Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Barrington High School

Public | 9-12 | 2998 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 5, 2014

Anyone that has given this school a harshly negative review has not had experience in other schools across the country. Barrington High School has a diverse student body, a club/sport/volunteer organization for just about everyone, well-educated teachers and staff with great leadership, dedication, experience, and community involvement. Kids that walk away with an education that truly prepares them for college or their post-graduate careers. As an alumni as well as a teacher that works in the city of Chicago, I only wish that my students could see the opportunities that BHS provides that they are, unfortunately, missing out on. It is a very traditional high school experience with a lot of hometown pride. Addressing any drug issues that have been included in reviews- you are naive to think that you won't find that in any high school these days. Rich or poor, teenagers face personal issues and will experiment and hang out with people they shouldn't- it's called growing up. I feel lucky to have attended BHS and i think most people really appreciate it especially after they are thrown in the real world! I hope to send my kids here in the future.


Posted August 5, 2013

Beautiful school. Full of great people. Great educations. Great teachers. Great environment. Not more to say.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2012

As a Barrington HIgh School Graduate and parent of one of the very few BCHS students to not graduate I am surprised to see that none of these reviews mention the alcohol and narcotics problems that plague the school and the teen suicides. Whenever I meet new families to the area, I always warn them of these issues, and stress the importance of communication with their children, and honestly discussing these issues. My son withdrew from BCHS feeling he had more in common with his teachers (and these included some older teachers) than with his class mates. He passed his GEDs started courses at Harper College in September of what would have been his senior year in high school. He got into a technical program and did extremely well. The high school offers a number of wonderful programs, has incredible facilities, has many excellent teachers, and yet a couple of enormous problems exist and must be addressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2011

I think this has been an excellent school in the past, and I hope one day will be again. There are, based on our daughters experience, significant issues that need to be addressed, including an ongoing commitment from the school and the community to fine arts - in a school of this size that they cannot fill the auditorium for productions is very sad, and I question the administrations focus on anything other than academics, and sports A school of this size can also make for a very impersonal education experience, and I'm not sure that is ideal for every kid. I think the staff are a mix of great, enthusiastic young teachers and sad, bitter, tenured staff waiting out retirement. If your child gets the former, great! If the latter, you will be disappointed. We are moving out of district so our younger daughter does not attend this school....it is not the right fit for her, or our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2009

BHS is not all it's cracked up to be. If you are an average student and fit into the 'norm,' BHS is just fine. Anyone outside of the box will have a very rough time at this school. Special Services is absolutely horrible, and are very unwilling to make any accommodations - not to mention most of the staff is incredibly rude and arrogant.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2009

I attended Barrington High School 1st semester of my freshman year. I moved to Leyden high school and i am now a sophmore. In my own opinion Barrington High School is a really great school. I believe it is a better school then Leyden and i would love to go back anytime. I believe that any student that goes there most likely likes that school also becasue it has such great programs. The teachers there are so helpful(: Barrington High School is a really great school(: Oh yeah and the teachers there are really nice to(:
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 2, 2009

I recently graduated Barrington High School and my overall experience was great. There are so many activities and extracurriculars anyone can find there niche. They also have an outstanding fine arts department and from that i was able to build a portfolio of my art which i then submitted to an architecture program at the university i am attending this fall. I was one of 70 students selected of about 250 that apply. I accredit this to the help and guidance of the teachers and staff at Barrington High School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2009

I must address a comment made by a parent on this site. The parent said that Barrington High School must address their test scores. None of the high schools ranked above Barrington High School in Illinois have the large number of children from low income families and so many non-English speaking students. All of these students test scores are included in the statistics. I have had three children graduate from Barrington High School. All three said they got a good education and were better prepared for college than most of the kids they met in college. With the variety of classes offered, number of AP classes and the wide selection of clubs and sports available, there is something for everyone there. BHS also has one of the top fine arts programs in the country.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2009

BHS is a rigorous but friendy college prepartory environment. It seems like every year they make improvements with technology, course offerings (Chinese) and national awards that the school has received. My kids are going off to schools that are in Princeton Reviews top 25 Colleges and they are very well prepared. With so many activities to choose from, they have each found their own niche and the dedicated staff is instrumental in providing them with every opportuntiy to shine and succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2008

Although our daughter is enjoying and doing well in her first year at the school, the test scores at Barrington are very disappointing and really need to be addressed by the administration; the poor scores of some really effect the total desireability of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2008

The breadth and depth of the curriculum at BHS is exceptional. There is no category for rating the variety of courses offered at schools. The BHS curriculum presents many options to a diverse and talented population of students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 15, 2007

I just finished my first year of college, and I have to say that BHS was excellent! I got into a fantastic east-coast university, and I'm a fairly average student. My GPA wasn't anything spectacular, but BHS offered so many AP course selections, and ACT prep classes that I basically wrote my own ticket. My first year of college was so easy! The AP (and even honors...) classes really teach the material for the first year of college. Extra-curricular activities at BHS really defined my high school experience as well. The teachers are so actively involved in their students lives, inside and outside the classroom, and this creates an amazing co-curricular program for your child to explore his/her interests. Honestly, if you want your child to get the best education, get help at every step along the way, and get into the best schools... BHS is the place to be.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 26, 2007

Barrington High School is terrific! The students that I have met thru many of the sports activities have been very polite, nice, and excited about their school and the many activities that are offered to them.I have a daughter in High School, one in middle school,and a son in elementary school.Every experience I have had so- far with all the Barrington Schools,teachers,and staff have been fantastic! I am so proud to have my children in this Barrington 220 School District! As far as I am concerned,this is one of the best school districts in Illinois!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2006

After attending the graduation ceremony for the class of 2005', we were impressed with the overall academic achievements of all the student. Scholarship $$ was high and numerous awards were granted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2006

We moved our children two years ago to this school, the teachers are very good, great email coorespondence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2006

Excellent challenging environment. If you want to offer your child the best opportunity to reach their dreams with great variety, challenging and diverse courses offered. The teachers are excellent and the sense of community is first class. The stars are the limit for your child when they attend Barrington High School.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 3, 2005

while the school has a great reputation, currently, there has been a noticeable decline in the quality of the education. Many teachers have retired early, and there are, in my opinion, too many new teachers. There is also a strong bias torwards wealtiher people, and doing well at barrington has alot to do with parental support, financial and emotionaly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2005

Great elective and course offerings! The Video Production courses are incredible. My son loved being a student at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2005

Financial and home location is what counts in this school. There is just not enough concern when real problems arise among students. I had to transfer my child out of this school, to a less materialistic school. This pressure caused my child to do poorly in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2004

There are great things about BHS, but I like many schools, it isn't perfect. There is definitely a drug problem, as my child has said it is common to hear about people talking about getting high. There are definitely great opportunites for clubs, and because the school is so large, it may be extremely hard for kids that might not fit in a club to feel comfortable. There are some excellent teachers, but I don't have the impression that there is a real culture (and was told that by an administrator) that the teachers are trying to convey - e.g. many (not all!) of the classes seem to be straight download w/little creativity in teaching. So what is it specifically that makes it such a great school outside of the clubs and some of the teachers? Part of what makes it good could be the families support of their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female80%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian95%
Hispanic40%
Multiracial73%
Native Americann/a
White87%
Low income33%
Non-low income89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)48%
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female85%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asian93%
Hispanic47%
Multiracial87%
Native Americann/a
White88%
Low income43%
Non-low income89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)48%
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students79%
Female78%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asian91%
Hispanic46%
Multiracial80%
Native Americann/a
White85%
Low income38%
Non-low income87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)51%
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

25

Graduation rate

95.7%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 51%
Hispanic 15% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 4%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Steve McWilliams

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

616 West Main Street
Barrington, IL 60010
Phone: (847) 381-1400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lake Zurich High School
Lake Zurich, IL





Dundee-Crown High School
Carpentersville, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT