Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Batavia Sr High School

Public | 9-12 | 1911 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 6, 2014

Batavia High School is the gem of the Fox Valley. Most Western suburbanites seek out the Naperville school districts when looking for a new community, but this top rated school, just a notch under Dist# 204 is a terrific option (with less congestion and traffic when you learn to avoid Randall Road). Although there is a huge focus on sports, the music program is second to none and the staff support a college readiness agenda. The band/orchestra program is very impressive. Students are on a block schedule and are expected to immerse themselves in coursework, think and work independently, be responsible for their own future. Both the brightest who will be well prepared for college, and those who prefer a non-college path have challenging course options. I have one son who is still attending BHS. I wish we would have moved here sooner for my older sons to get the benefit of all four years in this great learning environment. As a mother, home-owner and a Realtor I recommend this community for the school district. Well worth the taxes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

This school is the worst school in the world! Bullies try to get good kids in trouble, even though those kids didn't do anything at all! Even though there is no proof that the kid did anything that kid got suspended.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2013

I have found BHS to be a great school. The continue improvement in their teaching and curriculum offerings have made it one of the top rated high schools in Kane County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2013

This school has some good teachers, but has a very poor record in teaching students with disabilities (4th year of academic warning status with the state for its large achievement gap). No encouragement to take the PSAT or early career planning for gifted sophomores. Administrative leadership is non-existent. If you are relocating here look at Naperville or St. Charles High schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2013

Many new additions, as said below. one does not have to be above average o succeed, they only need to try, math department goes up to Calculus 2, and AP Calculus 1; a math class is completed every half year (semester, students can take either 1 or 2 math classes a year (or not at all, if math requirements are meet), as a freshman you can only take one. A very large amount of classes are offered alongside the standard academics, there are currently 6 general use computer labs, over 4 carts of about 25 laptops (class sizes vary), a cart of laptops in the shop, and a cart of the districts best laptops (better than the techies) for the engineering programs. great school with lots to offer for all kinds of students; science, engineering, math, athletic, dance, arts, music, photography, 3 languages (Spanish, French, Latin).
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2011

Overrated school. If your child is above average, this is the school for your child. They do not want to deal with students that are average or below average. They do not want to deal with children who have learning disabilities. Most of the teachers are mostly concerned about their insane pensions. Look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

Excellent academics, drama department, music program, atletics ..... I could go on! Plenty of tutoring available, by teachers and upper classmen, before, during and after school. The parent & community involvement is very high, resulting in respectful students, and great communication! There is a club or activity for every student to be involved in. The completion of the new auditorium this summer will be the icing on the cake!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2010

High school is disappointing. It is operated on the "good ole boy mentality." The administration is really out of touch with the student population and there are teachers, coaches and administrators who should have been fired a long time ago. Strong bullying atmosphere and no attempt to change the culture in the school. The education is not up to par and their math program is lacking at best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

I am currently a student at BHS. The school is currently going through lots of construction. its sometimes hard to concentrate when the construction is going on, but its manageable most of the time. Some teachers are excellent and some are just so-so. due to the growing population of BHS, the amount of new teachers has increased. Academics are fairly decent, but due to the lack of facilities, academic opportunities can become limited. The music program however, is exceptional! the band directors are awesome and enthusiastic! The plays and musicals are awesome as well. The athletics are very good, but some sports are not as well funded as others. Funds need to be increased to improve all athletics. When the additions are finished, I believe the students will excel because all of BHS's programs will finally have proper facilities
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 8, 2008

We love everything about the school and the community. Looking forward to the additions to the building in the next few years. We have one graduated and 3 more on their way to BHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2007

We are actually disappointed with the high school. Very hard to speak with your child's counselor. And very difficult to seek additional assistance if your child is not great in Algebra. We had expected better from the high school. Since our tax dollars have shot up greatly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

Great school, even better when you compare it to the school to the north . Athletics are better, facilities are better and overall atmosphere. A+
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

Agree with parent comment below. Lack of facilities (no indoor track/fieldhouse, theatre, dance studio etc)extremely limits the the quality of many classes & extra-curricular programs. Parents are commonly told 'no money' to grow the facilities of the school. Hard to beleive considering the demographics of the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2007

The programs are not designed for all students, if you are smart you are fine, but if you have any special needs then you are pretty much on your own and before you know it, the blame falls on the student never the teacher. The extracurricular activities are limited as are the sports, music and art are always being told they have no money. Parental involvement depends on the parents and how they have been treated, I
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2006

Athletic programs are continually growing. There are always many extracurricular activities available for the students. Parents are very actively involved in this community. Despite an ever-icreasing population it maintains it's small town spirit.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 22, 2006

Academic programs are very good with some excellent AP courses. The Batavia music program is outstanding, my daughter has perfomed at Bulls games, the Indy 500, etc, and has a lot of fun, and has become a great musician. The sports programs are very good, and the community involvement is wonderful, I see so many neighbors and friends at school events, I feel very at home there. I feel it is a safe learning environmment with good old fashioned ethical and moral principles to match.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2004

I go to this school right now. The teachers are pretty cool and the stuff we have is great. We have laptops, a couple computer labs, T.v's in every room, and a library. There's tons of extra curricular activities and I am proud to say I am involved with the music prgram. At my old school we didn't have this stuff. Though, the things listed above doesn't make a school. It's the other students. I have a variety of friends, but a variety of enemies also. Make sure your kids get in with the right crowd.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2004

As parent of three graduates of Batavia's school system (99, 01, 03), I believe it does everything expected, and more. The music program is a reason to move to Batavia - the HS band director is involved at the state level with Illinois band programs, and the orchestra and choirs are supported wonderfully by parents. The new, young HS principle has energy and enthusiasm, and the School Board and district administration certainly do the best they can with the dollars and issues that confront them. Batavia is an involved community across the social spectrum, and this is also true in the schools. Fully two-thirds of the student population are the hard working type, so there is no ostracizing of the 'good student'. Our kids thoroughly enjoyed and did well in their education as well as the many opportunities for extra-curricular participation (sports, plays, music, student council...).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2004

Beautiful school in the safe part of town, I like the block system (4 classes 90 min each). Some exellent teachers, some so-so. District is trying something new in 2005. No grades for K-8 and no more valedictorian in High School. They are afraid competition is harmful to the overachiever. There seems to be a feeling that our schools lack good administration and that many students are not connected to their school. Many parents feel cut out of any quality control starting at Junior High level. The Music Department at all levels in the district is exceptional! The sports department is also adequate although some of the parents are too involved. In conclusion, BHS has great potential, just needs better leadership. -Victoria
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2004

IMO, there has been their share of 'gang' issues. The teachers often let the kids control the enviornment, and the suplemental staff does not do much to really address needs. Although some teachers really seem interested, it is hard for an average student to get the attention needed with such distractions.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female73%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asian55%
Hispanic43%
Multiracial93%
Native Americann/a
White78%
Low income35%
Non-low income78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)37%
Students without disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female78%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asian46%
Hispanic38%
Multiracial100%
Native Americann/a
White80%
Low income33%
Non-low income79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)35%
Students without disabilities79%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students72%
Female68%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asian36%
Hispanic38%
Multiracial86%
Native Americann/a
White76%
Low income38%
Non-low income75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
Students without disabilities76%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 51%
Hispanic 9% 23%
Black 3% 18%
Asian 2% 4%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1201 Main Street
Batavia, IL 60510
Phone: (630) 937-8600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Marmion Academy
Aurora, IL






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT