Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Joseph Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 16 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Aurora

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $51,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 15, 2013

St. Joseph is awesome!! I went their and now my kids go their. No other place I would send them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

I love my school it is so fun and nice and I have gone there since 1st grade and going on to fifth made a lot of friends and they do lots of fun stuff


Posted November 27, 2011

I have been teaching at St. Joseph Catholic School for 10 years. If you want your child to receive a world class education but who also teach your child as an individual St. Joseph is the school to be at. I teach your child's mind and spirit. I take full responsibility for my students' education. I give all my students a quality education by teaching them to "master" the material. I also understand each child and understand that they are individuals ... I do not compare them to another student or a sibling I have taught. We got a new principal this school year and she has incorporated several positive changes. Come and tour our school. I look forward to teaching your child. Mrs. Kathy Kamphaus 7th Grade Teacher
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 26, 2011

Great school. Great staff and principal. We just had our Preschool teacher nominated and featured in our local newspaper, The Beacon News. She's a fantastic lady, as are the other teachers. If you are moving to Aurora, IL and can afford a private education for your child(ren) please look at St Joseph Catholic school. You can not go wrong. Schedule a tour today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

This is an outstanding school with great families and a wonderful staff. I have been a teacher at Saint Joseph since 2004. I am always willing to talk to any new family with questions about Saint Joe's. Please come see for yourself all that Saint Joseph has to offer.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 10, 2011

I have worked at St. Joseph School now many years. I have worked in many different roles within the school. I believe this to be and outstanding environment to work with. The staff I work with is fantastic. I believe our teachers always go the extra mile to work with each and every student and their needs.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 10, 2011

I believe St. Joseph to be a great school. It is so nice to see teachers in the school who believe in the message St. Joseph is sending out. It is wonderful to see past graduates of the school come back and teach at the school. This shows great dedication and devotion to the school. I currently have my young child enrolled in preschool and cannot wait to send my other children to this school in the years to come. I only see good things coming with the future of this outstanding school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2009

its a very great school it has good education
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

I have a hard time with a school where no real social studies is taught until grade 4, except in a very vague way. Math is taught in the lower grades in a class environment. Reading scores are low. The principal has been at the school since 1968, and has been principal for over 15 years. Parents are not friendly except to alums. Favorites are played. There are 4+ other Catholic schools in the area that do a better job than St. Joseph. I urge parents to consider them instead of St. Joseph.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

Both of my daughters have been there since preschool and I just love the enviroment and the advanced education that the teachers and principal provide but specially the good principals
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 65% 24%
White 30% 51%
Black 5% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Nancy Coughlin
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Rockford
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

706 High Street
Aurora, IL 60505
Phone: (630) 844-3781

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT