Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Anne School

Private | PK-8 | 424 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Barrington

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $465,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,000.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 25, 2014

We initially enrolled out son at St. Anne's school because at the age of 4 we thought he would be in a better learning environment than at the daycare facility he attended. Not only were we correct in that assumption, but were beyond pleased at the level of learning and instruction he received there. Mrs. Siggeman is great and so is Mrs. Such. The environment in the entire school is warm and inviting and we would highly recommend St. Anne's to any parent. We truly feel that our son has head start on learning from his time at St. Anne's school. Brian
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2012

During 2011, we visited many schools in the area. After much consideration, we switched our daughter from the public schools and it has made a big difference. Our daughter is getting a well-rounded education in an environment where children are truly loved and respected (and are expected to reciprocate and display these qualities to others). The academics at the school are stellar and well-balanced. By this we mean that in addition to reading, grammar, spelling, math, social studies, and science each day, the students also have 2 periods a day where they have art, music, gym, library or computers. Our daughter scores very high in national testing but has been completely challenged in her daily work. The staff and administration really work with parents to ensure that children are challenged and supported in the ways needed. The after-school programs provide a fantastic mix of sports, language and intellectual workshops allowing for students to gain new skills and enrichment. This is a National Blue Ribbon School, one of the few private schools in the State that has received such an award, and when you go there, you'll see why!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

The best thing about this school is the teachers. The teachers at St. Anne work so hard to give the kids the best education they can get. It is a great thing to see teachers who care about their students so much. - Mark
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2011

I love St. Anne for the staff and the courses. Its been a great experience sending my children here (we have 3 enrolled). We love the teachers, the safe environment, and the amazing faith based learning. It's great for us and our family. - Lisa


Posted June 10, 2011

I can't say enough good things about St. Anne's Catholic School! There always seems to be definite access to the teachers, staff and even the principal. If I have any questions regarding the school, academics or my son they respond very quickly to emails & phone calls. They challenge the students academically and they are exceeding the level of work that most kids can do in the public schools around us. They are being taught well in advance of what their years are. They also offer great extra-curricular activities. My son has been there for 3 years now and he really enjoys it! -KD
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

I have 2 children attending St. Anne's School, one in 4th grade and one in 5th. I appreciate that it's a very safe and loving environment for my children to go to everyday. They have good communication with the parents and I'm very pleased with their teachers. -Colleen S
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

St. Anne School has been a great part in the development of our children. They are challenged each and every day from some of the top faculty and staff in the district. There is a special feeling of "community and family" everytime we walk through the doors. A special "thank you" goes out to all who have made St. Anne such a wonderful place to send our children. - Todd
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2011

I graduated from St Annes in 1967. First and second grades in the old school which is long since torn down. The rest in the existing building. I have so many good memories I cannot begin to share them here. They shaped my life in such a great way. I entered High School at BCHS way ahead of the public school kids and was in advanced classes all the way through public high school in math and science. It wasn't whether or not I'd go to the university, but which one I'd go to. I hope that this is still true. It was a great school for me. I hope it will be as great for all children there going forward.


Posted October 13, 2010

St Anne is a great school. The only negative is that their is no diversity so if you are hispanic, asian, african america, etc. you may feel out of place.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 19, 2009

St Anne school has a very family-oriented and loving enviornment. They instill values and beliefs on a daily basis. The teachers are amazing and truly care for all students. I am blessed to be a part of this fabulous schooL!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2009

Nothing but good experience. Kid's have placed into great high schools at honors levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2009

St Anne is a great school period. The principal, the teachers and the Catholic community encourage students to love learning, be a part of the community and it's Blue Ribbon status means this school rates in the top 10% in the nation for test scores, not just Illinois. We are so happy with the school, with the curriculum and the atmosphere. I am sure there are cliques at every school, but with small class sizes you get to know every parent, teacher and administrator at the school and your child feels a part of the school, not just as one of many. The values along with the education cannot be beat by any public school in Barrington. And how nice to be able to celebrate Christmas, Easter and talk about God and morals in school. We just love it!!! Donna
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

Academically, you could not ask for a better school. The school is a Blue Ribbon School, which places it in the top schools in Illinois,with even better test scores than the Barrington public school down the block from us. The teachers are also qualified and caring, as is the staff.The one main reason that I have, as well as others, considered leaving is because of self righteous, overly judgmental, clickish parents who completely control their children's friendships and think their kids are better than yours when they are all human. If you are not part of the elite crowd, then your child isn't included in playdates/parties, even if their child likes yours.If parents would practice what the Church preaches regarding loving one another for who they are, not for $$, the school would be A+. There's something wrong when a smart, fun child has more friends outside school than in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2007

My daughters went to St. Anne for K to 6. This is a superior start to getting education above the neck without competition for clothing, and material goods. One is an Ivy school graduate now, another is in graduate school now. Both learned life long learnings which I doubt they could have obtained through CCD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2006

My family has been a part of St.Anne Catholic School for more than 9 years. We have 4 years and have been extremely pleased with the quality of education provided at SAS. Next year our daughter is entering a catholic high school enrolled in at least 2 honors classes. The faith based education provided by caring committed teachers is outstanding. Computer, art, spanish and music are part of the everyday curriculum. Other extra curriculars include sports, beginning in 5th grade, band, chessclub, theater and spelling and geopraghy bees. Although every community has its flaws, our general experience at SAS has been extremely positive and we find it to be a warm welcoming community both for us and our 4 children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2003

I am a graduate of Saint Anne's. It is a great school. The teachers are so fun and willing to help out. We don't have very many extra-curricular activities. The school is very nice and inviting. I love the middle school teachers- Mrs. Zimmerman, Blake, Krystyn, Leigh, Lee, and Flessor! I love Miss Lavin! You guys prepared me for highschool and made me the person I am today. I truly love the middleschool teachers, there are truly no better out there!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Hispanic 4% 24%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 18%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Dawn Kapka
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

319 Franklin Street
Barrington, IL 60010
Phone: (847) 381-0311

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT