Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bartlett High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 20, 2012

As a recent graduate from Bartlett High School, it is saddening to see awful teachers remaining on staff & good teachers removed for lack of seniority. That aside, the school has taken on to treating students as numbers and results rather than youth to be educated. All effort is focused toward making sure kids are in class on time, not keeping tabs where tabs should be kept. I'm disappointed in the school's progress.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2012

Bartlett has a great group of educators and the curriculum is outstanding. Being in U46 they offer an Academy and AP/Honors classes, which are not available in a lot of school districts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2011

If you're moving, don't move to Bartlett. Because then your kid(s) will have to go here.


Posted September 10, 2011

Bartlett High School is a great school when it comes to visual arts but the students are awfully mean and the bathrooms are discusting. I understand that its partcially the students fault but its also the staffs fault. During my time at BHS I was picked on right in front of a teacher and the teacher did nothing about it. Also the bathrooms, they get so dirty because the students dont take care of them but it is the janitorial staffs job to keep the school clean! Like I said before BHS can be a gret school for somethings but not all.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

They gave my daughter a great education and were very supportive of her when some emotional problems errupted - even though she was a new student at the time, they supported her and helped her through a rough patch. Not just one teacher, but almost every single faculty member reached out to support her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Bartlett has a awsome group of teachers. I have a son in Bartlett as a senior and he has had a great group of teachers the whole way through. Plus this school has brought my son out of his shell so much so that he plays sports and is in many groups at school. I have had nothing but a above average experience at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

This is a great school. I am happy that my kids are going to such a nice school. Thanks to principal and all the teachers for their hard work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2008

This school is terrible. The teachers and Deans are complete amateurs, and have no idea how to run the school. Kids are constantly getting in fights, and I feel very unsafe. Also the fact that there are no metal detectors is very unsatisfactory for me. As a student, I must say, the punishments given out are harsh, even if someone blames you for something you did not do, you get in trouble. The staff of the school do not look into problems as they should, and it seems as if they are trying to get things done and over with, inflicting punishments, and moving onto the next disturbance instead of thoroughly looking at each problem. The school is disorderly and frankly does not care about the attendance of students. Most parents are never even notified of absences, truancies, or tardies.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2008

I am very disappointed in Bartlett High School. They do not keep track of their students and the school does not hold itself accountable. I have had direct contact with deans, counselors, and teachers and find them 'put out' if you don't agree with them. The school needs to enforce attendance policies and hold students accountable under their watch and stop blowing off truency.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

Very poor communication between the school and parents. Even though my daughter was tady and truant I was never notified. Very poor communication from school adminstrators. Some could not answer the simplest questions such as how many hours to graduate. Teachers and administrators take an attitude of not caring because there's too many students. They just want to move the students through the school. Best of off moving out of Bartlett and going West or East. Wheaton or St Charles
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

Great school! Loved all of the sports!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2005

I am very impressed with this school. The initial signup was a bit disorderly,but since my child has been in school, I am impressed with the professionalism of the teachers and staff. They have the best interest of the student in mind while maintaining order and discipline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2005

Bartlett High was the worst year for my special Ed student ever. Picture was taken but was never put in yearbook (none of the class was, or the other special ed class) Accident I'm sure? Or 'Camera shy' right! Asst. Principal is rude and the school offered nothing. If you have a special Ed student good luck here. I'd say move now!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2005

Bartlett has a very good extracurricular program, above average academics, with an excellent teaching staff. I feel very safe with my son at Bartlett.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female61%
Male68%
Black30%
Asian70%
Hispanic51%
Multiracial100%
Native Americann/a
White73%
Low income45%
Not low income74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
Students without disabilities67%
English language learners25%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students65%
Female68%
Male62%
Black40%
Asian75%
Hispanic46%
Multiracial92%
Native Americann/a
White73%
Low income48%
Not low income73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities68%
English language learners25%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students60%
Female58%
Male62%
Black25%
Asian70%
Hispanic41%
Multiracial92%
Native Americann/a
White69%
Low income41%
Not low income69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities62%
English language learners17%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

22

Graduation rate

88.7%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 51%
Hispanic 26% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 13% 4%
Black 4% 18%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Suzanne Colombe

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

701 West Schick Road
Bartlett, IL 60103
Phone: (630) 372-4700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Clare Woods Academy
Bartlett, IL



Wheaton Academy
West Chicago, IL



Community High School
West Chicago, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT