Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ellis Elementary School

Public | PK-4

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 17, 2014

My son attends Ellis through the Early Childhood Education program (just this semester, they started integrating with the regular Pre-K for part of the day, which is all "at-risk" kids - mainly low income, which we technically are as well). He loves his teacher and has made several friends in his class. The teacher is always prompt in responding to my sometimes numerous emails, and is more than happy to do so, even if I emailed her every day (which, at the beginning, I was). The couple of times there's been an incident at school where my son has been hit or something, Lisa has emailed me about it to explain the situation, and she and her team have always handled those situations well. A bus comes to the front door of each ECE kid, no matter distance, and while we like Miss E better, the regular, Miss J, is good too. There's a sub driver sometimes who is TERRIBLE (she let my 3-year-old son run around on the bus while it was in motion, and I called the Transportation office to file a complaint), but luckily she only drives maybe twice a month. The school has excellent security, and Principal D is great. Even the ECE kids (3-5yo) have to abide by the uniform dress code.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2014

My son is in second grade and I am amazed how much I love this school. Everyone knows each other as if a small town school, it is absolutely wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

My son just started here and let me say, I Love this School! His teacher is absolutely AMAZING!!!! My kiddo had to move to a different time for p/u and the the guy at the bus garage knew who, what, when, where, and why. Im thoroughly impressed after I was thinking I would have to explain everything to him. Cant wait for my youngest to start here!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2013

My son will be starting at Ellis this year, and my daughter is going into second grade. She loves this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2012

I have 2 sons that attend Ellis (2nd and 4th grade) and we are more than happy. The teachers are phenomenal. We have been happy with every teacher my sons have had and the high emphasis on education and character is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2011

I attended this school and almost lost my love of learning. I saw a teacher snack a student with a book to the back of his head. It was so hard, his glasses fell off. I told my mother and she spoke to the principal. The teacher, to my knowledge, was not reprimanded. I was terrified. I moved to a different classroom so I would not have to see that teacher any longer. I do not care what the child did (he was difficult), no teacher should strike a child. Not one who continues to teach, in my opinion.


Posted August 16, 2005

My son and daughter go to this school and they really like it. I beleive this school has help them alot with learning and is working with my son more because he needs more help than my daughter. Mr. Romine is a really great teacher and appraises your kid when they need to he helped build my daughters self esteem up and i am really greatful for that. my daughter was reconized as a student of the month and this is the first school that really got the parents involved and i like that alot. they had us right words of encouragement when they had a big test and ask that we express how proud we are of our kids and i think some parents cant show there kids that in person but when they read it it really lights up there day thank you for the good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2005

My son is in kindergarten, and I love the location of the school! The teachers are great as well as the principal. Only two small complaints: my biggest problem is the whole bus situation, drivers, pick-ups and drop-offs, the location of bus stop-instead of in front of the house and the second complaint is no supervision at lunch time, I have been there several times and notice that out of five/six tables full of kindergarteners, that only a few of them eat their lunch or any part of it. They get to go to recess as soon as they are finished. I seen at least 10 kids from my son's class pick up their lunch tray, take it to the table, set down and open their drink, then take the whole tray and dump it in the trash and go to recess. No-one ever said anything to them about this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2004

My daughter is in the third grade at Ellis. We just love this school. The principal is fabulous and really involved. We plan to keep all of our children in this school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 60% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female62%
Male68%
Black48%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White73%
Low income59%
Non-low income75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
Students without disabilities74%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students73%
Female77%
Male70%
Black65%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income69%
Non-low income82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)46%
Students without disabilities79%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female62%
Male55%
Black44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Low income54%
Non-low income65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
Students without disabilities65%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students58%
Female62%
Male54%
Black50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Low income51%
Non-low income69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
Students without disabilities65%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students89%
Female88%
Male90%
Black84%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White94%
Low income85%
Non-low income96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)82%
Students without disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 4 and 7 in science. The ISAT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

In 2013 the Illinois State Board of Education raised the performance expectations for the ISAT in reading and math. These expectations have been adjusted to better align with the Common Core State Standards, a multi-state initiative that established year-by-year guidelines outlining the grade-specific skills and content students need to stay on the path to college and career readiness. The higher expectations of the new standards will result in a downward shift of where students rank in meeting or exceeding standards.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 value table growth scores from the state of Illinois.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 51%
Black 36% 18%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Hispanic 2% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Dave Deets

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

250 Illini Drive
Belleville, IL 62223
Phone: (618) 397-5512

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT