Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Waubonsie Valley High School

Public | 9-12 | 2557 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2013

What a great program - 2800 student population allows opportunity for all students... not just the elite few. Strong school spirit, and a great sense of pride in what they are able to accomplish. Teachers are more tenured here, having the experience to deal with the challenges of educating a wide range of students. Music program is amazing - Sports teams always perform well - Just a well-rounded educational and social experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

I graduated from Waubonsie a few years ago and am now a student at a top-rated university where the a large number of the students came from the best private schools around the world. A lot of them are very intelligent people, don't get me wrong, but I honestly do not feel that they got a better education than I did at Waubonsie. I never realized what a wonderful school Waubonsie was before coming to college. It really did prepare me quite well. Also, I have yet to hear of another high school that is as intensely focused on and proud of its music program. Grammy Award Winning! I still miss our orchestra. It's really a bit disillusioning to realize that my college's supposedly wonderful symphony orchestra is no where near as good. Not to mention Waubonsie's choirs! I didn't participate myself, but I'm still proud to know that the show choir placed 1st nationally. There are so many incredible academic, performance, and interest-based clubs at Waubonsie, many of which frequently win very prestigious awards. Not to mention far more AP classes than one could take in four years. If you work hard, I can't imagine a better place for you to be for high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2010

The teachers go out of their way to help kids that are having trouble with classes. My daughter came after the start of the year and was welcomed warmly. She loves it there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2010

this is a all around great school i mostly loved the sports in this school, mostly football. it has lots of talent in it players and coaches. it's amazing to see how people from all different races will come together and form a outstanding football team. wont be suprised to see some serious college football players come out of here. also cant wait for the new turf field to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

We love the teachers and the staff at Waubonsie! We transferred from another high school into Waubonsie this year and we love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2010

I could not be happier with Waubonsie. My child is an AP student and loves his teachers and the classes he takes. Their music department is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

The teachers at Waubonsie are so commited to teaching and the learning environment is great. Waubonsie has great a great athletics program and many extracurriculars to chose from. Our grammy winning music department travels all over the world. WVHS is a super friendly and multicultural school, whith tons of different varieties of students and teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2008

We have a senior and freshman at WVHS. This school is excellent, although large at 4500 -5000 students. It has done it's part in making our senior a successful young man. The school has a multiple Grammy winning music program. This school is undergoing some significant change, as the district (ipsd 204) is opening a 3rd HS, with about 40% of the students at WVHS moving to the new school. The student population will shrink, and the boundry changes will lead to less diversity. Our daughter will be at the new school as a soph, we wish she was staying at WVHS. All 204 HS are excellent. As you look at Naperville you may hear that Nequa is the better school. The fractional differences between test scores is tiny, and with the new borders it will disappear.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

I just graduated from Waubonsie this year (2008), and I have to admit the school's enviornment was great! I felt very comfortable, as well as welcomed. There are so many after school activities from football to badmitton, and student council to Anime club. You name it, Waubonsie has it. Academics are great too. I was able to participate in a Human Genome Lab for the genetics class, (which by the way, Waubonsie is the only school in Illinois to provide this experience) And of course the planetarium, which not many schools have. Although it is sad to say that the students on the other hand, were quite clique-ish. The 'rich' kids had their own group and were highly unfriendly. But other than that, I have no complaints what so ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2007

It is a great experience to have teens studying at Waubonsie because the whole staff is very attentive, responsible and very much interested in the progress of all students, specially the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

waubonsie is an amazing school. the kids are amazingly rich there and everybody is so friendly. the academics are very good. they also have amazing science & math programs. my two children go there and I always get positive feedback. I'm glad their father and I decided that we would send them there. its one of the best schools in the nation. -- Melissa
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2007

WVHS seems abandoned by the school district administration. There are many excellent programs, but parents have to be 100% involved to manage their kids through it. Many teachers at WVHS are great, but getting burned out. The school district administration leadership is non-existant. Communication from the school administration is also non-existant compared to other suburban schools. We have 2 children in attendance, one graduate, one in middle school. Not sure I want to send her to WVHS since I want more than the minimum. WVHS was the jewel at one point. Now they are going to eliminate the Freshman campus (a real plus) and set aside a few classrooms in the main building as a freshman campus. The freshman campus was a huge plus in many parents' eyes. The diversity of the school is great, but more support programs need to be in place -- upper and lower 'level.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2007

My child attended one year at WVHS. There are too many kids in the school, the leadership from the administration is non-existant, the teachers are burnt out and there are constant fights between the students, especially at the Green campus. As a result, the academic environment suffers. The kids are very clicky and unwelcoming to newcomers. We had a foreign exchange student with us the one year my child was at the school and she never felt much kindness from the student body.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2007

I was a little apprehensive about our daughter going to this school at first. We adopted her and she has very limited english. But the teachers and guidance counselors have adjusted the curriculum for her so as to help her in her studies. The ESL program is a 'god send' for all of the students that are able to take this course of study. We are very happy with the District and the programs of this school. It is good to see that the district is well supported with the property tax and that they are able to offer so much for all of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

The quality of programs is great, especially foreign language and the arts. Great facilities on campus. High level of parental involvement.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 13, 2006

Excellent acedemic, sports, student activities, parental involvement. An outstanding school, I would have loved to have attended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2006

this is a great school. the parents are always geting notices of what is going on and how they can help, i havent had any problems yet
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2006

I think the teachers at Waubonsie are very good. There is a strong social studies and math department here, and there are lots of extracuricular activites, so much that I can't even name all of them. There are clubs for everyone and our music department is one of the best around.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 30, 2005

This is an excellent school! Waubonsie Valley provides it students with a private school quality education. The facilities are top - notch, great extra-cirricular activites for students. Very positive experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2005

So far so good. My DD is a freshman. The only problem I see is there have been alot of fights and her bus doesn't seem to come when her regular bus driver is absent. You can communicate to their teacher via email and they respond quickly and efficiently which is a plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female71%
Male74%
Black40%
Asian90%
Hispanic42%
Multiracial86%
Native Americann/a
White83%
Low income42%
Non-low income81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)27%
Students without disabilities76%
English language learners29%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female75%
Male70%
Black47%
Asian83%
Hispanic46%
Multiracial77%
Native Americann/a
White82%
Low income44%
Non-low income80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)29%
Students without disabilities76%
English language learners14%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students71%
Female70%
Male71%
Black39%
Asian83%
Hispanic42%
Multiracial86%
Native Americann/a
White82%
Low income43%
Non-low income79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)29%
Students without disabilities74%
English language learners14%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

23

Graduation rate

96.7%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 4%
Black 13% 18%
Hispanic 12% 24%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2590 Ogden Avenue
Aurora, IL 60504
Website: Click here
Phone: (630) 375-3300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

East High School
Aurora, IL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT