Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public district
Barrington, IL
Students enrolled: 330
 

5 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hough Street Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful community of families, teachers, principal, and staff. Can't be beat! I've had kids at Hough for 8 years, and have had great experiences there.

Hough Street Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2013
- a parent
Superb in every way. The kindergarden teacher, Mr. George Vlasis, took his own time and effort to help our daughter when she struggeled with reading. Great support systems, great teachers, a 10+ ... note to CPS and all your issues. Try doing just a little of what these teachers do!


Hough Street Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2013
- a parent
Both of our kids have attended this school, one in the extended self-contained program and the other in regular classes. Both had the best possible school experience. The teachers go above and beyond for each student. The school is much like a family, as exhibited this year when one student had an accident. The whole school really cared and came together. We will truly miss this school when our youngest moves to middle school next year!

Hough Street Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 02, 2008
- a parent
I have had two kids go through this school and it has been an outstanding place to learn. The school is small and the teachers are awesome. As close as you can get to a private school.

Hough Street Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted November 13, 2007
- a parent
Absolutely the best - none better


Hough Street Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2007
- a parent
This school is fantastic! Teachers are engaged far more than at the 'it's my job' level, the parents are very involved and supportive of the school. The new principal is wonderful - we have met with her several times for various things.

Hough Street Elementary School 5

Posted November 16, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hough Street Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2005
- a parent
Incredible school. Outstanding teachers. Kids with high self esteem. I am impressed by the level and quality of work from my child. Great developmental environment.


Hough Street Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2004
- a parent
This is an outstanding school. The teachers are terrific, innovative and caring. The only issue I have had is because it is small, some grades end up with high student/teacher ratio. There will be a new principle in 04/05, but the previous principle was very strong and will be missed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hough Street Elementary School
310 South Hough Street, Barrington, IL  60010
(847) 381-1108
Last modified Hough Street Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hough Street Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top