Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

J Sterling Morton West High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

75 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2008

former student their the school is a huge joke they cant focus on the education instead they focus on dress code and enforcing their dumb rules


Posted May 1, 2008

I went to this school and I loved it but many idividuals complain and are concerened about all the fights,gangs,pregnacy's, and use of drugs in the school. Most people will rate average or below average but as a former student I rate it with a 4 of 5 stars.


Posted December 12, 2007

The school is basically ok i mean it;s not the best but they do what they can. Teachers are always willing to help there's extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2007

i think that uniforms should be ruled out for students to wear. Everyone should not be punished for others. As individuals we should be able to wear what we feel but in a suitable manner.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2007

i think morton has excellent honors and ap classes. the teachers are willing to help the kids before and after school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2007

I am becoming more and more concerned that the school has become so overcrowded that students cannot get into the classes they need or transfer to another class that better suits their academic purposes. This is something to really watch because if you need college prep classes and they can only place you in auto mechanics - well that's a real problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

Yes, Morton has the potential to be a great school. First drop the failing football team for now and put money into technology. Also, Morton needs to expand the lunchroom and offer better, more quality food and sometimes my daughter doesn't get a lunch because the line is so long and she only has 30 minutes for lunch. And, most parents know that the school is so, so overcrowded, yet there is plenty of expansion room on campus. I have written my state congresswoman to have her review Morton's funding and policies so that Morton can be a much better school overall. As far as academics, I have no complaints at this time. I have a 1oth grader and an 11th grader attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2007

Morton west is not as bad it seems. Well atleast the tennagers aren't that bad but the school does not meet the financial needs of the students. I for one think it's unfair to have a sport like football being funded when ,no offense towards any football parents or coaches on the Morton team, the team does not have a good record and hasn't had a good record for a while now. The little funding that the school does get should be put towards the art classes and technology classes because adolescence seem to be more involved with tech. and art or music programs these days. But then again I know that school is expensive and these kids tend to take advantage of the priviliges provided to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

i think that the principal this year is doing an exceptional jo. the teachers are wondeful and my student is learning alot. the only problem is that some rules i think apply only to certain people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

The quality of academic programs is marginal, but there is a relatively good availability of sports and other activities. The parent involvement is not what I would expect from a high school as large as this is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2007

In my opinion Morton West is a horrible high school compared to the one I go to now. The main thing that needs to be worked on is safety and discipline. Gangs and racism are also main issues. It's a bad school period, although the teachers are okay.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2006

I am a Morton High School graduate and can give everyone a bit of perspective. In my circle of friends, the following colleges were represented...Princeton, University of Chicago, Stanford, Millikin University, Northwestern...just to name a few...so for people to say you have no shot at Morton is ludicrous.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 26, 2006

Morton West High School doesn't challenge students due to the out of date text books and teaching material used. I feel my child is not being challenge enough, even though he is in honor classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2006

Parents get informed! I believe I didn't get the help I could have for my struggling Morton teens. I am a Parent that cares! This school failed Annual Yearly Progress 3 years in a row.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

I agree with previous comments made about having to be 'in the face of educators' My experience is that the administration isn't there to work with you and as much as I tried to work with them I got resistence at every attempt. I thought the whole concept of the education process was to teach, apparently I was mistaken because those who excel in school do so with little effort and those who need help just fall behind. I lived in Berwyn for 15 years and was happy there until my daughter went to Morton West High school. I had to move in order to give my daughter a chance to succeed. Lets face it, its hard enough to find a job these days and without at least a high school diploma chances are slim. No guarantees: but at least my kid has a shot now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

The administration in this school could improve itself greatly by putting the students' needs above the need to improve test scores.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 7, 2006

The school website reflects the help and resources you can expect from Morton West. Stubborn persistance is needed to get anywhere with the staff at Morton West. Homework and organization skills are up to teens and their parents - no real lessons from the school here. The Morton West system makes it difficult for parents to get information before it is too late to make a difference. Progress reports reflect information from 3 to 4 weeks prior to receipt. There is heavy reliance on teens to convey information and needs when they often do not have the maturity level to do so. Parent Teacher Conference is poorly organized. A web site with useful and updated academic and activity calendars, e-mail contacts, and individual teacher areas would benefit Morton West, its students and parents. Some of the teachers go the extra mile. Band program and support for it is outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2005

terrible school. no discipline. fighting all the time and teachers don't care.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 18, 2005

As a former student the school wasnt too bad but its what you make of it. If you hangout with the right groups then you will be fine. Also if you dont mess with people or start drama (drama happens alot here). Also people think that Morton is full of bad dumb students. We have many smart and great students there its just hard to find them becuase,the school pays more attention to the trouble students rather the good ones.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 21, 2005

Well let's just see how Senior year goes for my son. he is not the best student so I am not a parent who looks at life through glass eyes. With that said, can I just say if any staff from the High School is reading this, your school has to be by far one of the most UNORGANIZED registrations I have ever been to. Your staff is rude to the students! No wonder the kids are the way they are, it starts from the top. From a management level to hopefully someone who cares that reads this, you really need to get it together. And what is up with only 2 conselors on staff for regis day? Come on seriously, let's get it together. Practice what you preach staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
30%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students29%
Female28%
Male29%
Black8%
Asian50%
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White44%
Low income26%
Not low income39%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities32%
English language learners7%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students33%
Female33%
Male32%
Black12%
Asian40%
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White49%
Low income29%
Not low income46%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities36%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students26%
Female23%
Male29%
Black6%
Asian50%
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Low income22%
Not low income42%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities29%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

68.4%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 77% 24%
White 15% 51%
Black 6% 18%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Joe Gunty

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2400 Home Avenue
Berwyn, IL 60402
Phone: (708) 780-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT