Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Aurora, IL
Students enrolled: 1,064
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Henry W Cowherd Middle School 2

Posted July 06, 2013
- a community member
The problem (s) with this school is both the staff and students. The students (most of them) have literally no respect for Authority whatsoever. I grew up in this neighborhood since I was 8, It's a tough and crime infested area. I can see why the students don't care, there's no positive role models around them. I was also one of the few white students here as well, it taught me to defend myself because I was usually beaten up regularly the first week. After a while, it stopped. The problem with the staff is, they don't care what happens as long as they get their paycheck at the end of the month. This is not a place for white people, unless you live in the area. The education lacks in areas, unless you're in the ELL program. Overall, I give it a 4/10

Henry W Cowherd Middle School 1

Posted March 22, 2010
- a parent
The school will never admit there fault and just like to outcast the children other then stepping up and teaching.


Henry W Cowherd Middle School 1

Posted June 02, 2009
- a parent
If your child has an IEP, they will never reach a higher grade level that they entered the school with. No school bus system. Teachers do not call you if your child gets hit, kicked, potientially failing a class or classes. Also no consequence for students beating up other students on a every day basis. Even with multiple parents frantic calls and complaints.

Henry W Cowherd Middle School 2

Posted August 22, 2008
- a parent
The office staff is extremely rude, they talked to me like I was stupid. My daughter did not feel safe and had to transfer her out. If you can get past the staff talking down to you, and show some interest in your child and have no other options, It is O.K at best.

Henry W Cowherd Middle School 2

Posted November 19, 2007
- a community member
This school has some nice teachers.


Henry W Cowherd Middle School 3

Posted September 18, 2006
- a parent
This school is really nice. They dont have great teatching staff or students but about 20% of the students are really smart and have got really good futers. This school has way to manny fights.

Henry W Cowherd Middle School 5

Posted January 09, 2004
- a student
I think this is a great school because the teachers are great, the students are great, and untill I went there I never liked school but over there I wanted to go to school, couldnt wait to go back.

Henry W Cowherd Middle School 4

Posted May 06, 2003
- a community member
A very caring staff that struggles with a lack of meaningful parental support. Students are well behaved and the use of block periods allows the teachers more flexibility to continue classes if they need more time.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Henry W Cowherd Middle School
441 North Farnsworth Avenue, Aurora, IL  60505
(630) 299-5900
Last modified Henry W Cowherd Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Henry W Cowherd Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top