Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

451 students|Batavia Usd 101
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hoover Wood Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted November 04, 2015
- a community member
If the Illinois State law dictates that teachers, at recess, are responsible for keeping the students under control (which would help with the bullying situation), they are not doing their job.

Hoover Wood Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted November 04, 2015
- a community member
No. After observing many of its students, I would say that if a student is exceptionally smart, they would not want the experience of being in Hoover Wood. Test scores are telling the story.


Hoover Wood Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 04, 2015
- a community member
Looking back at some of the comments from previous years, it's hard to believe that the school has lowered its standards so much. Disappointed with Hoover Wood school!

Hoover Wood Elementary School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted November 04, 2015
- a community member
How compassionate is it that BULLYING IS ALLOWED in this school????? The school district should be aware of this situation and take action!

Hoover Wood Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 04, 2015
- a community member
Anti-bullying procedures should be in place but overlooked completely. This school needs to bring someone one in to help control the bullying that "supposedly" NO ONE SEES!


Hoover Wood Elementary School 3

Posted November 04, 2015
- a community member
Bullying is at an all-time high with this school! Just be aware! The Principal calls it "being mean" - not "bullying". Of course she does not want to admit to it ON HER WATCH.

Hoover Wood Elementary School 4

Posted April 28, 2011
- a parent
It is nice that they allow parental involvement, but even that has politics involved and I had to insist that I be allowed in the classroom with the other parents. They also tried to give my special ed inclusion daughter a separate curriculum, and until I got the Special Ed district chair involved they did not include me as part of the IEP team even though I am a Special Education Teacher. The therapists are pretty good, but my child's teacher hasn't been very good at working with any of her students with special needs as she has little patience with them.

Hoover Wood Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 17, 2010
- a student
i went there 1-5 it was amazing! im now in high school i was there the opening year, can't wait to go back in ten years and open the vault!


Hoover Wood Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 09, 2009
- a parent
We moved to Batavia for the schools and are very pleased with Hoover Wood. The disapline at this school is outstanding and the extra curicular activities are above and beyond what other districts can offer. All of the kids are very respectful and very helpful with their peers.

Hoover Wood Elementary School 5

Posted April 09, 2009
- a parent
There is a great deal of parent involvement at Hoover-Wood. Not only is the teaching superior, but the children in the school are respectful and caring. The new Principal is a fine edition to the excellent staff. ...I have only the best to say about our school community.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hoover Wood Elementary School
1640 Wagner Road, Batavia, IL  60510
(630) 937-8300
Last modified Hoover Wood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hoover Wood Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top