Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. James School

Private | PK-8 | 171 students

Academics

 
 

Living in Belvidere

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $105,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, August 19, 2014

All of my children have attended St. James Catholic because it is such a wonderful school. The class sizes are small so that the teachers can focus on individual learning, whenever I need to talk to a teacher, they know my child and who I am. I really feel my children are receiving a top notch education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2014

With everything going on in the world now, it is nice to know that I can feel my children are safe when I send them to St. James Catholic. The school is locked, the teachers and principal look after the kids and really try to make everyone feel like a family. The teachers spend the time to get to know the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2014

Everyone is easily accessible. The principal even stands in the crosswalks in the morning and greets the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

The teachers are the best. They accommodate each childs learning ability. They will keep me informed on how everything is going. The school has good structure and teaches the kids good values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

I really like the sense of community here. My daughter knows everybody and is very comfortable. She enjoys her classes and is doing very well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

the children are way above average academicly due to the discipline and care all the teachers provide and the atmosphere is perfect for learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

St James is just great, small class sizes and a fantstic faculty. The teachers are dedicated and hard working, and most of them have been teaching there for over 10 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

i went to st james pre-k to 8th now ihmm at the high school st james was awesome i nvr wanted to leave!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 4, 2008

St James offers superior academic and solid Catholic values. Small class room sizes guarantee personalized attention for all students, pk 3 thru 8th grade. Students consistently score higher than state and national levels on standardized tests. In addition to core subjects, St James offers Spanish, Music, Choir, Band, Sports and the Arts. The staff members have many years of service, are warm and caring. Other benefits include bus service, before & after care, and hot lunch programs. My daughter has attended St James since Kindergarten and is now in 8th grade. I am extremely pleased with the well rounded education she has received at St. James.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2008

St. James has been a wonderful school for my children. I have 2 children who graduated from S. James after attending all the way through (K-8). My children were extremely well prepared for high school, successfully enrolling in honors courses in high school. My 2 younger children attend St. James now and I wouldn't trade it for any other school. Extremely strong academics, devout religious education, caring teachers and staff, and an exceptional principal make St. James the best school in Belvidere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

I started at St. James school near the end of fourth grade ans stayed until the eigth grade. The teachers there are excellent. Parents always get involved in the many school activities like Market Day, class parties, field trips, and sports.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 14, 2005

My child attended ST. James from PreK - 8. He had an excellent education that has prepared him for high school. Having learned to be able to ask the teachers for help has enabled him to do so in high school. He is doing very well in school so he was definately prepared academically for high school. He also was able to play sports at St. James and in high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 51%
Hispanic 14% 24%
Two or more races 14% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6% 0%
Black 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Gregory A Wilhelm
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Special education
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Catholic High School
Area Public School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

320 Logan Ave
Belvidere, IL 61008
Website: Click here
Phone: (815) 547-7633

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Washington Academy
Belvidere, IL





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT