Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Countryside Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 27, 2016
- a parent
Overall, the principal and teachers are very in tune with their students' capabilities and schedules. An enthusiastic group of educators! Bravo!

Countryside Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2016
- a parent
Great Chinese Immersion Program offered in the Barrington school district. Countryside Elementary hosts a few grade levels in that program. It is truly amazing to see how much those children learn not just in their regular subjects, like English and Math, but Chinese as well. Teachers are very in tune with their students' progress and keep the parents in the loop.


Countryside Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
We have been at Countryside for 3 years and the experience has been amazing! The staff is kind, caring and holds students to the highest standards! We couldn't be happier!

Countryside Elementary School 5

Posted November 07, 2015
- a parent
Countryside has awesome teachers and staff! They care so much about the students and give them all the personal attention they deserve!

Countryside Elementary School 5

Posted August 27, 2014
- a parent
Countryside is an amazing school with amazing support from the parents and the community. The class sizes are small and so each child has more individual attention and instruction. In addition, many children have extra literacy and math instruction from the extended and specialized teaching staff. I believe this is one of the few school districts remaining that have an active gifted program and the only public school with an active Mandarin immersion program. Most importantly, our children are happy to go to school each day and they get off the bus with smiles on their faces. We are very happy to be at Countryside.


Countryside Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2013
- a parent
We recently moved to the area from Chicago and have been so thoroughly impressed with the school! Our son's teacher is excellent, the school environment is safe an welcoming and the facilities are spectacular. I would have loved to attend school in such an idyllic setting! My son will joining the Chinese immersion program currently being offered at the school, which gets great feedback from existing students and parents. We could not be more pleased with the school and the education it is providing our son. We plan to stay here and send our other child to this school as well. As a parent who always attended private Catholic schools I must say I am very much impressed by District 220 and think that they offer so much more than what any private school could offer. They very much have their eye on the ball and basically all the schools in the district are excellent.

Countryside Elementary School 5

Posted January 11, 2013
- a parent
I have two students that attend this school. All the teachers & staff so far have been excellent! My son is very gifted and both teachers he has had have given him extra/harder things to challenge him. This school has the best teaching tools, computers, etc. The new prinicipal is very approachable & enthusiastic, nurse is great, and the building itself is very nice. Kids love the playgrounds!

Countryside Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 20, 2007
- a parent
My child is currently in fourth grade and finds all the teachers to be positively rewarding. His teacher challenges him and makes learning enjoyable. He loves going to school each day and has grown so much since the beginning of the year. Overall the staff and building are out of this world!


Countryside Elementary School 3

Posted September 28, 2007
- a parent
My child find the classes more relaxed at Countryside than at his/her previous school-He/she finds the work to be non-challenging- While I really like his/her teacher, I am not impressed by the 5th grade curriculum.

Countryside Elementary School 4

Posted January 15, 2007
- a parent
My child has had an overall good experience here. I am glad we are now in middle school, but besides that one year, and all the damage done, Countryside was a positive experience

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Countryside Elementary School
205 West County Line Road, Barrington, IL  60010
(847) 381-1162
Last modified Countryside Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Countryside Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top