Advertisement
Advertisement

St Peter Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 496 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Arlington...

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $254,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 10, 2014

Unsafe bullying school. The school has had a good anti-bulling policy on paper and they inform parents about it, but the school will not enforce it. The school has a chronic problem of telling victimized families what they want to hear just to get them off the school s back, while nothing is being done. Thus for the most part they don t seek, confront, correct, or remove bullies, numerous following bystanders, and their parents. And they don t follow up on victimized children & parents. The parent in the previous review also appears to reflect some of this experience. We should have considered going to the police for guidance and for their possible intervention. Thank goodness for this website.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

Our family did experience bullying and inappropriate repeated behavior from other students directed at our child. We tried to work with the administration and board to resolve the problems, they were not helpful or cooperative. Many students have left the school due to unresolved bullying issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2013

St Peter Lutheran School Arlington Heights, is a terrible long tem Bullying school. The new governance board & sr pastor have finally acknowledged LONG term bullying to the congregation & are trying to end it.. As a whole it is a bullying atmosphere fostered by some employees and families. Bullies are not professionally sought out or removed. Bystander students follow the bullies. As long as the kid is happy by being a bystander or bully then things are fine with the parents. Bad employees are not sought out, disciplined or removed. Bullies can be from prominent families and some from employee families, & also find victimized families from regular & some employee families. Our kid was terribly bullied. Never trust the school with false words of zero tolerance . If your kid is bullied then report it to the Arlington Hts Police Dept, because in the past this school turned a blind eye. It is not a safe school. If bullied in the past or present, then share it here to help other. Also report it to the SP governance board and sr pastor. You can forgive but all bullying of the past and present must face the consequences. There is no statute of limitations on this harm to children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2012

I have 4 children at St Peter and I have been pleased with the education they received. The teachers are approachable and have high standards for all the students. The principal has leadership skills. Although I am not a member of the church affiliated with the school we feel welcomed and very much part of the school. I think that is important for parochial schools since so many of them have a invisible wall between member and non-members. I guess lutheran schools do share Chist as they say thay do , well at least this one does.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

A School where the Teachers and the Administrators really care about your kids and providing the best education holistically , keeping academics, faith and programs are well balanced. The Prinicpal Mr Rudi is a terrific administrator and I truly believe he is going to take this school to the next level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2010

My two children started here since preschool and I have progressed academically. They have the best preschool program in Arlington Heights. The teachers and staff are all amazing with children and are well qualified in their field. This school feels more like a family-oriented environment. It breaks my heart when I hear them talk about the stories in the bible. I have recommended this school to my friends and family. My youngest son will be attending preschool next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2004

I have 4 children spanning a decade of learning at the same time. All levels of this school are excellent. One serious advantage to a small private school is the personal involvement each student receives. This school has consistently supplied the high school district with the best report card upon entry in all areas of testing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 60%
Asian 4% N/A
Black 1% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 16%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Bruce Rudi
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Fax number
  • (847) 259-4185

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

111 West Olive Street
Arlington Heights, IL 60004
Website: Click here
Phone: (847) 253-6638

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Olive-Mary Stitt School
Arlington Heights, IL


Thomas Middle School
Arlington Heights, IL


St James School
Arlington Heights, IL


St. James Junior High School
Arlington Heights, IL


Christian Liberty Academy
Arlington Heights, IL


St Viator High School
Arlington Heights, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT