Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Family Catholic School

Private | PK-8 | 21 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bensenville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $120,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,030.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 1, 2014

HFCS is a great school. The entire staff (principal, teachers, secretaries) make you feel like family. The school is well run and managed by an enthusiastic and energetic principal, the teachers are dedicated to the school and their students, and the secretaries know everyone by name! Holy Family is absolutely the right school for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

Great school, best teachers are retiring...Principal not too involved, when you send her an email, never responds instead sends it to a teacher to answer for her :(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

I am beyond impressed with the curriculum at Holy FamilyCatholic School and could not be happier that I chose this school for my daughter. The teachers and families that complete Holy Family Catholic School all know my family by name and treat us the utmost respect. I am blessed to have my child attend such a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

Holy Family feels like our home. Teachers, Principal, Staff and Leadership Boards all make parents and students feel welcome and important. Families feel like it's OUR school. Its academic curriculum is very challenging and definitely prepares children for the college path. Jr. High which starts in 5th grade offers an athletics program and Spanish. The technology class and equipment are very competitive with Smart Boards and IPads available. Most importantly, the faith education and formation is a crucial element. The school doesn't just teach religion as a subject, it's a way of life. The children really learn to live, act and treat others in a Christian and unselfish way. When my children and other children whether in the family or friends get together, it's usually pretty noticeable the difference on how much more respectful and well behaved they are. When they talk about school among themselves, even the other children comment on how much more prepared and knowledgeable my children seem to be in different subjects, projects or even the high degree of difficulty they can and are expected to handle in assignments. Holy Family is a great school to be part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2010

We would not consider sending our children anywhere else! Since St. Charles and St. Joe's merged last year into Holy Family this school has gotten even better. The academic program is well-rounded with extra subjects such as art and technology and the athletics start in 5th grade. Most importantly, to us, the teachers and principal are fantastic! They genuinely care about each and every student. Our children will be very well-prepared for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

A great school. Good discipline. Volley ball and Basketball program right from 5th Grade. Very good teachers and staff. After school care upto 6PM. Good parent teacher communications. Overall a B+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

I am really happy with this school. My son graduated from Kindergarten at St. Charles this year. He had no desire to start reading before school began in late August, and by the end of September he was reading by himself! He is always reading anything he sees, he loves to read the back sports cover to our newspaper in the morning while he eats his cereal. He'll yell out 'CUBS LOST!', it is so funny. But he has also learned to spell and do math really well also, he is doing both at a 2nd grade level. I am so pleased with our decision to put him in this school and will choose to keep him in it until he graduates from 8th grade. Thanks so much SCB and Sister Barbara Rose!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2005

Overall I think the school is GREAT for academics, but low on sports, and the arts. uniforms required, and parent involvement varies from average to high. Top school for the 'reading, writing, and arithmatic' !
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 45% 51%
Hispanic 42% 24%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 4%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Black 1% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Corinne Alimento
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Joliet
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

145 East Grand Avenue
Bensenville, IL 60106
Phone: (630) 766-0116

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Concord Lutheran School
Bensenville, IL




Tioga Elementary School
Bensenville, IL



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT