Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Odilo School

Private | PK-8 | 19 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Berwyn

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $119,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 26, 2014

My three kids attended over a span of 17 yrs. I have one currently enrolled. During this time the school has changed in a positive direction as for curriculum and spiritual teaching. Wish there was more parent involvement for clubs and committees. Students are friendly & respectful. Teachers care about the kids and KNOW most of the children in the school. School has a strong family enviroment. Student know students from different grades and interact positively with each other. Really like that the children go to mass daily and participate in catholic traditions: benediction, may crowning, rosary, etc..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2012

Amazing school. Have one kid currently in middle school and one has graduated from here. When my old school shut down a few years ago I first thought of sending my kids to Saint Leonard's School. Big Mistake! Went to open house and they were stuck up and way to strict. Your kids are locked onto there floor. It felt like a prison! Came to Odilo's open house and was very pleased. Staff was caring and down to earth and no locked floors! It just feels like a family! Very nice 7th and 8th Grade teachers! My daughter even said that she wants to send her kids here when she has them! SEND YOUR KIDS HERE!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2011

Wonderful School - Great learning environment from teachers and administration who care. My children are very happy to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

I have two children at this school and they love it. Great support from staff and small class size. I know that my children are receiving an excellent education at St. Odilo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2007

I think the school has changed over the past few years.Maybe instead of taking my sons out of St.Odilo, we can work to get the school to the way it used to be.Most of the staff is good.The athletic dept. is terrible.I beleive the school has a family type community that is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2006

it's a nice small classes. good environment for parents and children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2006

My daughter loves to go to school. This is the best quality of education, lots of activities for her and us too. Great support for the famliy too. Thank you so much St. Odilo !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2004

I'm worried about my children's Education. The School is in need of a Principal who can keep the teachers on their toes. Some teachers scream at the top of their lungs, and disrespect the children. They have been teaching the same way for so long, the children are not learning. They give an assignment and it doen't matter if the kids get it or not. It's just do it or else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2004

While this school has some great teachers and could be great, it is ruled by the church instead of the principle. My child made some life long memories and friends that I wouldn't trade for the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 74% 24%
White 19% 51%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Black 2% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • William Donegan
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (708) 484-3088

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Chicago
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6617 23rd Street
Berwyn, IL 60402
Website: Click here
Phone: (708) 484-0755

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Piper School
Berwyn, IL







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT