Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

J Sterling Morton West High School

Public | 9-12 | 3365 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

75 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2005

I am a Morton graduate. I was a teacher at Morton also. I am the mother of three children who did extremely well in school - because they put effort into it! I could not believe the whinning of the people who entered their reviews in this site. (Their grammar was atrocious besides!)There's a simple rule of life; put much effort into something and you will reap great rewards. Morton does not go out and hire disinterested teachers. Get real! Could it be that education and character and good behavior and good study habits were not emphasized in the home of these disgruntled people? Just because a person walks into a school now and then doesn't make them a student. A proper upbringing is the responsibility of the family so that the person attending school is prepared to learn plus partake of the extracurricular activities provided.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 11, 2005

I'm a student from Morton. The teachers are okay, and I don't think that there's a huge problem with racism,though there still is a little bit. For instance in the spring when girls start to wear skirts, the parapros go for the latin and black girls wearing short skirts, and most of the time white girls dont get told anything.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2005

I am currently a Student at Morton West High School.....Overall most of the teachers are very nice and caring about each individual student well at least the teachers I have are but if they know or can tell that you are in a gang they most likely treat you a little bit differently than they do the others. I have never seen the principal of my school or i have never even talked to my dean . My counselor is a nice guy though.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2005

I read the reviews and I can't agree with them any more. Morton is a disappointment and I am afraid what will happen to my child when he needs to be prepared for college. The counselors, vice-principals, principals, deans, all the overall staff don't care. Your lucky if you get a return call back after 5 or so messages left for a person. The principal won't even call you back. There is not enough classes for all the students, they have them working in the deans office or in a study hall because they have no where to put them. it is so sad. I hope someone reads this and overhauls all of berwyns' schools especially dist 209 & 100. Please Help Our Kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2005

I just transferred out of Morton West. There are alot of Hispanics at the school, and alot of whites, but very few African Americans. I was one of the African Americans, and I constantly felt singled out. All day I heard people (mainly hispanics) saying the 'n' word like it was nothing, and I was even a victim of racism. A girl told me she hated Mexicans, and Black people, and constantly joked about the KKK, and my teacher would do nothing. There's also alot of racist staff members. The staff at that school couldn't care less about the students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 30, 2005

I believe this school needs a lot of improvement. I went there from 2000-04. I believe i saw the new principal three times (including graduation) and he wasn't very outgoing. The 'safety measures' are ridiculous and the parapros only catch you if they don't like you. Otherwise it's just another public high school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 17, 2004

I am a student at Morton and the school is alright. There is a lot of gangs, and a lot of fights. One student was put into the hospital, another fight was by my locker, and there was blood everywhere. They have good education. YetI still feel unsafe at school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2004

This school's only worry is about making money and pretending they care about your kids. I will soon remove my child from such school. I think that even Chicago schools are better that this one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2004

High School is very scary as a Freshmen, its new, big and a little overwhelming. Teachers arnt as kind and you loose that personal touch, I think its pretty said to overwhelm children the first few weeks with Homework, and then after spending several hour doing it, get uncalled for statements like (very weak effort) and stupid unhappy faces, I think its poor effort on the Teachers part, these are still kids! You should not belittle their efforts, let them know what is expected of them, give them time to adjust to their new surroundings. Really disapointed with the first week of Morton West.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2004

I myself am a current student at Morton West High school and I think the school is great. But even the greatest have its own defaults. The extra curriculum activities are awesome. It is so good that there are alot of activities that students can attend to rather than being involved with gangs or any other foolish activities. The coaches are cool except for some of our that are too concerned about winning that they do not let some of the other players play in the game and eventually we lose our games. The teachers are awesome and do what they have to do. The principle is not that very talkitive to the students. I only seen him twice and that was in our pep rally and before our winter vacation. I think he should reach out more to the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 9, 2004

As a young alumni of Morton West, I can say that the school has always manintained great facilities, resources, and funding for many various extracurricular and academic activities. Therefore, it is up to the student and parents' encouragements to make use of those resources (i.e computer labs, library, academic clubs like Scholastic Bowl, Model United Nations, and sport teams). It also important that students understand that Morton West is unfortunately filled with an environment of the majority of students who perform academically average or poorly and who may be disillusioned with their future. This, however, will not affect those who want to succeed, because students who follow the most academically advanced curriculum (i.e Advanced Placement Calculus, Biology, Chemistry, History and English) are better prepared academically by teachers, and increase their chances into great universities across the nation (i.e. Harvard, MIT, Stanford, etc), as it has been achieved from Morton West repeatedly.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 11, 2004

I myself went to morton east and west. I think there is still room for growth but otherwise a good school. Education is what you make of it. If your kids apply themselves then they will get the most out of there education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 24, 2004

I have two students at this school and have had several problems with their safety. It seems that the school is only interested in serving the criminals than they are the ones that are there to learn. There is no cooperation from the Dean staff and the security from Berwyn Police is a joke. Here it is 2004 and there is still racism in this small suburb. I moved away from the City to give my kids a better chance at good education and safety and instead I feel I put them in more danger. The school also needs to offer more programs for teen moms, instead of sending them to Morton East. Morton West is a separate entity from East and needs to be treated as such.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2003

Morton West needs lots of improvements, not only the teachers but office personnel as well, they are very rude and not very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

This year's principal was a complete Joke. He didn't even make himself known to the school until a month into school. The old Principal Dr. Stan Fields was a great Principal and got things done and most everyone liked him. The Counselor system is also a joke. The counselors are supposed to be there to help the student and most of them just want you to do what they tell you to. The teachers on the other hand are mostly good people, hard working and excellent teachers (with a few exceptions).
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
32%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
30%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

Math

All Students29%
Female28%
Male29%
Black8%
Asian50%
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White44%
Low income26%
Non-low income39%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities32%
English language learners7%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students33%
Female33%
Male32%
Black12%
Asian40%
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White49%
Low income29%
Non-low income46%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities36%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students26%
Female23%
Male29%
Black6%
Asian50%
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Low income22%
Non-low income42%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities29%
English language learners0%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Illinois used the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE) to test students in grade 11 in reading, math and science. The PSAE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Illinois. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Illinois State Board of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Illinois State Board of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

26%
of schools in the state are Below average
46%
of schools in the state are Average
28%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Average ACT score

18

Graduation rate

68.4%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 ISAT results from the state of Illinois.

2 This rating is based on composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 77% 24%
White 15% 51%
Black 6% 18%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Joe Gunty

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2400 Home Avenue
Berwyn, IL 60402
Phone: (708) 780-4100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT