Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Bloomington, IL
Students enrolled: 1,415
 

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

11 reviews of this school


Bloomington High School 4

Posted June 09, 2013
- a student
After finishing my first year at BHS, I have to say that it was an okay experience. The clubs at BHS were probably the best part about the school and teachers were really dedicated leading them, as they are in classes too. Marching band is also a great place that seriously teaches discipline and takes place mostly in the summer for instrument players, and color guard. Many students do not do all that well at this school but that is pretty much because of their apathy, and if you at least try to do your work, you will probably get a good grade. I feel that the honors classes have students wanting to do well in school, but in the other classes students are just incredibly indifferent. The jocks do receive somewhat special treatment, not a lot, but are bound to get good recommendations from teachers. The teachers are nice, and understanding. But if people have trouble with a teacher, or with anything in general, and a student tries to form a complaint to their counselors, most likely it will go unheard by them. Overall, it's a nice school, disregarding the apathy from students.

Bloomington High School 1

Posted August 31, 2012
- a community member
School Faculty encourages preferential treatment to jocks and kids on the "east side" of town. Several complaints are made to staff and they go unheard from administrations.


Bloomington High School 5

Posted May 16, 2011
- a parent
After 9 years as BHS parents, we will watch our last graduation in a couple of weeks. This is a wonderfully well-rounded environment for any high school student. BHS offers the most honors/advanced placement classes around, in addition to the fabulous Area Vocational Center. By far the best Real World experience in the area!!!!!

Bloomington High School
no rating

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
The teachers care!!! They take their time to get to know and understand their students! If they find a kid who needs that extra something they work hard to provide it for that student. Our town has only one "public" High school.They strive to make their school not only one you need to attend, but one you wish to attend! It's a small town school with big hopes and dreams of the students who come out of it.

Bloomington High School 5

Posted May 24, 2008
- a parent
My son is a senior at BHS and is graduating with 8 Advanced Placement courses that he'll receive college credit for. His teachers are always accessible before and after school. The math and science teachers have challenged him and I thank them for that. The extra curricular clubs and activities such as the WYSE team, Envirothon Team, Math Team, and Scholastic Bowl team are very successful in regional and state competitions. Students from my son's class are attending MIT, Brown University, University of Illinois, Harvard, Arizona State, Princeton, and many other top notch schools. You don't get in these schools without a good academic preparation. BHS gives that to students. Students regularly come back to let their teachers know how well-prepared they were for college because of the classes that they took at BHS! How can anyone rate this school less than 5 stars?


Bloomington High School 5

Posted March 02, 2008
- a parent
BHS is the best kept secret in Bloomington Normal. The school offers more AP classes than any other high school in central Illinois. The teachers and staff care deeply about all students. We have an amazing marching band program that really challenges and gets the students and parents excited. The diversity of the school is one of the strengths. I highly recommend BHS.

Bloomington High School 5

Posted January 09, 2008
- a parent
School's out at 2:15. Drive by the parking lot at 4pm and even later and count the cars in the teachers's parking lot. I am very impressed by the dedication of BHS teachers and the time that they spend with their students. The music, theatre, and art programs, the academics, and the sports programs are first class. The class selection for students is extensive and offers many opportunities to students with disabilities all the way to students who want/need Advanced Placement challenges. BHS is a safe and engaging environment for anyone wanting a first class education!

Bloomington High School 2

Posted September 10, 2007
- a parent
Bloomington HS is not a 7 by all means. I am not happy with some of the teachers and their way of dealing with students.


Bloomington High School 2

Posted April 06, 2007
- a parent
I was surprised to see that BHS ranked a 7 from Great Schools. I have 2 children in BHS & 2 in BJHS our experience has been a disappointment. My Junior has good grades and excells in academic courses many AP without teacher input. My kids have been left with the feeling most of the teachers are waiting for 3 pm and payday. The head of the Geometry department is a rare exception. We are leaving the district.Low social & academic standards.

Bloomington High School 5

Posted February 26, 2007
- a parent
This is THE best high school in the Bloomington-Normal area. Bloomington has expirenced teachers and terrific sports programs. The diversity here is a strength and I'm proud to know my child attends a school with a mixed student population. The student body are proud to be Purple Raiders and you would be too.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bloomington High School
1202 East Locust Street, Bloomington, IL  61701
(309) 828-5201
Last modified Bloomington High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bloomington High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top