforcement. Those who attend South Middle Schools are learning to lack consideration for the community.


South Middle School 5

Posted August 22, 2010
- a parent
South Middle School has an excellent caring staff that is available to give extra help to students when needed. My daughter has had an enjoyable 6th & 7th grade years and is looking forward to 8th grade. She has been challenged and I know she will be ready for high school when the time comes.

South Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Has won several Science Olympiad titles and has an awesome 8th grade science class projects that have resulted in solar panels and occupancy sensors for the schools.

South Middle School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
South academics and extra circular activities are fantastic. Both of my girls enjoy school, and are having a great middle school experience. I couldn't ask for better!


South Middle School 4

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
South has a wonderful, caring staff and a great community of parents and students!

South Middle School 5

Posted September 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

South Middle School 5

Posted August 27, 2009
- a parent
South middle school is a great school for kids. My kids love it there and wouldnt want to be anywhere else! the teachers are all so helpful and really care for there students! its wonderful!


South Middle School 3

Posted June 01, 2009
- a parent
South Middle School has nice physical facilities and professional administrative staff however the teacher quality is highly inconsistent. If one is unlucky, it will be a long, disappointing year. This has been the case for both our children and our neighbors as well. Accessubg honors programs is good. Accessing assistance for children with special needs, however, is very difficult. This is a big disappointment overall, as our experience at the elementary school was outstanding.

South Middle School 5

Posted March 15, 2009
- a student
I am a seventh grader from South Middle School and I absolutely love it! I used to go to Wayside and i was depressed. Most kids were in the 'Popular' clique. I transfered in sixth grade and i have made many friends!! i have also been learning many things that Wayside did not have to offer. The extra curricular is just amazing!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

South Middle School
400 South Highland Avenue, Arlington Heights, IL  60005
(847) 398-4250
Last modified South Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
South Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top