Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Countryside Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 438 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2014

Countryside is an amazing school with amazing support from the parents and the community. The class sizes are small and so each child has more individual attention and instruction. In addition, many children have extra literacy and math instruction from the extended and specialized teaching staff. I believe this is one of the few school districts remaining that have an active gifted program and the only public school with an active Mandarin immersion program. Most importantly, our children are happy to go to school each day and they get off the bus with smiles on their faces. We are very happy to be at Countryside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2013

We recently moved to the area from Chicago and have been so thoroughly impressed with the school! Our son's teacher is excellent, the school environment is safe an welcoming and the facilities are spectacular. I would have loved to attend school in such an idyllic setting! My son will joining the Chinese immersion program currently being offered at the school, which gets great feedback from existing students and parents. We could not be more pleased with the school and the education it is providing our son. We plan to stay here and send our other child to this school as well. As a parent who always attended private Catholic schools I must say I am very much impressed by District 220 and think that they offer so much more than what any private school could offer. They very much have their eye on the ball and basically all the schools in the district are excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2013

I have two students that attend this school. All the teachers & staff so far have been excellent! My son is very gifted and both teachers he has had have given him extra/harder things to challenge him. This school has the best teaching tools, computers, etc. The new prinicipal is very approachable & enthusiastic, nurse is great, and the building itself is very nice. Kids love the playgrounds!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2007

My child is currently in fourth grade and finds all the teachers to be positively rewarding. His teacher challenges him and makes learning enjoyable. He loves going to school each day and has grown so much since the beginning of the year. Overall the staff and building are out of this world!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

My child find the classes more relaxed at Countryside than at his/her previous school-He/she finds the work to be non-challenging- While I really like his/her teacher, I am not impressed by the 5th grade curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2007

My child has had an overall good experience here. I am glad we are now in middle school, but besides that one year, and all the damage done, Countryside was a positive experience
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

My son has attended this school for 2 years, 4th & 5th grades. We have been a corporate re-lo family, so the starting over process is not new to us. The school has a motivated & enthusiastic principal at the helm. His commitment to the children filters through into the classroom. You can look at test scores & the school measures up quite well. My son was inspired daily. His 4th grade teacher saw potential in the creative side of my son. She maximized that and helped him use it to his benifit. She stayed in close contact with me as we watched my son explode in the areas of English and Liturature. He has developed a love of writting fiction, and a love of learning. I give this school a big thumbs up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2005

Our son is attending a 5-year-old program at Countryside. The school is quite large with 3 playgrounds and an area for soccer. The parking is lacking, in that when you drop or pick up your child many parents have to park on County Line Road, which is a major thorough fare. The library is our son's favorite room. While the teachers are very good with all of the children, the rooms are almost too large, which sounds strange. However, a child needs guidelines and the children have few to follow, save for circle time and snack time. My son has changed since attending Countryside, he is not as gregarious or happy go lucky as he was last year while attending Woodland Elementary. Curious considering that they do not have air conditioning and no designated areas for soccer. Perhaps less is more? Time will tell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2005

until this year thought the school and staff were great. What a difference one teacher can make! We are very disappointed in the quality of my child's current teacher. Grading is not being done, and the children are constantly being humiliated in front of classmates for low grades, missed homework, etc. We are used to a strong parental involvement at this school, and this is currently being discouraged. Many parents have gone to the principal, with little or no results. We will not be sending the rest of our children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2004

Strong parental involvement coupled with an excellent staff make Countryside a wonderful school. The students and staff are lucky to have a beautiful new building with ample room and resources to encourage student growth and development. We have enjoyed each teacher and consider our children lucky to be part of such a strong and respected school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female92%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low incomen/a
Not low income86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)46%
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female95%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Low incomen/a
Not low income87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)64%
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female94%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Low incomen/a
Not low income88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)77%
Students without disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students87%
Female91%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White84%
Low incomen/a
Not low income88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)69%
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students99%
Female100%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White98%
Low incomen/a
Not low income99%
Students with disabilities (IEP)100%
Students without disabilities99%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female83%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White89%
Low income50%
Not low income87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)46%
Students without disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female90%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White95%
Low income60%
Not low income94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)69%
Students without disabilities94%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value table growth scores from the state of Illinois.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 51%
Hispanic 10% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Black 2% 18%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kimberly Foster-Thomas

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

205 West County Line Road
Barrington, IL 60010
Phone: (847) 381-1162

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St Anne School
Barrington, IL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT