Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hough Street Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful community of families, teachers, principal, and staff. Can't be beat! I've had kids at Hough for 8 years, and have had great experiences there.

Hough Street Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2013
- a parent
Superb in every way. The kindergarden teacher, Mr. George Vlasis, took his own time and effort to help our daughter when she struggeled with reading. Great support systems, great teachers, a 10+ ... note to CPS and all your issues. Try doing just a little of what these teachers do!


Hough Street Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2013
- a parent
Both of our kids have attended this school, one in the extended self-contained program and the other in regular classes. Both had the best possible school experience. The teachers go above and beyond for each student. The school is much like a family, as exhibited this year when one student had an accident. The whole school really cared and came together. We will truly miss this school when our youngest moves to middle school next year!

Hough Street Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 02, 2008
- a parent
I have had two kids go through this school and it has been an outstanding place to learn. The school is small and the teachers are awesome. As close as you can get to a private school.

Hough Street Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 13, 2007
- a parent


Hough Street Elementary School 5

Posted February 26, 2007
- a parent
This school is fantastic! Teachers are engaged far more than at the 'it's my job' level, the parents are very involved and supportive of the school. The new principal is wonderful - we have met with her several times for various things.

Hough Street Elementary School 5

Posted June 04, 2005
- a parent
Incredible school. Outstanding teachers. Kids with high self esteem. I am impressed by the level and quality of work from my child. Great developmental environment.

Hough Street Elementary School 5

Posted May 20, 2004
- a parent
This is an outstanding school. The teachers are terrific, innovative and caring. The only issue I have had is because it is small, some grades end up with high student/teacher ratio. There will be a new principle in 04/05, but the previous principle was very strong and will be missed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hough Street Elementary School
310 South Hough Street, Barrington, IL  60010
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. (847) 381-1108
Last modified Hough Street Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top