Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Central Catholic High School

Private | 9-12 | 89 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bloomington

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $154,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 1, 2012

Central Catholic is on execellent school! It is a small community of students with a group of outstanding and caring teachers. My daughter is currently enrolled there with the plan of having my son attend as well. As we compared it to other schools out there during that decision process a few years back, what led her to this school was first its foundation in Christ and secondly it's academic excellence. The principal is a wonderful person who knows each of the kids by name, the teachers are outstanding and work for the development of the entire young adult. Challenges as they occur in every school, are handled with Christian charity and love. While I debated initially of here vs. another high school in town, I have no doubt we choose the right one just based on the respect and care that is shown by each of the students attending. CCHS is a spectactular find!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2011

My kids are receiving an excellent education. The principal is phenomenal. She really cares about the students and the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2010

We came from the public school system and we are loving Central Catholic. My student was welcomed with open arms even though we are not Catholic. We love the family atmosphere! The curriculum does seen a bit more difficult, but with a little more work my student is doing well. The facilities are well laid out and with the extra curricular activities, there is something for everyone. We highly recommend CCHS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2009

It can be very hard to fit in here. I felt my individuality was frowned upon, I couldn't be my true self.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 24, 2008

Great school. The teachers show excitement and care unlike any I have ever seen. The facilities are great. extracurricular are great and students get higher test scores than the rest of the area and state. By far the best choice of my life sending my kids there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

Lots of tradition and the best high school education in McLean County. Most teachers have master degrees and show alot of dedication to their students. Great athletic programs as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

this is not a review. I was looking for any family member. I was adopted at birth. Birth name was Sandra Ann Oneill born on Feb 13,1959. Anyone have any information please email me @summerset59@hotmail.com Thank You
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2004

As a parent of a graduate, I do not think that the education is on par with other schools that my child has attended. The classes are small, but so is the acceptance level towards 'outsiders' by many of the students/teachers who have either gone to the catholic school system for many years or have affiliations with the catholic school system for an equally long time. I felt that the atmosphere for both students and parents was, at times, very frustrating with regards to being treated on an equal basis. Several of the teachers have been there far too long (one having been there over 40 years!)and it showed in the lack of enthusiasm and freshness towards teaching. Hopefully, I will be proven wrong and my child will be prepared more than I think for the college level of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

As the mother of three graduates, I am very pleased at the education they received for a small Catholic school. But even more, the basic sense of values and the stressing of God in their lives was very evident. To me, being good people is more important in this world than anything else. It gives you a foundation with which to live your life - and it can't be learned from a book.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 51%
Hispanic 3% 24%
Black 2% 18%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Joy Allen
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Peoria
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1201 Airport Road
Bloomington, IL 61704
Phone: (309) 661-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bloomington High School
Bloomington, IL





Safe School Program
Bloomington, IL


Regional Alop School
Bloomington, IL


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT