Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
105 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fox Valley Montessori School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
There is no homework for my kids as they are in Pre-K. They do pretend to bring home work home!

Fox Valley Montessori School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
Without a doubt! Most of the kids are very caring towards one another. It is pretty awesome watching the kids interact with each other.


Fox Valley Montessori School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
They teach about respect to each other and for caring for one another. They also teach to take responsibility for their actions whether good or bad.

Fox Valley Montessori School 5

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
My kids have been going here for a few years, and I highly recommend them. They were in a Daycare before and during parent conference, it was all about how they performed based on where they should be. They were concerned that one of the kids would not sing twinkle twinkle little star. Not everyone is the same and everyone learns at different rates. FVMS gives the child an environment to grow into there own at their own rate. They learn from experience and making their own mistakes while learning to respect each other. Both my kids also tested for public pre-school and were the highest developed tested. We decided to keep the kids at FVMS because they are doing something right. Quick Story - My kids had a birthday party and invited all their friends. 20+ 3-5 year olds in one room at a store. The place where they had their party said it was the best behaved group that they had ever seen. The kids when done eating their cake even cleaned up after themselves. That should speak volumes on how well FVMS has done.

Fox Valley Montessori School 5

Posted August 25, 2013
- a parent
My son transferred from public to FVMS and he loves it he is a happy 5th grader the care and attention to his education is great. We have nothing but positive experiences.


Fox Valley Montessori School 4

Posted May 23, 2013
- a parent
My child attends FVMS in the preschool program. This is our third preschool, so we have experienced what else is out there. This school has so much to offer for children that really need individual attention. Most preschoolers do and the staff is very aware of that. They were so welcoming of our family being new to the Montessori method and the area. Our questions are always answered and we never feel we can't come to a staff member for anything. Montessori schools have a very particular method and they really want you to feel comfortable understanding that, as well as, knowing you are making the right decision for your child and family. We know that their hearts are in it for the children and that assures us this is a wonderful school!

Fox Valley Montessori School 5

Posted August 14, 2012
- a parent
My children have attended FVMS for the past 5 years and I feel very fortunate to have found this school. The parents are friendly and involved, the teachers are caring and Montessori trained, and the staff is flexible for working parents. I looked carefully at all of our options and I can definitely say that this was a better choice than any other in our area.

Fox Valley Montessori School 5

Posted February 13, 2011
- a community member
I went to the school for almost nine years and I loved every day of it. This is my first year away and it has been a change but I am very glad that so much of my learnign experience is from this school. It has a great learning program, wonderful teachers, and is very safe. You are very socially involved and get one-on-one time with the teacher whenever you need it. The school has taught me many of the main things that I would need to get through life and be able to leave and feel assured that I will make it though whatever I have to inthe future. Fox Valley Montessori is a wonderful school and I would recemend it to anyone that asks.


Fox Valley Montessori School 1

Posted February 26, 2010
- a parent
I also visited other Montessori schools in the area. I chose Fox Valley Montessori because of the warm welcoming atmosphere. However, this school has some quirks that parents need to be aware of. There is obvious evidence of a leaky roof. My son is constantly being brought to me in the car line with his shoes on the wrong feet. When I brought this up they shrugged it off and said that it was a 'self correcting' situation. I have witnessed a child not more than 3 years old led out to her mother's waiting car with her coat on upside down--in 20 degree weather. The child was too young to realize why her coat did not fit correctly. The result was not self correction, but a cold child. I have also witnessed children working with letter and number works upside down or sideways.

Fox Valley Montessori School 5

Posted April 10, 2009
- a parent
After a careful review of the area's Montessori schools I found Fox Valley Montessori. A few of the key differences that makes this school stand out from other Montessori and other private schools, is their commitment to ensure that each child's individual needs are met, a commitment to professional excellence for their teachers and staff, and that this is a true school community versus a daycare community. They walk the walk when it comes to adhering to the basic principals of Maria Montessori. My child thrives at this school under the careful guidance from his teacher and asst. teacher. The office staff are always warm and welcoming and are always there to help me.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fox Valley Montessori School
850 North Commonwealth Avenue, Aurora, IL  60506
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (630) 896-7557
Last modified Fox Valley Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Top