Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Barrington High School

Public | 9-12 | 2998 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 28, 2004

My boy Alexander is enrolled at BHS and having a blast! There are a lot of drugs going around the campus, but he doesn't participate. Most of the kids there are very nice that I've met personally. BHS is a non-swearing environment as well, so kids are generally on their best behavior. Faculty seemed very nice. If I could go back to High School again, I would choose Barrington High School! Sean Kirchheimer Scottsdale, AZ
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

I found the school to be too large. Also the diverse mix of socio-economics can be very intimidating. If you are an AP student, the school is great. If you are a special needs student, the school is great. For those stuck in the middle, it's not so great. The drug problem seems to be getting worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

BHS is truly one of the best schools in the country. I graduated from BHS and am proud to say that my two children, who are enrolled now, are getting an excellent education. We couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

As a BHS alumni of 2001, BHS gave me the best education and after graduation, I decided that it was time that Stanford to give me the best education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 25, 2003

BHS is awesome. Besides offering a wide range of extracurricular activities, they also provide excellent relationships between the teachers, parents and students. BHS allows teachers to get in-touch with their students and form long lasting relationships. And like previous posters have said, they've got an excellent theatrical program! With several extra curricular activities, your student shouldn't have a hard time fitting in, and finding his best interests. Personally, when I was their, I was involved in Debate, on the tech crew, the Model UN, Student Council, Band, Scholastic Bowl and a couple other clubs..... Just an example of BHS's diversity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2003

Barrington High School has been home to all 3 of my kids. Its a great place to go to school. But no one has even said one thing about the drug problem.


Posted August 10, 2003

BHS is the best school ever. I had the time of my life in the theatre program and as a lab assistant. The range of activities available to students is amazing. And I'd like to say to Mr. Deignan if he ever reads this, that you are the greatest. The school plays were never the same after you left. BHS rules!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 18, 2003

Although large and often under construction, Barrington High School is a wonderful school with a great selection of AP and honors classes and fabulous teachers (which greatly helps make up for the impersonality of the guidence counselors). BHS also boasts a variety of extracurricular activities ranging from football, swim team, and golf to ping pong and multicultural, and volunteering clubs, as well as math, speech, and debate teams and an awesome theatre program. Of course this is only a sampling of the multitude of activities which keep BHS students after school until all hours of the night. BHS also prides itself in sending over 90% of its graduates to colleges and universities all over the country and many to world class institutes such as Harvard, Princeton, Yale, Stanford, Duke, and Tufts.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female80%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian95%
Hispanic40%
Multiracial73%
Native Americann/a
White87%
Low income33%
Non-low income89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)48%
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female85%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asian93%
Hispanic47%
Multiracial87%
Native Americann/a
White88%
Low income43%
Non-low income89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)48%
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students79%
Female78%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asian91%
Hispanic46%
Multiracial80%
Native Americann/a
White85%
Low income38%
Non-low income87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)51%
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

25

Graduation rate

95.7%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 51%
Hispanic 15% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 4%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Black 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Steve McWilliams

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

616 West Main Street
Barrington, IL 60010
Phone: (847) 381-1400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lake Zurich High School
Lake Zurich, IL





Dundee-Crown High School
Carpentersville, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT