Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Olney C Allen Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 866 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2013

This school does everything they can with the resources they have. Given a better opportunity and resources the school would thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

This school has great potential. I think there is a high percentage of parents who believe the school is solely responsible for the education of their children. Let's step up to the plate.


Posted July 9, 2013

I was here ever since preschool till 5th grade and now i moved district and now i go to district 204. And i love that school its always a school ill never forge -janelli parra


Posted June 10, 2013

I was a preschool and kindergarten student here in 2005 and 2006, I'm 12 years old now. I really like Mrs.Potenberg (although I wasn't the best student,) I wish I could keep in contact with my old teachers... but I moved to Alaska 5 years ago. Oh well. -Kelli Anne D.-


Posted November 21, 2008

I wasn't going to write anything but after looking at the scores in Reading, Math and Science for the last three years and seeing those statistics, I could not help but to comment. Those of you who have children attending a school in a district that not only hasn't exceeded average in scores but hasn't even met average in three core academic areas. This is truely appalling, you parents are the ones that need to stand at city hall and demand to know where your tax dollars are being spent...not in that school my friends. Three principles in 5 years, something smells bad. Check under the tab 'Test Score' at the top for yourself. WOW. Very sad that there aren't even scores to compare with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I have two children @ OC Allen. My oldest is in first grade&my youngest is in Pre-K4. I feel so blest to have had the opporunity for my children to attend school in district 131. Both children have been part of the 'free' preschool program which is fabulous. I love that our Grade School&district participate in the Character Counts and PBIS programs. I feel OC Allen offers a positive environment to our children. The teachers are informed & available, the vice principal & principal are engaged. What makes our district special is that it promotes community school unity w/ after school activities that bring all the school in dist 131 together. My 1st grader, reads like a champ and has been adding and subtracting since late Pre-K4 & early K. My Pre-K4 is starting to read and loves to print her letters and count. Everyday I sing OC Allen's/District praises.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

I have been very happy with my children's education at Allen School. I particularly believe that the leadership provided by Mrs. Mink and Mr. Rodriguez has helped set a high standard for the teachers and the students. It is too bad that Mrs. Mink is leaving Allen School. She was a wonderful principal and she will be missed. The school district should do more to keep quality leaders like her. I am also disappointed that Mr. Rodriguez is not going to be the next principal. I am hoping the new principal will keep his/her expectations high for the teachers and students so Allen can continue to be the kind of school where I am proud to send my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

Both of my children and my husband attended and attends Olney C Allen School in Aurora Illinois. In my opinion it is not the area that makes the school successful, but the dedication from the the faculty and the students. Allen continues to make tremendous strides in the area of improvement. This year (2008) has proven to be a excellent year in the way of education for my daughter. Mrs. Callahan really has challenged her third grade class in everyway. As dauting as it is on me as a parent, I appreciate her pushing the children to make them go the extra mile. These are the children that hold our future and every child deserves the right to be the reciepent of an exceptional educator.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2008

Before my child entered Allen School I heard the horror stories , the school is great ! my child loves Mrs. Pettit and is very excited to go to class every day
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2007

Like 'Hopeful Parent', we also live in Oakhurst Meadows and planned to move when we realize that my daughter will be going to Allen. After reading the bad reviews I was not ready to let my daughter enroll at Allen. But after months of discussion, we agreed to give it a try. My daughter is also in Mrs. Van Cura's (afternoon class). After all the worry, I am happy to say that Allen is not that bad at all. My daughter just absolutely adore Mrs. V. I like their weekly assignments because its a good guide on what to teach my daughter. They have lots of stuff going on that motivates her like being chosen as 'Letter-Sound Expert' . I am confident that with the parent's help & support to the school Allen will do great which will benefit our kids and the community. - Mrs. Confident.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

We as parents need to get involved in the school, especially if we want things to change.I was very skeptical about sending my daughter to Allen, especially since when we bought our home in Oakhurst Meadows we were told we'd be in a diff. district!We also contemplated moving, but decided to challenge ourselves and after much prayer and discussions with my husband, decided to see what we can do to help out instead of keeping the trend going.My daughter is in Ms. V's kinder class & absolutely loves it! There's good communication from the school-so far.I know there are many stay at home moms in hometown, I know Allen could use volunteers!I work full-time but plan on taking vac days to volunteer. -Hopeful Parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

Allen School has a dedicated staff towards educating all children. I agree with what some of the parents have said in this forum however, posting on a website when you have nothing positive to say is not a solution to the problems encountered. There are many administrators, teachers, and other staff members in the school that can help. Introducing yourself to others and discussing problems within the school environment is a much more proactive way to getting your child's needs met.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 29, 2007

My daughter has been in Ms. Potenberg's class as well as Mrs. Oostman's class. I absolutely love those two teachers. They have really done alot to teach my daughter as much as they can and I have seen an hugw improvement in her academically, as well as socially. I also adore the office staff, especially Mrs. Munch. They are the best group of ladies I've ever met! The rest of the school, however, is a disaster. The communication is a mess. The principal does not have the children's best interest in mind and doesn't judge each child individually versus by her own personal experience. You're treated like an idiot parent by her. I'm so embarrassed telling people that we're in District 131. We're moving in order to get our kids a better education. I love Hometown, but cannot stand our schools. And don't even get me started on the middle/high schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

I am highly disappointed in the education that my son has received at Allen. Thank goodness we're moving out of district 131. I know my son will finally receive a good public school education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2006

I bought in hometown subdivision, & I am not proud to tell others that I live in district 131 or my child attends allen school. The school is in a low income. There is very little business support for the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2006

Allen School offers great programs, from which my son has benefited in speech therapy and reading help. (Thanks Ms.Denny & Mrs. Belford!) The PTO meets monthly in English & Spanish. All parents are encouraged to participate. The PTO, school, and Cub Scout Troop 313 provide several events throughout the year; Dances, plays, music, reading nights, and field trips. Lots of fun. The school has added 8 new classrooms. The new Principle, Mrs. Mink, has done a great job of implementing a new level of discipline and respect in teachers and students in her 2 years there. The school issues Panther Paws (a point system) to students exhibiting desirable behavior. Communication is excellent. They schedule 4 conferences. There is a nightly homework log in which you can write notes to the teacher. I always know what homework is required. I can always reach the teacher. Allen School has earned my respect.Thanks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2006

Allen Elementary School has an excellent kindergarten staff. Especially Mrs. Potenberg, she is a commited teacher devoted to helping every child to the utmost of their ability. She has excellent communication skills and is not only capable of working with the children but also communicates with the parents. I did not find this same level of concern for the individual child in the Allen Elementary administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2006

I took a tour of this school & the staff was great but it does bother me that 69% of the students are from low income families & my children would be in the minority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

Allen school does not offer enough for children who have minor disibilities like ADD and ADHD. We have been trying to get my son in with a social worker there for 2 years now and no one will budge to help. He has a hard time making friends and since the majority of the children at this school are bullies we are forced to sell our house in hometown and move to give our son a better chance in a better school district. I would not recommmend anyone to subject their children to East Aurora schools. If I had known about this I would have never of bought in hometown. They do have great teachers but not enough supervision at recess and at lunch time to many trouble makers to keep up with. The parents need to start teaching their children right from wrong and then Allen School will be successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2005

I am very pleased with the positive changes that are going on in Allen School. My daughter is a Second Grader there and I appreciate all the efforts set forth by the teachers and parents. the homework books and the weekly progress reports keep you up to date on your childs education and behavior. I am excited to see the new addition next year and the positive impact all of the new parents and new communities will have on the school. I wish the web site would have up to date demographics because it is definately different each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students25%
Female21%
Male29%
Black8%
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income20%
Non-low income53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities29%
English language learners10%

Reading

All Students36%
Female43%
Male29%
Black40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low income28%
Non-low income84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities40%
English language learners10%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students26%
Female28%
Male24%
Black4%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Low income20%
Non-low income75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities29%
English language learners7%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students36%
Female41%
Male29%
Black26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White100%
Low income30%
Non-low income81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities41%
English language learners7%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students68%
Female66%
Male69%
Black65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White100%
Low income64%
Non-low income94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)44%
Students without disabilities71%
English language learners37%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students33%
Female30%
Male37%
Black19%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracial20%
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low income31%
Non-low income44%
Students with disabilities (IEP)21%
Students without disabilities35%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students31%
Female29%
Male34%
Black24%
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracial30%
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low income24%
Non-low income63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities35%
English language learners10%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 62% 23%
Black 18% 18%
White 11% 51%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Asian 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Nancy Bradish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 South Farnsworth Avenue
Aurora, IL 60505
Phone: (630) 299-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT