Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Louise White Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 530 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 16, 2014

I moved to Batavia for affordable housing and consistently outstanding schools. We love LW. My son has ADD and they have been wonderful helping put an idea team in place to help my son. Dr. Skomer is wonderful and is such a balanced and wise principal. He has great ideas and goes above and beyond to help. Ms. Consiglio, Audrey Slana, Ms. Maak, Joyce Elliott, Ms. Fertig---these ladies are all over the top wonderful educators and helpers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

Despite having pared essentials like music and art to the bone, our District and new principal have adapted to stagnant budgets in light of an increased student census. Each grade has at least 2 highly qualified and desirable teachers. Our school is safe and clean, the staff seem to know everyone by name, and respect & hard work are clearly the expectations from day one. The student to teacher ratio is waaaay higher than posted. It is between 22-30 to 1 teacher across most grades. This has increased every year since 2006 and shows no signs of abating. However, the PTO and Scouts, for example, provide myriad ways for everyone to stay connected such that students receive a rich and thoughtful daily experience despite the crowding. The parental involvement is reliable and visible, and is matched by the community's involvement in terms of event support and donations. The District as a whole has numerous communication channels so we can all keep up with events, alerts, and other calendar items. Food service at the elementary schools has always been the $2.20 weak spot, despite having 3 vendors in 5 years. Pack a lunch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

I am the grandfather of a first grade girl attending Louise White Elementary School in Batavia, IL. My daughter and son-in-law have made a number of favorable comments about the personal attention their third and first grader have had but the one concrete example I can offer happened last month. I asked my granddaughter (1st grade) "what she learned at school this year?". She said she learned to recite the names of all the Presidents since Washington. I was astonished that she did recite all 44 names in chronological order...amazing, she's 6 years old! When I asked how she learned to do that, she responded that ALL the children in her class can do that. They practice every day on this "memorization" project. My congratulations to both the teacher and the principal---a strong beginning to the school's curriculum. Her older brother (3rd Grade) also tested into a higher Math group...a good indication that students are treated as individuals and challenged based on their abilities...again, a positive sign on the educational standards


Posted March 8, 2013

We absolutely LOVE this school & so do our kids! We have a new principal this year and he is very visible with strong leadership and communication with the parents. Mr. Skomer is always involved in school and after-school/PTO activities... much different and more involved than the last principal. Teachers go above and beyond to care and teach the children at their level, whether they are excelling or need additional instruction (we have both types of students) - they bend over backwards! We've also moved around the country and find it amazing that this school is only rated a 7 (used to live in VA, MT, NV) as the education our children are receiving here in IL and at this school is far greater than that of other schools we've attended. The school participates in a Math Challenge program moving students a whole grade forward if needed, there are lots of reading incentives for the students, including an after-school reading program. The ladies in the front office are AMAZING - knew each child by name after our first visit. Our kids (and us) are making life-long friendships at this school! No school is perfect, but our kids are getting a superb education & go to school happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2011

Are there any current reviews about Louise White School? The great info about this school is 5 - 8 years old now.? Undecided Mom in Batavia?


Posted October 26, 2007

Mrs. Whyte, the principal, is exceptional! She is a strong leader who is also loving and kind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2006

My child has attended Louise White School for five years. Teacher and academic quality are fine. The principal seems to really care about the children and follows up on problems. ONLY DRAWBACK: a number of teachers, lunch personnel, misc. staff don't care about kids as people and often don't follow the 'character counts' program they teach. If you have a sensitive child, he/she will be well-taught, but may be unhappy with treatment. The teaching seems primarily geared toward passing state tests (which they exceed) and thus there is little creativity outside of a solid academic program. ONE STANDOUT: Mrs. Legner, the art teacher is exceptional: she's been named Illinois Art Educator of the Year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2006

I am a former elementary school teacher and have lived in 7 states. I have to say Louise White is superior to any school I have ever seen. Mrs. Sullivan, a kindergarten teacher, is by far the most patient, loving teacher around. I have four children and have been impressed by all of their teachers. I will be very sad to move to another state as I know my children's new school will be inferior compared to Louise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2006

I have two kids attending Louis White. We all love the school. The teachers are loving and really seem to care a lot about ever child in their class. My son has learning disabilities, last year in fourth grade he was reading in a second grade level. This year he is in the 5th grade and is reading in his reading level. That is big for us as we never though we would get to this point. My daughter just started in the full day kindergarten class and has really blossomed as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2005

My daughter has been at LWS for 2 years now. The Kindgarten and 1st grade teachers are wonderful. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2004

I have had 3 children go through Louise White. I now have a granddaughter who is in 5th grade there. The parents and teachers are very proactive in character building with these students. Louise White is filled with pride both for their academics and for their activities. Almost all of the teachers have their master degrees and work in a team approach with the children. I have nothing but high praise for this hard working community public school which puts our children first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2004

We have had our kids in many school districts across the country, but this school has proven to be the best yet. LWS has excellent leadership, teachers, academics, extracurricluar activites, and also a very nice atmosphere where teachers, parents and students thrive in community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
99%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female70%
Male82%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income60%
Not low income77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female83%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Low income80%
Not low income79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female78%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Low income57%
Not low income74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
Students without disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female84%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Low income50%
Not low income79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)50%
Students without disabilities79%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students86%
Female93%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Low income71%
Not low income88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)75%
Students without disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female93%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White92%
Low incomen/a
Not low income91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students92%
Female93%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White90%
Low incomen/a
Not low income91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value table growth scores from the state of Illinois.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 51%
Hispanic 11% 24%
Two or more races 6% 3%
Black 4% 18%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00am
School end time
  • 3:30pm
School Leader's name
  • Kevin Skomer

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 N Prairie St
Batavia, IL 60510
Phone: (630) 937-8500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Montessori Academy
Batavia, IL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT